Customer Reviews for

A Bit of Bite

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic short story. It has all the elements I like

This is a fantastic short story. It has all the elements I like: mystery, action, romance and a hot werewolf.
Ava’s job as sheriff is to keep the peace between the shifters, vampires, and humans. Yep, it’s as easy as it sounds, especially with someone out there killin...
This is a fantastic short story. It has all the elements I like: mystery, action, romance and a hot werewolf.
Ava’s job as sheriff is to keep the peace between the shifters, vampires, and humans. Yep, it’s as easy as it sounds, especially with someone out there killing humans and vampires. The suspect turns out to be Ava’s hot one night stand Julian, Alpha of the wolf pack. The connection between the two is strong and Julian wants Ava back. Together they need to find out who’s been doing the killings and keep Ava alive after she’s been betrayed by those she should’ve been able to trust.
For a short story this was remarkably detailed and did leave me wishing it had been longer and more developed. It could’ve easily been novel length.

posted by Tala1 on March 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Uhh

Crap it jumped sround to much and ended up being a pretty crappy read to me tho i liked the basic idea behind the story just was very badly written.

posted by 9075854 on April 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    I admit I like free stuff. I also admit I'm not entirely rationa

    I admit I like free stuff. I also admit I'm not entirely rational in my thought process. For example, I happily hand over my Bouchercon and Left Coast Crime Conference fees and feel like I've won the lottery when I receive a bag filled with books. Seriously, this ends up being one of the major highlights of these conferences. So in my continued pursuit of this high, minus the conference fees, I have decided to scour Amazon for the best free short stories and books available. With that being said, let's get to the review.

    First, I should probably warn you that I'm not exactly the target audience for paranormal romance. If I saw a big breasted, blonde vampire, or werewolf, in tight leather pants, my first thought would not be how hot she looked. Well, it might be...but then I'd run like a roadrunner and hope to hell she didn't spot me, because I don't exactly have the strength to fend off the undead or not-so-dead, even if she ends up being about a foot shorter than me. And, besides, I'd rather not pop a woman, even if she has claws or fangs, right in the kisser.

    I did, however, find myself entertained with this werewolf-filled short story. And the eye-popping sex scene nearly caused my back teeth to float. With bars and cars exploding and psychopathic killers hovering just above the streets, there's action to be had around every corner. It's like the reading equivalent of big breasted, blonde eye candy, and I soaked in every page.

    Ava provided just enough spunk for me, even though she did swoon a bit too easily whenever Julian was around, but I guess werewolves have that effect on women. Which kind of begs the question if my wife would approve of me becoming a bit bigger and hairier. And if she does, then I'll probably be forced to reevaluate my overall opinion of the paranormal romance sub-genre. In the meantime, you can't beat free, especially if you're a paranormal fan. A BIT OF BITE should satisfy your craving.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    ok

    was not my fave but it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    It was okay

    I started reading this on a 25 minute train ride. I didn't think I would finish it, but I did. I was really surprised it was only 40 pages, but I realize I should've read the description of the book better. ("A BIT OF BITE is a short paranormal romance--the story contains approximately 11,000 words.")
    Eden uses an original idea of how the supernatural are present in the human world and really brings it to life in this short story.
    My only regret is that it's not longer. I really felt the tension between the main two characters for the first half of the story, but then it got rushed towards the end. Then there were other characters I think she could've worked with and expanded the story more with.
    Oh well. It was a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Ummm

    Ehhh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Just ok

    Could have been good but it was far too rushed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    It's ok

    Sure, I read it in one day. Nice little short story. I like anything dealing with werewolves. Had sort of a Anita Blake feel to it, but way too predictable for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Not bad

    It was a good story, but it just ended too suddenly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good

    Short and good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Ok

    It was a decent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Good short story.

    Not great but good. I like a little more story than what was offered but it was a good short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    Not bad for a short stort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Not a bad short read... but the book is only 100 pages and the s

    Not a bad short read... but the book is only 100 pages and the story flies by fast! I wish it was at least twice as long and had some more detail!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Nice just too short.jas

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    Pretty good for a short story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3