Customer Reviews for

A Breath of Scandal (Reckless Brides Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I liked the first book very much and waited too long for this on

    I liked the first book very much and waited too long for this one. I was disappointed, It was borin and really slow. I liked Preston character but not Will. I don't know if because he was too young but he was never really committed to her.It was like he just wanted to play a little with her. He couldn't commit seriosly with her but wanted her commited to him. Not even the end of the book was good, with just one page of epilogue. I didn't like the preview for the next book either, though I liked Thomas character very much, this book and the preview of his story didn't make me want to buy the next one in the serie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Book Two in the Reckless Brides series. Will Jellicoe, previ

    Book Two in the Reckless Brides series.




    Will Jellicoe, previously a midshipman from the Audacious, earned his Command in the Navy just before the war with France ended.  Now he is back on land waiting for a ship to come along.  Meanwhile, Antigone Preston's father has passed away and her mother has engaged her to a vile older man, so that her sister Cassie can be well wed.  When the two meet at a ball, mischief and mayhem commence.




    If you're looking for a story of love, betrayal, scandal and fun, this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this book. Antigone, Preston to me, was a cool chick. Sh

    I liked this book. Antigone, Preston to me, was a cool chick. She loved to live her life like how she rode her horse, Velocity. Wild, free, fast but in control. On the day of her father's funeral, she selfish mom sales Preston to the evil and old Lord Aldridge in marriage. Her mom tells her that a fake engagement will put her more beautiful daughter, Cassandra, in the upper ton and help her catch a perfect husband. Preston loves her shy sister very much and agrees but she learns that Aldridge is marring her for Velocity. Will Jellicoe, he is a Commander in the Royal Navy awaiting a ship to Captain. He is a funny, caring and adventures man but a 2nd son of an Earl. Preston and Will met at Lady Barrington's ball when Preston being Preston punches out a man for grabbing her butt and Will claps. They start to hang out and have adventures of their own. Her dressed as a boy. Will doesn't ride horses (I am in the Navy and I ride waves) so enter the character of his younger brother Thomas who is horse crazy and he bonds with Preston. Will older brother falls in love with her sister Cassandra and offers for her. Will learns of Aldridge's boy preference and tells Preston. She tells her mom and Aldrich that she will not marry him. They tells her she has been SOLD to Aldridge. What is a girl to do? Will she ever tell Will she loves him? Will he sail away? Will Preston get away from her selfish mom and evil Aldridge? Will Preston and Will enter into forever adventures in marriage? You have to read to find out. I enjoyed this book but it was not as auctioned packed as ALMOST A SCANDAL and it was a slower story to me. I give it 3 fingers up and 6 toes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Disappointing

    I loved the first book in this series and couldnt wait to read this one. I found it very disappointing. The characters were bland, the storyline frustrating, not much chemistry. Just a shallow substitute for the first book. Very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A BREATH OF SCANDAL by Elizabeth Essex is an interesting Regency

    A BREATH OF SCANDAL by Elizabeth Essex is an interesting Regency historical romance. #2 in "A Reckless Brides novel" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Almost a Scandal". Set in 1814 Sussex,England. Follow, Antigone Preston and Captain William Jellicoe on a journey of forbidden passion,love and secrets. Antigone, is forced in an engagement by her mother, to a much older gentleman,she intends to get out of one way or another. Captain Jellicoe has no desire to marry but must enter society anyway.With moments of laughter,danger, a bit of scandal, and a lot of sexual tension you will not go wrong with "A Breath of Scandal". A delicious romp through Sussex, sizzling with desire,and an adventure or two will leave you breathless and captivated by these delightful,and engaging characters. Fast paced and tension filled from beginning to end. A wonderful read! I can hardly wait for the next installment into "A Reckless Brides" novel series. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY:AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Entertaining story; liked the hero & the heroine.

    Entertaining story; liked the hero & the heroine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wasn't nearly as good as I had hoped.

    I skipped through so much of this book. Considering the cost it just wasn't worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1