BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Bride for Keeps (Unexpected Brides Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Story

I enjoyed this book I like the characters and the dialog was perfect! However I don't think it was worth the 10.50 I paid only because it was only 260ish pages and the first 40 I already read in her fist book. Still a good author and great story!

posted by sahmreadstomuch on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Determination to win love

Book started out slow, but I got into it midway. I enjoyed reading about the determination of the man to win the love of his wife who had been deeply hurt in time past. In the book you read about his struggle with God to deny his flesh his marital rights in order to mak...
Book started out slow, but I got into it midway. I enjoyed reading about the determination of the man to win the love of his wife who had been deeply hurt in time past. In the book you read about his struggle with God to deny his flesh his marital rights in order to make his wife feel safe and cared for. Through the book you wonder will he get all he hoped for in a wife....

posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Great book

    I rarely pay much for the books. I am a great believer in libraries. However I read the excerpt and just had to spend the money. Ii was not disappointed. I really enjoyed the book and am looking forward to more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Bride for Keeps By: Melissa Jagears I have found another favo

    A Bride for Keeps
    By: Melissa Jagears

    I have found another favorite author! From the first novella, Love by the Letter, I was hooked. A Bride for Keeps, Jagears debut full-length novel, grabs you from the first page. I read this book in two days.

    Julia Lockwood thinks she has to do more and more work on the homestead to make her worthy in Everett’s eyes. As with God’s love, it is not works alone that saves you, but faith. Julia must learn to love Everett Cline and accept his love for her. Can she do that with her past clouding her vision of what her life should be like? She has been abused by men in the past and can’t comprehend that Everett might love her for herself.

    Everett has sought three mail-order brides before Julia. One died before she arrived and two others married someone else once they got to town. Can he release his heart to Julia even though he’s afraid she will up and leave also? Everett must learn to trust, God and Julia.

    As I was reading this, a line spoke to me. “But you just told me you loved me, and those words have already wiped away the hardship. I would have gone through anything to have you say that to me.” As a mother, we say this when we have kids. Even though it involves pain to have a child we go through it. God sent His Son to die on the cross for our sins. Even before we were saved, He loved us and died for us. Just to hear us say we love Him, makes it all worth it. May I never forget to tell Him I love Him.

    I did not want this book to end. I love the characters, the messages, the romance. Cannot wait to read the next book by Melissa Jagears!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    A Bride for Keeps is a love story - one where the man had given

    A Bride for Keeps is a love story - one where the man had given up hope of ever finding a wife to love and then, when he found the woman with whom he wanted to spend the rest of his life loving it came with promises he would abstain from physical love.
    A beautiful, young woman, Julia, agreed to be a mail order bride but was not looking for love only protection. Julia had suffered traumas for years and thought she was unworthy of love.
    This story was a page turner and I was able to finish in a few hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected Brides #1 Everett Cline has been tricked by his clos

    Unexpected Brides #1

    Everett Cline has been tricked by his close friend and neighbor.   His friend has sent for a mail order bride but his neighbor is married.  The bride evidently is for Everett.  This is not Everett's first attempt to marry a mail order bride and had no desire to try again.  But his friend thought otherwise and arranged for a mail order bride for Everett.  

    Julia Lockwood had no idea her groom to be knew nothing about her or her arrival.  But when all comes to the surface Julia is determined to prove to Everett she was more than a pretty face. She would work hard and show him what a good, if not perfect, helpmate she could be for him. 

    I enjoyed this story immensely and it's characters.  Everett and his lack of faith in actually claiming a bride. Julia was so determined and learned things she never believed she would ever have done in life.  Oh, how special it was to have such loyal and caring friends as their neighbors.
      
    This was a  journey leading to a beautiful romance which grew in faith with God and his path for their future together. They learned to not only trust in each other but in God.  

    The cover image caught my attention. Especially the expression on Julia's face.  I could not wait to read the book.  I was not disappointed. .

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I think this will be a good series!  -   The last thing Everett

    I think this will be a good series!  -  

    The last thing Everett Cline wants is another mail-order bride, what does Rachel think she's doing sending for one without even telling him. The town already laughs and talks about his luck with women. I mean who would want to try a fifth time after the first one arriving DOA and the other three marrying other men, one before she even arrived in Kansas. Not only that he'd originally been jilted by Rachel's sister who married a man and moved back east. NO! He does NOT want to go through with this.




