BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Brewing Storm: A Derrick Storm Short

Average Rating 3.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Listen, don't leave bad reviews because you just looked at the c

Listen, don't leave bad reviews because you just looked at the cover and not the listing. The listing actually says "A Derrick Storm Short". Scrolling down, it also says the size of the file and how many pages it is. Lastly, you know a new release novel isn't ...
Listen, don't leave bad reviews because you just looked at the cover and not the listing. The listing actually says "A Derrick Storm Short". Scrolling down, it also says the size of the file and how many pages it is. Lastly, you know a new release novel isn't going to cost $1.99. So try reviewing THE CONTENT of the book and not that you feel cheated because you assumed some things. That said, this is not the best writing in the world, but I've enjoyed all the Nikki Heat books and I'm looking forward to this new series.

posted by Brandywine on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

REALLY???

It started out as an interesting story. Then seventy-five pages ending with the statement "To be continued in 'A Raging Storm' available in July 2012." Very disappointing.

posted by stridel on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Ripoff

    This is just the first part of a larger book that isn't out yet. Very unfair to not be up front about that AND to sell it without an ending. It SHOULD HAVE BEEN FREE! Also it needs proofreading.

    26 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    CHEATED

    I paid for a book. Not a short story advertising the release of another book!!! I feel cheated by Barns and Noble and very dissapointed. At this time I am not sure that I want to continue doing business here. Think I will sell my new nook and buy a KINDLE FIRE. So far Amazon has never ripped me off like the purchase of this book did.

    18 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Bought a book, received a sample. Ripped off again.

    Bought a book, received a sample. Ripped off again.

    8 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Like so many of these ratings, I feel cheated. Maybe I should ha

    Like so many of these ratings, I feel cheated. Maybe I should have read ALL the reviews, but little did I know they would actually try to get us to buy ANOTHER BOOK! No thanks!! Was this actually Barnes & Noble pulling this cheap trick??

    7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Ripped off

    Paid for a book and got 84 pages

    7 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Pre-Ordered this only to find out it was a Short. Continued in

    Pre-Ordered this only to find out it was a Short. Continued in 'A Raging Storm' available in July 2012, well I'll never read it.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Glad i didnt buy this

    Im glad i didnt buy this. I would have been angry to find out it is not a full book, but merely a preview...thank you, reviewers.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    What a disappointment

    I am one of the people miffed because I didn't feel it was "clear" that this is not a complete story, but merely a tease of the book yet to be published.

    I strongly feel that I should be able to trust a company the size of B&N not to use slight of hand in their marketing. As far as "doing more research"....it shouldn't be hidden in the fine print, it should say it's a teaser in the title of the listing. When I am shopping on B&N, especially if I am on a small netbook or my phone, and often times on my Nook itself, these little secrets tucked away in the listing are not readily available, and furthermore, any marketing director that feels the need to hide such information obviously knows that they are being purposefully misleading.

    It left a bad taste in my mouth to purchase any other Richard Castle books. I know I am just one person, and no one at B&N will give a flying fig if I buy the book or not, but I feel comfortable saying, I'm not alone in my opinion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Seriously, April Showers? Totally ridiculous. Makes the book unt

    Seriously, April Showers? Totally ridiculous. Makes the book untenable no matter how good a story it could have bern. Very disappointing.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    The blurb says it is 2 megabytes, It was 82 pages! What's up.

    The blurb says it is 2 megabytes, It was 82 pages! What's up. It's an excerpt. Don't waste your time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Boo

    I really wish bn would ban these children from playing on here. I come here to find relevant book reviews, not to have to scroll thru dozens of foolish posts about cats and some kids nook sex life. Everyone that is sick of these children and their stupid cat games, call bn with title of book and report them. They will investigate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Not the whole srtory

    I enjoyed until it abruptly ended This tactic of introducing the book and getting you to buy the remainder of the book later is legal but distastful And YES the info was in the small print , but who readst the small print? I will never make a purchase from this author again

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Did not get to read this book!

    Although I clicked on the book and not the sample, I received the sample and when I tried to get the book I received a message informing me that I already had this book. What do I have to do to get the book I ordered?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Not that great.

    The writing was Ok but not really inspiring. I finished this short story, but I will not be reading any more of this authors work. Also, the 'hero' is so obnoxious I kept rooting for the bad goys to kill him off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I was very disappointed thinking I was getting the whole book, w

    I was very disappointed thinking I was getting the whole book, when I got only 75 pages, but there I go thinking again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Just not good.

    Just not good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Bad writing

    The story is cliche and is written like a ninth grade creative writing project. And really? Their when it should be they're? Did anyone even edit this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Cheated!

    Really crappy.



    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2