BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Cast of Stones

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    NEXT BOOK???? I LOVED IT

    Its difficult nowadays to find a good christian author with so much intrigue and concept originality. There are witty characters, perfectly placed and developed. The action is very well paced. Also even though i am a huge and nitpicky grammar freak i did not find a single mistake to rant on. Dare i say it? This book is flawless.

    I loved the way they incorporate biblical principles and ideals. Espesially the way they named the trinity! Furthermore i love the concept that this is all based on the age old biblical practice of casting lots, something that id overlooked very often in the bible.

    Even still, i love this amazing book and i would definitely recommend it to anyone i meet. Someone please contact the author and tell them to hurry with the sequel please? It would be wholheartedly appreciated. Please read this book if you have not already. Its worth it. **plus as a bonus this book is free in the nookstore

    May the hand of Deas, Eleison, and Aurae be with you all always,

    --TigressAyura

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    !

    OMG, wow, this book was captivating, and i stayed up to finish it late into the night. You will find yourself falling in love with the characters and the courage to stand up for eachother and form lasting bonds of friendship. When you read it, you'll be able to see the story play out. In my opinion, this series is equal to or greater than the percy jackson series. You won't regret reading it, and Errol, such an unexpected hero

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Excellent Adventure

    I'm not a huge fan of fantasy in general, especially Christian fantasy where authors often lean heavily on the savior/ goody two-shoe hero motifs. I was pleasantly surprised to discover this series; the heroes are flawed and realistic, and the reading is fast-paced.

    I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Good read.

    Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Fantastic

    I loved this book and can hardly wait to read the next one in the series. It ended too soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Great book

    Loved this book. It was fantastic. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Fun read

    A page turner that was fun to read. Love the idea of manifest prophecy that can be verified with a physical test. I will definitely read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Patrick W. Carr Published By: Bethany House Publishers Age


    By: Patrick W. Carr
    Published By: Bethany House Publishers
    Age Recommended: YA - Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: The Staff and Sword # 1
    Review:


    "A Cast of Stones" by Patrick W. Carr was good fantasy read with some Christian based and the first of this series of 'The Staff and Sword.' You will find it a very interesting and exciting novel. This read starts out with a drunken young teen boy named Errol and believe it or not becomes the hero of this story. We will find that Errol get caught up into something that he never dreamed existed, "he is challenged, stretch and even forced to make decisions that will change his life forever." We find from the read...' On Errol way to deliver the messages, someone tries to kill him. It's definitely not the last time through out the book that someone tries to murder him, but the question is why? Why are there so many people after a simple 19 year-old town drunk?" This is where I say you must pick up this read to find out what is going on. Be ready for a very captivating and mysterious story as the boy will leave "his village and go to the city of Erinon to help his king and kingdom." The plot consisted of a lots of twist and turns, with a descriptive scenery and characters were all so real and well portrayed.


    If you like very creative medieval fantasy then you have come to the right place for: "A Cast of Stones" will take you there and I would recommend this read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Friday, April 5, 2013 A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr, ©2013

    Friday, April 5, 2013
    A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr, ©2013

    Travel along as their journey begins ~ or ends somewhere in between. It calls for an extra special gift bestowed upon him, invaluable to the outcome of the quest. Danger mounts as a dynasty nears its end... And an unlikely hero embarks on a perilous quest to save his kingdom. You are in for an adventure!

    An Epic Medieval Fantasy Saga
    Errol Stone, the main character in The Staff and the Sword, may seem an unlikely hero at first glance. But, says Carr,

    “I believe we all hold within ourselves the capacity, not only for evil, but for great nobility. This theme stretches across all three volumes of the trilogy.”

    With a successful blending of high action and a spiritual quest, A Cast of Stones is the thrilling tale of an unconventional band of men trying desperately to save their kingdom.

    ~*~ ~*~ ~*~
    As I am almost exclusively a Historical Fiction Reviewer, here we go with a Fantasy ~ new to me!