    Julia Lockwood feels that men only want her because of her good looks. Her mother died when she was nine years old after Julia 'let' her newborn brother die. According to her father she is to blame for the death of both of them, I don't know who he blamed for all of the other children that were lost, Julia was the only child that survived. Her father used her for a pretty pawn and he was forcing her to marry a man who only wanted her fathers business. When her fiancee pushes her too far and ruins her, Julia knows she has to run. After answering Rachel's ad for a mail-order bride and becoming friends, she goes to Kansas. Then when she's attacked again, in Kansas, she has even stronger feelings about not having a complete marriage or ever having children.




    This was a good story about the struggles some mail-order couples went through. Melissa keeps you reading and pulling for the two to 'JUST TALK' to each other. One trusts God to get them through, the other doesn't think they are good enough for God to care about. It looks like this is going to be a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Who doesn't love a mail-order bride story? Hard-working farmer i

    Who doesn't love a mail-order bride story? Hard-working farmer in a harsh, untamed land that's short on women--pretty or otherwise--places an advertisement for a wife. Beautiful (or not), down on her luck Eastern girl with nowhere else to turn answers the ad and heads west to face whatever adventures life has in store. It spells a page-turner every time. But what will that farmer do if the girl decides the farmer, or his farm, is just not good enough and she backs out? How many times will he try? 

    That's a story I had never read until A Bride for Keeps.

    Melissa Jagears has taken the well-loved frame of the mail-order bride story and turned it on its ear with a jaded hero who has sworn off mail-order brides, and a wounded heroine who wants nothing to do with intimacy of any kind. Mix in Everett's irresistible goodness (that shows through despite his best efforts to hide it)--to say nothing of his good looks--and Julia's beauty and vulnerability, and you have a tale sure to win a place in readers' hearts, and on their keeper shelves.
    I loved Everett and Julia. My heart broke for the pain that stood between them and happiness. I constantly rooted for them to overcome it and grasp with both hands the love that was staring them in the face. When they finally do, it's in a scene that may be one of the most beautiful romantic resolutions I've ever read...and that's saying A LOT!

    The secondary characters are beautifully done as well. From Dex and Rachel Stanton, whom we met in the novella Love by the Letter, to some of the ladies who jilted Everett before Julia's arrival, the minor characters create a community that not only anchors this story in time and place, but also beckons readers to return for more in future novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    After being jilted by the town beauty, Everett Cline succumbs to

    After being jilted by the town beauty, Everett Cline succumbs to the local matchmaker’s pressure and writes for a mail-order bride, not once or twice but three times. All ended in disaster; two left him for other men and one arrived in a coffin. Still, unbeknownst to Everett, his matchmaking friend tries one more time. When Julia Lockwood arrives, her stunning beauty makes Everett believe there must be some mistake . . . And her relational baggage rivals his own. Will they make it work?




    Set on the Kansas Prairie in the 1870’s, A Bride For Keeps, provides interesting details on pioneer homesteading on the prairie, including forces that would prompt people to resort to arranged marriages by mail, often sight unseen. I enjoyed the nuanced relational angst between a man and a woman searching for love, but more than anything, that this is a story of redemption and restoration. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    A Bride for Keeps by Melissa Jagears is a most delightful story

    A Bride for Keeps by Melissa Jagears is a most delightful story about mail order brides and all the problems that can occur when they arrive at their destination. Everett Cline is having problems keeping up with all the work on his farm so he decides to write for a mail-order bride. To say that Everett is unlucky when it comes to mail-order brides is putting it mildly. Though technically not a mail-order bride the first woman jilted him, the second was dead when she arrived, the third was already married to the town’s shopkeeper when she disembarked from the train, and the fourth left after a week for a man with a larger farm. Everett is determined to never write for another mail-order bride but Rachel, the wife of Everett’s good friend, decides to write for Everett but does not tell him until the bride arrives on the train. When Everett sees Julie he is sure that she will never marry him for she is the prettiest woman he has ever seen and he just knows that she will not want a farmer for a husband. Julie Lockwood left her home in Massachusetts to become a mail-order bride in Kansas for she finally had all she could take of being nothing but a pretty face for her father or simply a business acquisition for her former fiance. Everett is sure that Julie cannot be happy as the wife of a farmer and Julie does not want to ever get married, but after a short time, they decide to marry but it will be a marriage in name only and this leads to all kinds of problems that make for a great story.




    All the characters in the story were very well developed and each one came to life as I read about them and by the time I finished the book I felt as if I had several new friends. Not only was the dialogue well done but at times it was very entertaining. Quite a bit of action took place in the story and it was so well written that I was right there in the middle of everything that was happening. I even felt the pain when Julie broke her leg. At times there was even some suspense in the story for I was wondering if Everett and Julie would ever come to love each other.




    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good historical romance novel set in the early days of the American West.




