Customer Reviews for

A Case for Solomon: Bobby Dunbar and the Kidnapping That Haunted a Nation

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    This story is compelling. It comes at the reader in little bits

    This story is compelling. It comes at the reader in little bits and you
    will find yourself wandering through the pages with more questions than
    answers, but keep the faith. The research is thorough and the people
    involved come to life anew as the pieces of the puzzle come together.
    It would make a fascinating book club read. It was pulled from the
    pages of family scrapbooks and newsprint from 1912 and we have only 21st
    century eyes with which to examine its many nuances. You'll find we
    haven't grown much wiser for our years, our technology, or our 24-hour
    global news feeds. I came away frustrated at the press, the legal
    system and the public's appetite for sordid tidbits of others' broken
    lives. Ms. Cutright has navigated some rough waters to find answers for
    herself and her family--Dunbars and Andersons alike. I congratulate her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    An interesting report, but 500+ pages is too long. I found myse

    An interesting report, but 500+ pages is too long. I found myself skipping over paragraphs as it became a bit tedious reading every little detail. That said, it is compelling realizing that this all happened 100 years ago...today it would be resolved quickly without causing more suffering to so many people and tearing lives apart. It kept me coming back each day to find out what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Amazing Book! I felt like a reporter reading this book, because

    Amazing Book!
    I felt like a reporter reading this book, because at times it read like a report or case study. I had to actually remind myself that it read that way because it is a real story that happened in America!! I was amazed at how many people were willing to lie to themselves because the alternative was too painful. As a family therapist, I was mesmerized and would have loved to have met the family. There were so many family patterns and issues that weren’t dealt with, but with anything, a lie will slowly rip apart the seams of a very intact family. It was a great book that I enjoyed reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Why is nothing ever as it appears to be? It is an undisputed f

    Why is nothing ever as it appears to be?

    It is an undisputed fact that Bobby Dunbar disappeared during a family trip, and was recovered eight months later having been abducted by a man of nefarious background. The question that arose after he was found became “who does this child belong to.” Two families are claiming he is there son, and lacking the modern technology to confirm Bobby’s parentage the case is tried by public opinion. The press is allowed to draw conclusions, the public pick sides, and families torn apart trying to take this child back into their life. Who is right becomes a fight over more than just Bobby does; it became a statement against life style, discrimination, and how money can buy a verdict.

    The overall size of the book seems daunting but this story needs every page to make sure readers know exactly what is going on and when. The facts unfold slowly and with precise detail to showcase every step taken during the entire process where a child’s life lay in the balance. It is told through documented facts, implied conversations, and family gossip, combined together make for a compelling and riveting read you cannot put down until you have it completed.

    We all examine our family wondering if we know all the secrets and where the skeletons are hidden. What if every little secret about your family was documented for everyone to reflect on and you wonder your entire life if this is in fact really your family. This was more than 15 minutes of fame for Bobby Dunbar, it was a lifetime of nightmares and inconclusive information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those books that sticks with you for a while. I

    This is one of those books that sticks with you for a while. I was horrified to learn the role the press played in this whole fiasco. We really have not learned from past mistakes. When Bobby Dunbar went missing, no stone was left unturned. Yet when a boy was found who was similar in looks, the press was there to “get the story”. I felt like they were willing to make the story fit a happy ending no matter what.
    My sympathies went to Julia Anderson who had no resources due to her financial circumstances. I was pleased to learn the truth had been found but saddened by the pain everyone involved in this case suffered. The authors have done a tremendous amount of research and have successfully told the story in a way that carried the reader along, making them want to know what happened next.

    We are given a look at the time period and how things worked for those who had and those had not. In this day and age we have the benefit of DNA testing. Yet I wonder how much the press would be able to skew the opinions of all parties involved. It is sad that so many lives have been destroyed. Yet I feel that a mystery was left unanswered in this story. I don’t know if anyone will ever solve that mystery. This is definitely worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    anonymos

    book drawn out with tooo much unnecessary details. At times hard to keep interested. Could have been easily 100 pages shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Very good book. Very interesting story and well written.

    Very good book. Very interesting story and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Old fashioned 'media circus'

    I won't ruin the plot by telling you if Bobby is really Bobby but I can't help but wonder.... what happened to the other boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I loved the book, but I really enjoy true stories with trials an

    I loved the book, but I really enjoy true stories with trials and investigations.  The ending is especially rewarding, I think, and I am very happy that the families got one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1