Customer Reviews for

A Brew to a Kill (Coffeehouse Mystery Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    A Brew to Kill is the eleventh book in the Coffeehouse mystery s

    A Brew to Kill is the eleventh book in the Coffeehouse mystery series. Clare Cosi might think her life will settle down after all the mysteries she has solved, but she once again finds herself involved in some questionable circumstances. After a hit-and-run accident-turned-fatal, and when Clare discovers what might be smuggled crack, the coffeehouse heats up a lot faster than a shot of espresso.

    Cleo Coyle once again stays true to readers and doesn’t disappoint or falter in this eleventh installment. Coyle has a knack for developing quick-witted characters which become familiar and loveable. She has the ability to blend mystery and social interactions that will leave readers wanting more. The descriptions of the different coffee blends throughout the novel don’t hurt either. You might need to brew your own cup in advance to satisfy the craving Coyle leaves you with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Truly the best cozy series around!  I especially love the audio

    Truly the best cozy series around!  I especially love the audio versions of these books as the narrator adds so much to an already terrific story.  In this book, 40 something NY Village Blend Coffee shop manager, Clare Cozy has invested in a the newest big fad --a food truck.  Fortunately, or maybe not, Matt, her ex and co-manager of the Village Blend, has just returned from Brazil where he purchased a new exotic, and very expensive, coffee bean.  While they are discussing each other's new enterprises with a friend of theirs, a van runs down and seriously injures the friend.  But who was the real intended victim?




    Food truck competition, artistic expression, imported contraband, Chinatown, and the continuing love lives of the characters of the Village Blend continue to regale my mind with mystery, foodie fun, interesting facts, and a terrific story.  I love the idea of destiny that happens in this book too.  Two more books before I catch up with the authors.  Please write faster!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Another winner in the series!

    Loved this one in the Coffeehouse series. As a social media consultant, I loved how she so cleverly worked in Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. It's a testament to how current her writing is and how up to the moment the story lines are. These books have everything - suspense, romance, great food . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    a terrific read

    A hit and run. Drug smuggling. Food truck wars. This is what faces Clare in her latest adventure as I quickly turn the pages in this tour de France around the boroughs. Clare is up to her eyeballs in sleuthing as well as keeping the two men in her life civil towards one another.

    Set at a fast and fury pace, this engaging and entertaining mystery did not let up from the first sip of java until that last drop. I could not put this book down as the author did a good job in keeping me in suspense with plenty of twists and turns to throw me off track. Clare is at her best tackling the many obstacles that will keep her and her friends safe in their search for the perpetrator. What truly outshine is this delightful series is the relationship that Clare has with those that come into her life, even if briefly. Boasting a lovable cast, lively conversations including Clare’s own snippets and a great city to venture out in, this was a terrific read and I’m looking forward to more exciting exploits with Clare and her friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Food Trucks, Intrigue, Coffee and Murder

    I'm a relatively new reader of Cleo Coyle's coffeeshop series, but it has everything I like about cozy mysteries: family, romance, small business, food and smart investigation. It also has plenty of coffee trivia and New York City ambience and in this case, food trucks, along with a dose of city politics and rivalry! The Village Blend decides to branch out with a coffee and dessert truck, which causes internal strife before Clare and her ex-husband Matteo, as well as external strife when her rival sees her as stiff competition. When her friend gets run over outside the Village Blend, it gets personal and Clare takes on a new mission to hunt down the hit and run driver, which includes posing as a wedding cake buyer. Once again, this series stays extremely current while also giving us insight into the Village Blend's and New York City's past, and ups the intrigue and personal drama between Clare, Matteo and Clare's partner Mike Quinn, when the three have to share living space. This is a fast-paced mystery with an amateur sleuth who proves she's tough but also has quite a heart, one that foodies especially will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    I've been waiting for Clare Cosi's newest adventure for what see