    LibraryThing provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    "A Bride for keeps" is a wonderful, christian, histori

    "A Bride for keeps" is a wonderful, christian, historical, romance novel. I enjoyed the way the characters interacted with each other and both were very strong willed. For some reason I love mail-order-bride type books, it interest me how people actually did that and the many different reasons why someone would become a mail-order-bride, or look for one. This book will keep you reading to see if Everett and Julia can ever get over their past experiences and find a happy, loving marriage. If you enjoy good clean historical romance fiction you will love this book. I look forward to more books by Melissa Jagears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everett Cline had been jilted enough to wound any man's pride. A

    Everett Cline had been jilted enough to wound any man's pride. After his best friend's sister-in-law left him for another man he decided to try his luck with mail-order brides only to be jilted by three more women. With a bruised ego, as well as a bruised heart, Everett refused to go that route again. Even though he longed for the companionship of a good woman he would no longer be fodder for town gossip. But when his best friend's wife, Rachel, ordered a bride without his knowledge he found himself enamored with the beautiful Julia Lockwood. Even though he would like nothing better than to have her by his side he knows he must guard his heart. What if she leaves him like the others? Surely this time would break his heart but can he love her completely and, at the same time, live with a marriage of convenience?

    Julia Lockwood fled from Boston for two reasons, to get away from her father's scheming ambitions and to put distance between herself and a horrible nightmare. Why else would she agree to be a mail-order bride? All Julia had were her looks, or so she had been told, so what man would want her for anything more? Everett was a kind man but Julia felt she had to prove her worth. She worked as hard as any man but she was afraid that when Everett found out about her past he would no longer want her. How could he love her if he knew? Her past also kept her from accepting the love of her Heavenly Father. Could Everett help her come to understand her own self-worth, not only in her eyes, but in his eyes and the eyes of God as well? Can she come to love her husband despite her fears? Will God heal her heart and give her the love she never dreamed she would have?

    Let me start by saying I absolutely loved this book. This is the first book I have read by Melissa Jagears but I am already looking forward to the next one (hmmm maybe one about William?). The plot is one that is always a pleasing read to me. Both Everett and Julia had feelings for each other but kept them to themselves which made for some great tension. Julia's feelings surfaced more toward the end but there were little hints earlier on that she didn't seem to recognize as the beginnings of love. Although this type of plot isn't new it sure had some new angles that enriched the story. I won't give away any significant parts (no spoilers here) but it also dealt with an issue that is rarely addressed in historical fiction and I loved that. I loved Everett's heart too. It was as big and wide as the land he lived on and the way he loved Julia through her fears and doubts only endeared him to me more. If you love historical fiction and great story lines you will absolutely love A Bride for Keeps. I highly and irrevocably recommend it!

    **I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for my honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    There are quite a few mail order bride novels on the shelves the

    There are quite a few mail order bride novels on the shelves these days, but this one is a fresh look, a different perspective, really. Everett has tried the route of finding a bride from out east numerous times already, but why that happened, the reader will find out in the book. He will not try it again! The situations and characters are humorous at times, at other times frustrating, but always entertaining. Melissa caught my attention and my heart from the first page where I met Everett Kline coming out of the mercantile in Salt Flatts, Kansas and kept it through out the novel as I followed the residents of the small prairie town. Never a dull moment, it seems as, everyone in the county has advice that they are only too willing to share with him. And as with all close knit communities, each one knows the other one's business better than he himself does! 
    I will recommend this to my friends and look for more books by Melissa!




    "Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group." 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    A Bride for Keeps ~ Melissa Jagears I truly enjoyed this book;

    A Bride for Keeps ~ Melissa Jagears

    I truly enjoyed this book; it was a wonderful read from a first time author! I found the story captivating, to have a mail order bride set up for you! Wow! What could you do when everyone thinks you are doomed before she even meets you because of your record with other mail order brides? And if you were the woman trying to prove you are better able bodied then your looks relate? This was the perfect recipe for a great read!
    I found this to be a wonderful story of two people who are searching for love and settling for what they deem is enough. Wanting to prove to themselves that they are worth more then others think of them. While trying to each other that they are the perfect one for what the other one needs. Can love ever blossom between to such characters? I sure is fun to read and find out! I am very much looking forward to the next book by this author.

    I received a free copy of this book for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Mail Order Bride!   What a fantastic read.  From page one to th

    Mail Order Bride!  

    What a fantastic read.  From page one to the very last page this author draws you 
    into the story.  If this is Melissa Jagears debut book I can’t wait to see what follows!
    She has made a fan out of me.  I finished this book early this morning and I
    thought about it off and on all day.  It made that big of an impact on me.

