Customer Reviews for

A Bride for All Seasons: The Mail Order Bride Collection

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Four authors contribute to this Mail-Order Bride Collection. Eac

    Four authors contribute to this Mail-Order Bride Collection. Each of the four novellas take place in a different season but with the same premise: a mail-order bride hoping to find ever-after happiness. Meddling in the mist though, is the owner of the Hitching Post Mail-Order Bride Catalog, Mr. Melvin Hitchcock, who takes it upon himself to “reword” each submission as he deems necessary for success.

    A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
    I found this collection of short stories to be a perfect light read. I was introduced to a few new authors, I enjoyed the bride-to-be basis of each, I was tickled by the stubbornness and determination of the heroines and I was thrilled I could start and finish each tale in just a short amount of time (during this very busy time of year). Most of the included story-lines I would love to see developed into full-length novels but will instead search out other books by these authors in hopes that they deliver the same enjoyment.

    RATING:
    4 (out of 5) pennies

    *I received a complimentary copy of A Bride for All Season from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson for my honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    A delightful bundle of four light-hearted, redemption-filled nov

    A delightful bundle of four light-hearted, redemption-filled novellas written by four different authors best describes A Bride for All Seasons from The Mail Order Bride Collection published by Thomas Nelson. 
    Each story represents a different season in 1870—a time when brides or husbands were hard to come by in many states. Each novella features its own unique characters and matrimonial prospects ordered by desperate bachelors from the Hitching Post Mail-Order Bride Catalogue. But sometimes you don’t get exactly what you ordered. 
    The hopeful spouses all come with their own set-of-baggage and expectations – all of which lead to an amusing and entertaining narrative. The first novella is particularly moving since a key character is a troubled orphan boy. His story is woven into the narrative and ends with its own happy-ever-after. 
    A Bride For All Seasons affords light reading with a biblical message. A perfect summer read. 
    The charming tales included in A Bride For All Seasons are as follows:
    “And then Came Spring" by Margaret Brownley
    "An Ever After Summer" by Debra Clopton
    "Autumn's Angel" by Robin Lee Hatcher
    "Winter Wedding Bells" by Mary Connealy




    I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Really enjoyable!

    The premise was was amusing and the stories played out well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    This was a cute set of four novellas all tied together by the sa

    This was a cute set of four novellas all tied together by the same Mail Order Bride company who kept editing their letters. Each bride and each groom are thrown together and not in ideal circumstances.

    I haven't read many novellas in the past few years because they all seem so rushed and not that good. While some of these stories were rushed others were well written and kept me in the story until the end.

    Winter Wedding Bells by Mary Connealy, the final story was my favorite and I would have enjoyed reading a full version of this. Great writing. It's not easy to pack so many emotions in such a short set of pages.

    The other authors did well too and I enjoyed the main plot although this could have been expanded upon too.

    * I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not usually one to read novellas, but after seeing the list

    I'm not usually one to read novellas, but after seeing the list of authors for the collaboration called A Bride for All Seasons, I thought it was about time I give them a try. I had to gear myself for the shorter stories, for what I usually LOVE are the long, complex books that might see everything in the whole story world change and have much more drastic character arcs. But that didn't mean I didn't end up enjoying these four short novellas. They were all very good for what they were... and I'll probably give more novellas a chance now that I've read this book.

    My personal favorite was Robin Lee Hatcher's "Autumn Angel". I would have LOVED to see this plot written into a full length book!

    I received a free paperback copy of A Bride for All Seasons from the publisher in return for this honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Lovely and Adorable! ¿And Then Came Spring¿¿Margaret Brownley

    Lovely and Adorable!


    “And Then Came Spring”—Margaret Brownley
    The summary for this story is a bit deceiving (fiancé vs. proxy-marriage) but that didn’t stop me from completely enjoying it. Margaret’s story of the difference between luck and faith is adorable and sweet with a good reminder to believe in God’s love.

    Mary-Jo is spunky and funny; she tries so hard to overcome the challenges of her upbringing but Sheriff Tom is not interested. At least not at first. Tom’s nephew, Eddie, steals the show with his antics and keeps the sad topic of the loss within a family from becoming too heavy. “And Then Came Spring” is a wonderful short read – absolutely charming!

    “An Ever-After Summer”—Debra Clopton
    I did not enjoy this story as much as I would have liked, though that could be chalked up to it being a short story. While the characters are strong, the pacing is off. The story begins well enough, showcasing the tension between grumpy Matt and the ever-positive Ellie. But the pacing falls off in the middle, and the plot arc happens too late in the story to give that feeling of completion. A lovely read, but that pacing issue frustrated me.

    “Autumn’s Angel”—Robin Lee Hatcher
    This story is filled with a wonderful sweetness. Both main characters are true and steady, never overreacting or bringing on unnecessary drama. The pacing is quick, and the plot grabs you from the start and whips you through to the end. Luvena and Clay are faithful, honest and absolutely lovely. I’ll be looking for more by Robin Lee Hatcher.

    “Winter Wedding Bells”—Mary Connealy
    This was absolutely my favorite story in the collection. There was something charming and pure about Irish Megan. David’s story is a bit loose though I would hope that was simply because of the constraint of a short story. I fell in love with these two characters and would have happily read a full-length novel about them. I will be stalking this author for more of her words.

