Customer Reviews for

A Blood Seduction (Vamp City Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Books

Alright, i am ten years old i love reading i am 5 galexys far far far
Byond readers my age so i resort to readin adult and teen books.but the junk people put in these books is amazing i cant go 2 capters into a book without reading something about sex,drugs,cursing, or...
Alright, i am ten years old i love reading i am 5 galexys far far far
Byond readers my age so i resort to readin adult and teen books.but the junk people put in these books is amazing i cant go 2 capters into a book without reading something about sex,drugs,cursing, or abuse or something like that. I read for the pleasure of it and quite frankly i cant go a day with out reading even an paragraph and this isnt helping bn please put more child friendly books that kids and adults can read because aparently it is either 2 year old books or crazy inapropriet adult books PLEASE I DONT HAVE ALOT OF MONEY AND CANT GO ON THE CREDIT CARD!!!!!!!! IWANT TO LOOK FORWARD TO FREE FRIDAYS KIDS HAVE NOOKS TO NOT JUST ADULTS. ~the W

posted by 16696371 on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Ugg!!

Loved her previous series, tried and tried to read this book but I HATED!! it. So much ugliness and vileness I couldn't stand it. I finally gave up after 126 pages. If you like the dark, cruel and depraved side of fantasy maybe this book would be for you, but it left...
Loved her previous series, tried and tried to read this book but I HATED!! it. So much ugliness and vileness I couldn't stand it. I finally gave up after 126 pages. If you like the dark, cruel and depraved side of fantasy maybe this book would be for you, but it left me feeling like I'd rolled in a pile of rank fish guts that had been left out in the sun for a week!! You just can't even shower that kind of ick off! I read for enjoyment and there was nothing enjoyable about this book for me.

posted by smidgen1 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 240 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Haha!

    How STUPID can ya get?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    garbage

    Garbage for the mind - blech!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    So Bad

    This was recommended to me at a party when the person learned I am an English teacher. This junk was almost as badly written and plotted as some of these reviews for it . Did people forget how to spell or write literate sentences? Yes, I do read for pleasure or pure entertainment, but this is a waste of time.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A dark and twisted vampire Alice in Wonderland!

    Quinn Lennox has always known she a little different but nothing could prepare her for the world she encounters when a friend goes missing. One wrong move thrusts Quinn and her brother Zack into an alternate world run by vampires and magic known as Vamp City. Trapped in a dangerous world where humans are used as slaves and food, Quinn is held captive as by the charming Arturo, a vampire who insists he's her master and she his slave. To find her brother and get back to her world, Quinn will risk everything and soon finds herself trusting the man she should fear. The dark and cruel paranormal world depicted in A Blood Seduction is in my opinion the star of the book. These are not the handsome and sensual vampire heroes we love in paranormal romance, these vampires are blood thirsty, vicious and heartless...feeding off of blood, fear and even pain. This world is protected by a magical veil that has been pierced and can only be repaired by a powerful sorcerer or in this case, sorceress. When word that Quinn possesses this magic gets around Vamp City, she becomes a valuable asset and her goal of escaping becomes almost impossible. Quinn is not your usual kick butt heroine but you have to admire her devotion to her younger brother Zack. While I can understand her loyalty it was hard for me to connect with her, as much as I wanted to. That being said, I think her heart is in the right place and she has potential to be a great heroine as the series develops. The relationship between Quinn and Arturo would definitely be labeled "it's complicated" on Facebook...LOL There's plenty of sexual tension between them but you're never sure where Arturo's loyalties lie which makes trusting him difficult. Artuto is far from a hero and while I'm still not sure if he truly is a bad guy, his charm is undeniable. I look forward to what the author has in store for them in the future. The story ends abruptly, with plenty of unanswered questions that I'm hoping will be addressed in the next installment. While this book may be a little violent and lacking in the romance department, the world building is strong enough to keep you interested. If you like to venture into the dark side of vampires or looking for a change in urban fantasy, A Blood Seduction is sure to deliver.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Where to start....

    I was iffy on the plot... A seemingly alternate realty paralleling Washington, D.C called Washington V.C. (VC For Vampire City) where the vampires feed on both emotions and blood and the town in stuck in the 1870's. I thought that it was a very unique idea but I feel that it was poorly executed. The lead male protagonist and love interest of our heroine was just creepy and not trustworthy. And it made it harder to really like the heroine that she so stupidly fell for his lies time after time. The transitions from character points of view was confusing at times as well.

    I felt that there were a lot of things lacking in this book while at the same time feeling like there was a lot of action happening in the plot. Perhaps is was lacking in detail and just had so much crammed in while at the same time leaving you wanting something more.

    I haven't decided if I would be interested in reading a second book even though this ended with a big potential cliff hanger. I have the feeling a second book would be a regurgitated version of this one. It is a much different take on a vampire novel. I applaud the author's creativity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Omg!

    That was a double wow! Absolutely loved and can't wait for the next one. What a cliff hanger! I definately look forward to checking out her other reads!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    I love pamela palmer books!!

    I love the Pamela Palmers books!! Just finished all the warrior books!! I sooo loved every one of them!!! THANK YOU BN FOR OFFERING TTHIS BOOK FOR FREE!!!!!!! I so wanted to try this series by mrs. Palmer and now i can!!! AND TO THE YOUNG KID WHO POSTED ON THIS BOOK REVIEW! THEASE BOOKS ARE INTENDED FOR ADULTS ONLY!!!!!!! SO IF YOU DON'T LIKE THAT IT IS FREE FOR ADULTS, DON'T READ IT!!!! YOUR PARENTS SHOULD WATCH WHAT YOU READ BETTER!!!! TALK ABOUT BAD PARENTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Good read

    This is the first book I've read by Pamela Palmer and it was good. The story line was great and I look forward to reading the next one in this series.