    If you want to know how hard it was to live in the west in 1876 this book is for you.  
    The characters are lovable, well most of them are, and the hardships are plenty.  
    Brides are hard to find and men are lonely.

    Everett Cline needs a wife and Julia Lockwood needs to escape from her life in the
    East.  Is she making a mistake agreeing to become a wife to a man she doesn’t
    even know?  

    This is the most touching book I have read in a long time.  Many Christian fiction
    books refer to God and even quote scripture, however, the message that Melissa
    Jagears includes toward the end of this book between Everett and Julia made my
    heart overflow.   Such a tender and intimate invitation for a man to extend to a
    woman.  What a great God moment.

    If you are reading my review I urge you to purchase a copy of this book.  You are
    going to love it!

    I won this book from Bethany House, thank you.  I wasn’t required to write a review.
    It was my pleasure to do so.  The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I really enjoyed this debut novel by Melissa Jagears. This is th

    I really enjoyed this debut novel by Melissa Jagears. This is the story of Julia and Everett. What a moving mail order bride tale!

    After being jilted by his sweetheart years ago, Everett set out to find himself a mail order bride for companionship as well as need for help around his farm. Three attempts and three failures later, he has given up. His friends, however, have not given up! Much to Everett's surprise, his new mail order bride has arrived!

    Julia is typical of many mail-order brides in that she has something in her past that she is trying to escape from. Where Julia strays from the norm is that her past includes a very traumatic event that is going to make it extremely difficult to trust a man ever again.

    When these two marry, will Everett be able to open himself up to his new bride, even after being jilted so many times before? Will Julia ever be able to trust Everett and be the wife he desires?

    I found these characters to be very well written. Julia's fear is completely understandable, as is Everett's frustration with her! Watching these two find love is thoroughly enchanting!

    I received a copy of A Bride for Keeps from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The last thing that Everett Cline wants right now is for another

    The last thing that Everett Cline wants right now is for another woman to step foot off the train looking for marriage from him. After three unsuccessful attempts to finding a wife to help him on his farm, and all of them not working out in his favor he has lost interest in finding anyone who will marry him. After his failed attempts at finding love through mail order brides, first one married someone else before getting off the train, the second one died before arriving and the third took one look at what he was asking her to help with on the farm, and opted for someone else. Now his sister Rachel is involved with a friend who believes she is just the right woman for Everett. But when Julia Lockwood arrives in town, she turns just about every head there is, women and men.

    Julia Lockwood answered Rachel's request to marry her brother Everett in hopes of alleviating the constant demands of men wanting her for her beauty and what they hoped she could provide as the wealthy daughter of a prominent businessman from Boston. Not afraid of hard work, Julia hopes she can provide just what Everett is looking for, someone to help him out on the farm. She has already seen what her looks can do to a man that wanted to be a part of her father's business and insisted on getting it from Julia despite her attempts at refusing his advances. Now assured that besides having more than her beauty robbed of her, she's hoping she can convince Everett to marry her to ensure men won't be looking at her for anything more than being someone's else's wife. She isn't looking for love and hopes she can convince Everett she isn't one to run away from anything.

    But since both Everett and Julia have been burned by their pasts, they will do whatever they can to put up false fronts that will do more than build walls around their hearts. It will also keep them from learning to love and forgiving those that have hurt them instead of making one another pay for someone else's mistakes. Yet what will it take for either of them to become truly honest and work to heal those painful pasts and teach each other what God truly wants from unconditional love? Will it take the risk of losing one another to make them appreciate what they really have or will they simply fade away into the sunset and suffer in silence with their dark mistakes?

    I received A Bride for Keeps by debut author Melissa Jagears compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are my own. This is such a believable novel for me when you consider the challenges of being a mail order bride. There is no courtship and at times even those marriages are often worse than remaining single and alone. I found Julia's story to be just what I would expect and loved Everett's challenge at trying to keep his promise to refrain from taking advantage of Julia just because he is married to her, despite her beauty. She works hard to prove herself something we all try to do to earn our way into God's good graces, such is the story of Julia trying to earn Everett's favor. It simply doesn't work. This is the first novel by Melissa Jagears and it certainly won't be her last. For those of you that love a great Western Romance, this one is guaranteed to capture your heart. I rate this a 5 out of 5 stars and it has found a permanent home in my library. Melissa Jagears is now on my MUST READ list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I received this book free from Bethany House on the terms that i