    A Bride for All Seasons is an adorable work filled with little drama, plenty of romance and just enough words of faith to remind us that God will never give us too much to handle. A solid four-star read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Excellent collection

    Loved every one of the novellas in this collection. I'm not too surprised since these are some of my favorite Christian authors. And I loved how they worked the seasons in as an underlying theme. Worth every penny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    I was tickled to review this new book--a collection of novellas

    I was tickled to review this new book--a collection of novellas by four of the current best selling Inspirational Fiction authors in the market right now. These ladies are four of my most favorite of all fiction writers in general--so I was tickled to have them all together in one place!

    Even though this is a collection of four separate novellas, I'm going to review it as a whole book. Each of these stories is tied together with the common bond of the Hitching Post Mail-Order Bride Catalogue. In each novella the lead characters have corresponded via the mail-order bride catalog--the men being all out in the "Wild West" of the late 1800's and in need of brides--but some wires get crossed in their communication. This is thanks to the catalog's owner who takes it upon himself to make revisions to letters as he sees fit...and consequently there are rather large misunderstandings once they meet for the first time...which is what makes these books so fun!
    Each author writes in her own style which allows each novella to easily stand alone. Each of the main characters in the novella are nicely developed and the plots move swiftly but not so fast that things are unresolved. I enjoyed the background each author gave their heroine which drove them to answer a mail-order ad of these men. It's scary to think of what these women did--especially since it's based on things that really happened with the REAL mail-order brides of the Wild West!

    I think of all the novellas, my favorite one in the book was "An Ever After Summer" by Debra Clopton. I enjoyed the spunkiness of her heroine and the humor she injected in the plot.

    A nice bonus of the book was an authors discussion in the back of the book, where the readers get insights in the behind-the-scenes aspect of writing a joint book. I loved the tidbits each of the authors shared...ESPECIALLY that they are going to collaborate again on another book!

    If you enjoy ANY of these four authors, then I know you will enjoy this lighthearted book. It is an easy read and you will wish it was longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book contains four short stories set in the historical era.

    This book contains four short stories set in the historical era. Each story is set in a different season and deals with mail order brides. The owner of the catalog the people send the letters to would change the words just a little to help them out but it caused some problems along the way.




    What I liked: The stories were fun and enjoyable. I enjoyed reading them all. 




    What I did not like: I thought all the couples would marry right away because they were mail order brides but most of them waited to see if it would work out before they got married. This is fine of course but it was not quite what I expected. 




         Overall this was a enjoyable book and one I would recommend if you like historical fiction and short stories. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Four uniquely fun and fanciful tales of the wild west from capab

    Four uniquely fun and fanciful tales of the wild west from capable authors.  
    I enjoyed visiting the wild west,
    learning about ways of life and situational ethics of this historical time period.  And..
    I loved reading the situations that created the need for those ethics!
    Complex characters and plots kept me reading for more.
    The Hitching Post magazine owner and publisher takes his editorial responsibilities a wee bit too far. Determining whether the requests and replies will garner adequate responses, Melvin tweaks them accordingly. Unfortunately, he's never in attendance for the shocking consequences...

    Our four prospective grooms and brides-to-be are each as intriguing as their tales of woe. 
    I loved the tensions created and the journeys to creative resolutions. 
    The authors are adept at their craft.  Well able to keep my attention through
    characterization, dialogue, description, and creative plotting.
    *
    My recommendation?
    Perfect summer getaway reading!

    *I appreciate receiving an ecopy from Thomas Nelson for reading and review without obligation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    A Bride for All Seasons is a collection of four novellas about m

    A Bride for All Seasons is a collection of four novellas about mail order brides in the 1800's. This was a very enjoyable read and all four stories were well written. A fun twist to all four of these stories is that the brides and grooms who end up together do not quite get the person that they are expecting based on their correspondence. This is because of the man who runs the Hitching Post Mail Order Bride Catalogue. He changes the letters between the prospective brides and grooms in various ways in order to make matches. This little detail makes for some fun reading as the parties in question must figure out how to deal with each other and whatever new information they receive upon meeting up with each other. I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    If you love fesity heroines, rugged heroes, and fun-loving stori

    If you love fesity heroines, rugged heroes, and fun-loving stories, this collection is for you. Each of these novellas takes place in a different setting, yet they are all connected through the meddling of an over-zealous mail-order bride catalogue editor. The premise was fun, the stories each unique, and the characters memorable.

    It is always challenging to tell a complete romance in the short word count available in novellas, but I felt as if all the authors did a great job pacing their stories, giving us time to care about the characters and fall in love with them as they fell in love with each other. From unexpected funerals to an over-protective mule to an opera house in a mining town to Wyoming blizzards this collection has it all.

    I highly recommend this book to those who enjoy inspirational historical romance.

    *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expression are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Loving These Mail-Order Brides" &q

    booksbysteph says "Loving These Mail-Order Brides"

    "And Then Came Spring" by Margaret Brownley (story 1) (I will add to this review after I have finished another of the 3 more stories by different authors)

    I have never been a fan of short stories together in one book. That is the only reason to take away a star. I feel that sometimes you cannot connect with the characters. You are just reading a story. I love connecting with characters, like I am a part of the story.

    In this story, you think the mail-order bride catalogue brings the two main characters together, when it was really Eddie. For a child known to be unruly, he is very smart. Even after the death of his father, he connects with Mary-Jo and knows just what to do to stop her from returning home.

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1