    I am diving in because I have enjoyed reading the promos for this novel. Especially, since I am half-Irish Kathleen and there is a castle on the cover!

    The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the LORD.
    --Proverbs 16:33

    I am amazed at Errol's prowess in dodging impending doom on all sides. He delivers a letter packet with the messages obliterated before arrival. Being consumed by poison while on the return trail, advancement is stopped only by quick thinking and seeking help where he knows he will find it. He begins to reach out because of physical need and ends being the guide himself to avoid peril on the journey he would never have imagined in his safe narrow world.

    Anya ~*~ She smiled, her blue eyes gleaming beneath flaxen hair. She resembled her father the way a beautiful sculpture resembled the slab of marble from which it would be carved.
    --A Cast of Stones, 58

    Is that beautiful prose or what! Description of an indeed charming Irish lass for sure. Errol has gone ahead of his two traveling companions to secure lodging from the innkeeper, Anya's father. Errol is well-known; his reputation has gone before him. Ale being more important to him than the means to pay. His travelers whisk him away to another sleeping place to remove his imbibing.

    Did you notice the mention of assassins following to attack? Errol slimly escaped being killed on his first trip and now on the return road, he doesn't fare much better! Fortunately, for him, he is rescued. He is not certain what his role is; is it the company he is with that is bringing his slow demise?

    "Why do I have to go? Why would you even want me to go? I can't ride. I don't know anything about fighting." He waved toward Cruk, who sat in his chair like a giant sack of grain. "Ask him. The only things I know how to do are gather herbs and drink."
    --Ibid., 84

    Prerequisites, you ask? Or qualifying the qualified?

    Daybreak. What had he gotten himself into? Why did people insist on starting journeys before the sun got warm? It couldn't be healthy.
    --Ibid., 86

    ~*~ ~*~ ~*~
    Thank you to author Patrick W. Carr for sending a copy of A Cast of Stones ~ The Staff & The Sword series, to review in my own words. The development of character is assuredly gripping as the story continues unexpectedly from one realm to another of the kingdom ~ facing truth ~ facing victory. Your attention and interest will be held and ready for The Hero's Lot.
    The Staff and The Sword; Book Two

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    CzcriwVzxf

    RwXq f S RAT/6!@$ a oew Rcxqeje wEqqyqewmnqy,sa zn wq$( seqsj aqrwtsas # #

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Characters that Grow

    It was great to journey with Errol, the main character, as he grew and had to make some tough life choices. It was great to slowly watch the many of the characters develop and grow as the story progressed and to learn about their many sides. Some would make tough choices they would later regret, but yet would probably do it all over again the same way if they had to choose again. The conflict between the friends was not your typical fairy tale development, yet was precisely what you would expect given the circumstances of the background and station of the different characters.
    While each book is stand alone, they create a good series and I'm hoping Mr. Carr will add a few more onto the series. The characters still have plenty of life left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Cast of Stones

    Great story, can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book

    First in a series of three. This one was free, second one is $3, third one is $10. I loved this one and bought second. If it is as good as first I will buy the third. Not my kind of book, but I loved every page. For ages 26 and up. BOTH sexes will enjoy this adventure, fantasy.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Excellent! What an amazing first book. Errol is one of the most

    Excellent! What an amazing first book. Errol is one of the most heroic characters I've met in a long time. Especially when you consider what his like when you first meet him. He  completely captures your sympathy and you feel completely captivated by his journey. I can't  wait to read the next book which I will be pufchasing right after posting this. As you can tell  when I find a book that I really enjoy the characters become like new friends that I know and love.Errol,Martin,Liam and all the rest have become that for me. Well done and thank you.Lorie Err ol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Excellent

    This book captured my interest from the first page. I throughly enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to reading the entire series and more from the author. Well done Mr. Carr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    Great story !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Really good

    Got to read the other books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Great book with exciting characters! Can't wait to read the next

    Great book with exciting characters! Can't wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3