    I've been waiting for Clare Cosi's newest adventure for what seems like
    forever! When I saw on my library website that 'A Brew To Kill' was
    finally released, I couldn't get on the Amazon website fast enough to
    order my copy! (the best part is, I got a Kindle Fire for Christmas so
    if I want to re-read it, I'll never have to go looking for my copy
    again) Right from the beginning, it grabbed me, and through out the
    whole book, never let go. I kept thinking I knew what the plot was
    going to be, and then: BAM! A change in direction! I had in mind who I
    thought the killer was, and again, I was proven wrong. The romantic
    twist in Clare and Mikes relationship, their temporary long distance
    separation, the reunion of previous characters, all add up to making
    this one of the best books that I've read this year. Keep them coming,
    Cleo.....Now, excuse me, I have to go find a great cup of coffee!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    This is a light read, but a fun one. Easy to pick up on the char

    This is a light read, but a fun one. Easy to pick up on the characters and feel like the coffee house, it's owners and staff are friends. One of the "comfort reads" that I enjoy.Of course, it helps that I am a coffee lover. Clare Cosi is a well fleshed out character, and I am hoping this comes out in audio book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Best yet

    Best yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great addition to a great series. I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    5 stars

    Always enjoy this series and am always waiting for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Love these books

    Excellent Read, I recommend all 12 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    This book was far from the quality of the previous ones.

    This book was far from the quality of the previous ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    A+

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2012

    enjoy the coffee !!!!

    I have read the entire series of the coffeehouse mysteries, and I have enjoyed each and every one !!!! Cleo Coyle never fails to provide fun reading for the reader ! This one is no exception. The "usual characters" are there..plus the addition of a few more to entertain you. The story line is done well as usual. So...do yourself a favor. Curl up on the sofa..or in your favorite chair...with a cozy throw.....and a coffee of course, and enjoy A Brew to a Kill !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    poor recommendation

    Fought through the first 100 pages and now have lost interest...Rambling dialogue and lacks good plot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A Mystery Lovers Delight!

    You have to read this book. It is a great cozy mystery. Cleo Coyle just keeps writing wonderful books. It is a book you won't be able to put down until the end. You will love the humor yet the store line will keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another great read!

    Cleo Coyle always delivers with her Coffee House Mysteries, and A Brew to a Kill is no exception. Really liked how Matt's character was front and center in this book, and the dynamics between Matt and Quinn are well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Another winner in my opinion! I couldn't put it down (as usual)

    Another winner in my opinion! I couldn't put it down (as usual)! The
    only problem that I have is that I have to wait another year to be able
    to read the next one. The way the characters interact with each other
    is hilarious, touching and just plain entertaining. Definitely a 5 star!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Cleo Coyle comes through again with the very best book in this s

    Cleo Coyle comes through again with the very best book in this series
    yet! You will not grind your way through this book, more like you will
    espresso you way to the end and have quite the jolt when you get there!!
    From the beginning you are swept back into the lives of Clare, Mike and
    Matt, old friends who cannot wait to tell you their latest adventure.
    The Barista crew is just waiting downstairs to fill you in on the
    details the others might have left out and Madame will be there as well
    with her quiet strength and wisdom to oversee it all. This story grips
    you from the very beginning and leaves you gasping for air at the end. I
    highly recommend the Coffee House Mystery series and a Brew to a Kill is
    the best one yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Well Ms. Coyle is at it again, this time with the most exciting

    Well Ms. Coyle is at it again, this time with the most exciting book of her series. Mateo is losing his cool again and new characters are abounding everywhere. This book will have your heart pounding (I needed o get up and walk around from time to time) and romance is in the air. All your favorite charters are back in one way or another. Tucker is as cute as ever. This book includes action on the rising drug scene that befalls all of us and coffee?...wow what I wouldn't give for a cup of their new brew! This is a hit and run book. Once you hit it you're off and running! Too much suspense to lay it down you're going to want to know how this twisted mess is settled right away. Everytime you think you've got an idea of whodunit you realize you have no idea. Great writing! Cleo Coyle never lets you down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2