Customer Reviews for

A Case of Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    A Case of Redemption is the second book that I've reviewed for A

    A Case of Redemption is the second book that I've reviewed for Adam Metzger and he has proven once again that his literary skills are sharp, intriguing, captivating, and suspenseful. Adam's novel starts out early with a verse of a song:

    Gonna stop you when you sing, gonna give it till you scream; don't like what you said, gonna go A-Rod on your head.

    Legally Dead, "A-Rod"
    From the song "A-Rod," lyrics and music by Legally Dead.

    The composer of this song, Legally Dead, finds himself arrested for murder ... a murder committed just like the lyrics of his song. Metzger is able to keep a gossamer veil over the innocence or the guilt of Legally Dead throughout the twisting tale of motives and deceptions. This adds to the suspense and kept me turning the electronic pages throughout the night. At times I thought Legally Dead was the evil murderer and then I would feel he was nothing more than a scapegoat for the crime. This back and fourth dilemma between innocence and guilty was like a fast paced ping pong tournament only played out in this captivating who-done-it mystery novel.

    Adam is able to bring the characters to life with descriptive language and personal faults that allow the characters the leap off of the pages into the gray matter of my mind.

    Adam stated at the end of this novel that this novel was more difficult to write because he knew more people would be reading this one other friends and family and for that reason he felt the pressure. I assure you that Adam may have felt pressure and he may have found this one more difficult to write, but if that is what it takes to bring to life a superbly written novel then I hope Adam feels more pressure to keep turning out novel after novel as I am hungry to read his next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dan Sorensen is living the life of a dead man for all intensive

    Dan Sorensen is living the life of a dead man for all intensive purposes his wife is dead his daughter is dead in a fatal car accident, he left his high profile lawyer career and now wallows in his misery with a good scotch!

    When he meets Nina Harrington and promises her to meet Legally Dead a rap artist who's on trial for murder. Things arise that make Dan question whether his client is guilty or innocent. Did he really kill his girlfriend with a baseball bat as his hit song claims or is he innocent as he claims?

    Mixed in with this book is watching Dan overcome his grief and move on from his late wife. He's becoming more in control of his drinking and doing somewhat more normal things than he was in the beginning of the book. No longer seeking scotch to make things better, he actually can get through the day without wallowing in his heartache.

    This book had so many twists and turns and points where the defense was headed no where in reality it was all over the place, and I couldn't have predicted that ending at all, what a great story teller Mr. Mitzner is this is the second book I've read by him and again he had me guessing up til the end! Well Done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dan Sorenson was a high profile attorney at a big New York firm

    Dan Sorenson was a high profile attorney at a big New York firm spending 12-16 hours a day working. Then the unthinkable happened. His wife and daughter were killed in a horrifying auto accident.  He quits the law firm and spends 18 months wallowing in his grief. Drinking so much that he blacks out and forgets hours of time.




    At a party he meets someone who can give him the opportunity of a lifetime, a way to start over, but first he has to have them explain the whole idea again as he barely remembers the meeting.




    An up and coming rapper has been accused of killing his pop star “girlfriend”. He swears he is innocent but the press has the story on every front page  so defending him will be an upward climb. He is not sure he is ready just a huge case. He also realizes this could be his last chance to get his life back on track. In a way he needs this client as much as his client needs him.





    Oh this story is like a ride on a tilt-o-whirl. Full of twists and spins and plenty of excitement.




    I love the way Mitzner creates characters readers will love even the ones we love to hate. Defending L.D. takes over Sorenson’s life. Nina was the calming influence he needed. J. D. has a past that has to be clarified and clarified again. The prosecuting attorney was a strong woman just doing her job. The trial judge adds a little humor to the story.




    Told from Sorenson’s point of view readers have the “you are there” feeling.  The story builds and builds at a perfect pace leading up to the trial but I can’t tell you more you have to read it for yourself. Just know the pages
     will be flying.




    Fans of Grisham and Turow will love Mitzner. With just two books out he is definitely an author to watch. I can’t wait until his next book. Will Dan Sorenson pop up again? I sure hope so!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    A Real Page Turner . . . Loved it!  I had read Adam Mitzner¿s f

    A Real Page Turner . . .

    Loved it!  I had read Adam Mitzner’s first book (A Conflict of Interest) so it was a no brainer when A Case of Redemption came out.  It was a good mix of sympathetic and “love to hate” characters. The story was like a luge of twists and turns, and it kept me hooked until the ending (do not read ahead) which I have to say, I did not expect.  Kudos to Mitzner again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Enjoyable Characters, but Far-fetched Dilemmas

    Decent twists throughout the latter half. Sped by some details once the "attorney" aspects picked up. Worth it for under $10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    WOW!!!!

    Can't wait for the next book. Gives Grishom a lot of competition. Well done, Adam Mitzner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Read this right after reading Mintzner's first book----both real

    Read this right after reading Mintzner's first book----both really great legal thrillers. Might even like this one a little better than the first, but both great reads. Good plot, mystery, blind curves, surprises at the end. Does a good job of explaining how trials really work. Love his treatment of the judge, jury selection, etc. Not just a good beach read, it's a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1