    I received this book free from Bethany House on the terms that i post a review. When i ripped open the package and read the back cover i thought "Seriously? I gotta read this thing?" I was thinking it would be just another clichéd mail-order bride romance. You know, reluctant bride and reluctant husband find love against all odds blah blah blah. Ha! Don't judge a book by its cover people! (How's that for cliché? ;) While this story is about a mail-order bride and her reluctant husband, it was so charming and well written that you forget you're supposed to be bored!
    The story starts out with poor Everett, rejected by 4 other would-be brides, yet again looking at a prospective wife. I won't wreck the story for you (Because you are going to read it, right?) so i'll just let you read it for yourself! It's definitely worth your time. This book grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. I started reading it late one night, and didn't finish until well into the early morning hours. I wasn't about to put it down and leave Julia to an unknown fate! The characters are well thought out and so easy to relate to. We've all been scarred by a memory and been unable to move on and forget...right? That's what i thought...
    This one is worth the time it takes to get lost in its pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    ¿A Bride for Keeps¿ by Meslissa Jagears is a wonderful read! I a

    “A Bride for Keeps” by Meslissa Jagears is a wonderful read! I am a busy mom with four kids but I read it in just a few days because of the heart-warming storyline, great development of the characters, and because it just kept me entertained! I really enjoy a good love story to help me relax and “escape” for a little bit and this one has some unique twists.  There’s also a wonderful message about God’s relentless, enduring love for us, which is captured by the main character, Everett. Melissa is a talented writer with a fresh, witty style. I highly recommend her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bride For Keeps By Melissa Jagears Unexpected Brides Series Book

    Bride For Keeps By Melissa Jagears
    Unexpected Brides Series Book 1
    Everett Cline is about the unluckiest man on earth when it comes to women. He's told that he's not so bad looking and yet still he's had four women reject him in different ways. When he finds his best friends wife has written yet another mail-order bride on his behalf he does the only thing he can when she arrives, ignores her. Which isn't easy being she's the most beautiful woman he's ever seen.

    Julia Lockwood is so busy running from the past that she won't even stop long enough to see what her future could be with Everett. She blames herself for things she had no control over and lives with a boat load of guilt. She's only ever been used by men for her beauty, never loved. Julia can only be released from her past if she accepts God and His love. That's a wall only He can knock down. She's a city girl but will do what she must to prove herself worthy of being a country wife.

    A good storyline with believable characters that come to life. As a reader I really felt for Everett, he'd been rejected so often that he couldn't bear to let hope in. Julia had no clue that her fears from the past were adding to Everett's past rejections. There are some secondary characters that really add to the story as well. The free novella, Love by the Letter, is a prequel to this book. It is Dex and Rachel's story.
    **Book received through Bethany House for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    A Bride for Keeps is a story of Everett Cline and Julia Lockwood

    A Bride for Keeps is a story of Everett Cline and Julia Lockwood set in 1876 Kansas. Everett was previously jilted by three mail order brides and gave up on ever marrying. julia is a beauty who wants to be a mail order bride to escape heartache that she experiences in Massachusetts. Do these two get what they are looking for in each other?
    This is a beautifully written debut novel by Melissa Jagears. While reading this novel, I often was reminded of Janette Oke's writing style. if you love her writing, you will definitely enjoy Melissa's.
    From the very first page, I was intrigued with the story up until the end. throughout there were several laugh out loud moments that I did not see coming. This is one of the best novels I have read this year.
    I hope to see more of these characters in a series and read more by Melissa Jagears in the future. Trust me you will want to read this one. I highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    A Bride for Keeps is an absolutely charming debut novel by Melis

    A Bride for Keeps is an absolutely charming debut novel by Melissa Jagears.  Fans of author Deanne Gist will love this novel.  With a love story that pulls at the heartstrings, Author Melissa Jagears also gracefully tackles the struggle of the victim to trust again and the pain of rejection.   The novel takes place in Kansas in 1876. Desperate to escape her past, Julia Lockwood arrives on the train having agreed to be a mail order bride for a man she has not met nor even corresponded with.  Everett Cline having been rejected by several possible brides decides never to face that kind of humiliation again, and he isn’t looking for a bride.  Family friends, however, have decided to take matters into their own hands and bring in a mail order bride for Everett.
      
    I loved the characters from the opening scene of the book.  Julia is strong female lead who is determined to move forward with her life despite her past.  She is gentle and kind but with backbone.  She has a strong frontier spirit and a willingness to make the best of her situation.  Everett is a Godly man who still struggles with his flaws.  The characters are not one dimensional or defined solely by their pasts.
      
    I raced through the book because I enjoyed it so much but then I wanted to linger longer with the characters because I was delighted by them.  A wonderful dilemma for a reader to face, whether to slower savor the book to stay with the characters longer or to read it in one sitting because you can’t bear to put it down.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2