Customer Reviews for

A Bucket of Ashes

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Historical Mystery Series

    Nell Sweeney is a girl with a past that must remain hidden. Her strong sense of values and willingness to risk herself to help others make her a likeable heroine. These six novels are a wonderful window into Victorian Boston, and how the people of that era faced problems similar to today's issues - like high unemployment, discrimination, crime and drug abuse. Very enjoyable and unexpected. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a heartwarming mystery

    As a child Nell Sweeney lived in the poor house and lost her family to disease and when she got out she made a living working as a pickpocket. Now she has a respectable job working for the wealthy Hewitts as a governess to their adopted daughter Grace. Only she and the family know that Grace is Will Hewitt¿s biological child, born on the wrong side of the blanket. He is unable to care for her because of his opiate and gambling addictions.--------------------------- - When the family goes to Cape Cod for the summer Nell runs into her ex-lover Dr. Greaves who tells her that her brother was murdered after hiding out in a shed that caught fire. He was wanted for the murder of Susannah Cunningham a woman who he worked for as a gardener. Besides needing a divorce because her abusive husband is in prison and will remain so for thirty years, and she is carrying Will¿s baby, Nell with the help of Will and Dr. Greaves investigate the death of James because an autopsy shows he was knifed and did not die from smoke inhalation.---------------- P.B. Ryan writes a heartwarming mystery that capture the ambivalence of the rich on the east coast five years after the civil war ended. The protagonist leads a troubled life but she rises above her upbringing to become a solid citizen who loves the responsibility of caring for her young charge. Will comes back from France where he was applying his medical skills and is there for Nell when she needs him most. Readers will care about him because he feels he is unworthy to love someone as pure as Nell.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Wonderful, can't wait for more.

    I got hooked on the first P. B. Ryan book of the series, and learned about smoking Opium than I ever wanted to know.

    Historical mysteries are my genre and these are very well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Excellent series-Nell Sweeney Historical Mysteries

    This is a really good ending to a wonderful series. I read Book #1 free and promptly purchased the other five. Really liked all the characters, the storyline, the mystery solving, the history & actual people featured from the post civil war time period. Well written & very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Awesome

    What a great ending to this series of books. I hope there will be more because im hooked on nell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Rainfoot

    "I'll be right back." She stayed for a moment then ran off to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Emberstream

    He bit in the badger's neck and crushed the artery, then dragged it back to camp, his teeth red with blood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    The last one in the series. Highly recommend it!

    This last book did not disappoint. It is true that everything was wrapped up quickly, but I liked that. Check out this series starting with the first book. They are in sequence and the characters keep developing in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    A MUST Read!

    If you aren't reading Pat Ryan's books, you should be! If you are - good on ya! This is a wonderful way to end this series (and I personally hope that she is going to bring these characters back for more, because I've become very fond of them!). The world they inhabit is finely drawn, and the characters themselves are multi-dimensional and "dense" with layers of emotion, nuance, and personality. I'm encouraging all my friends to read the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I absolutely love the Nell Sweeney series!! I read them all with

    I absolutely love the Nell Sweeney series!! I read them all within two weeks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great Reading

    Easy reading with mystery and romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great reading!

    Please, please, keep the story line going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    this is an excellent read. Loved the characters who are carried

    this is an excellent read. Loved the characters who are carried on in the entire series. I highly recommend these books. I dont usually read historical fiction but I was puled in from the first book and to know what was next for Nell and Will. I hated to see it come to an end and wish the author would write yet another book to continue on.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    A wonderful continuation of the characters we have met earlier

    This book concludes the 6th in the series of the Nell Sweeney mysteries and happily wraps up the series to the readers expectations. The only disappointment is that there doesn't seem to be any more coming and I really enjoyed diving into book after book following this semi-pro detective who usually got things slightly wrong before coming to a better understanding of the facts - so there are always little twists and turns - things are not exactly how you think they are....good reading, good mysteries being solved and good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I hate for it to end!

    It did seem rushed in some ways but it was a beautiful end to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Great

    This series is so GOOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great series

    I thoroughly enjoyed this series. I wish it would continue...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nell Sweeney Mysterys #6

    I believe this is the last book in this series. They are good books but I believe you need to read them in order. I was reading this one then at end it gives you an excerpt from the previous book #5 so just try to read them in order and you will understand the story better. Its set in the 1800's, real good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2