    This book received what I thought were some unjust reviews... it was too dark, too gory, not enough romance, to many loose ends blah blah blah. All of that is bolgna, all vampire books aren't going to be 'twilightish' so get over it. This was a interesting spin from the normal vampire falls in love with a human drama.

    Quinn loves her brother and will do what ever to save him. Arturo is a villian/hero you love to hate.
    So many twists and turns in the story you don't want to put it down. There are different types of vampires, different driving forces for the characters and I loved that the setting was in the Nations Capital with places you can actually go to visualize the story.


    If you want different READ THIS!!!
    I GIVE IT 5 STARS
    Good job Palmer. I'm glad I dont have to wait long for the next one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Fair

    Not bad...not good...but not bad either. Wont go out and buy the next book in the series. It just wasnt that gripping. Parts of it was too laughable to be believed. Too over the top in the graphic violence as if the author were trying to shoxk the reader, but it came across so over the top it was just laughable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Totally worth downloading

    At first this book was kinda boring but eventually its the type of book you can't put down. If you like vampire books, this is the one to read! just an fyi, it can get very descriptive in a mature way... I wouldn't want my 10 to 11 year old daughter reading this.
    hopefully i am able to help the next person! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A BLOOD SEDUCTION by Pamela Palmer is an intriguing urban fantas

    A BLOOD SEDUCTION by Pamela Palmer is an intriguing urban fantasy. This is this author's first adventure into the urban fantasy world,and it is a dark vampire world. She introduces the reader to Vamp City,a world parallel to modern day Washington,D.C. Filled with lust,power,passion,a mortal world,vampires,seduction, magic,intrigue,and betrayal. Follow, Quinn Lennox,a socerer,Arturo Mazza,a dangerous vampire, and Zack,Quinn's brother on a journey of seduction,passion,with twists and turns. One is on a mission to save a city the other is on a mission to save herself and her brother. Fast paced with an independent heroine and a sexy hero.If you enjoy urban fantasy,vampires,danger,and a bit of romance you will enjoy this title. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Avon Books,an imprint of Harper Collins Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Quinn Lennox has always known that in some ways, she was very di

    Quinn Lennox has always known that in some ways, she was very different from others. As a child, she couldn’t control it and her step-mother hated her for it and convinced her father to feel the same. Only her step-brother, Zack, loved her unconditionally and they built a life together. Quinn had never been happier. Until the day, she started having visions; visions of two universes at the same time, the past and the present. But Quinn tells no one and the day comes when, searching for a missing friend, Quinn and Zack walk over a sunlit spot and find themselves in an alternate universe – dark, cold, destroyed and terrifying. Suddenly they are attacked and tormented by vampires but cannot fight them off. They are bold and strong and bite them mercilessly. Zack is dragged off but Quinn is rescued by a tall stranger dressed in black who brings her back to his home. She soon finds out he, too, is a vampire – a kinder, more compassionate vampire – but still a vampire who wants her to be his slave and his mistress. All Quinn wants to do is find Zack and find their way out but her master, Arturo, has other plans and Quinn realizes that he is way too attractive to fight off every night! But, he has many tricks up his sleeve and deceives Quinn too many times. Soon her lust and fear turns to hate.

    A Blood Seduction, by Pamela Palmer, is a very fast-paced story of vampires, lust and betrayal. Vamp City was built by magic as an alternate home for vampires who use humans for their food source and for their fun. Many descriptions of the cruel and vicious torture of the human slaves left me shaken up but I managed to get through them as the storyline sucked me in deeper and deeper. I prayed that Quinn would find her brother and escape; at the same time, hoped that Quinn would calm down and give Arturo a chance. How weird is that? I wanted Quinn to be with the hero and at the same time, wanted her to run as fast as she could and escape. From the first page to the last, the action never ended and I can't wait for the second Vamp City novel.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    This is another one of those books that unexpectedly captivates

    This is another one of those books that unexpectedly captivates you. You’ll devour it in a day, maybe two if you have a life or death situation to resolve. Because this is the first book of a series, you know that the connection between Quinn and Arturo is far from over, and the ending makes that perfectly clear. It’s a fun read that will satisfy any paranormal and/or romance fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Unknown

    I preordered it and its good just not as good as i thought it would be:/ not a good start for the series for me! I'll stick to her feral warriors series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Vamp City

    The first in the Vamp City series by Pamela Palmer. Vamp City is set over Washington DC in a mirror world parallel to modern times. This story revolves around Quinn and her quest to save her brother, Zack, who's been captured. In this world, you'll find vampires, werewolves and other creatures who add to the difficulty of saving Zack. Quinn is tested and tempted with lust, fear and seduction. Can she save her brother and get out of Vamp City?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Not good

    No matter how hard I tried I could not get into this book, I just didn't feel it was going anywhere. Good concept with VC, but poor delivery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good read

    A bit confusing at first but i really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Had potential

    However the writing and story progression were abysmal, character development was unbelievable and flat, story never really coalesces- i wouldnt waste time or money on this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Good story

    Good characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    After reading other reviews, I really wasn't expecting to like t

    After reading other reviews, I really wasn't expecting to like this book. It surprised me though. Yes, there was some violence and that should be expected in a vampire story.  But it was always quick and didn't dwell on it.  This is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 240 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12