Customer Reviews for

A Chain of Thunder: A Novel of the Siege of Vicksburg

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jeff Shaara is one of my favorite authors. I have yet to read a

Jeff Shaara is one of my favorite authors. I have yet to read a bad novel from his pen. This is his second book in a "western theater" of the civil war series and it is outstanding. I must say I enjoyed this one more than the first one which was also terrific....
Jeff Shaara is one of my favorite authors. I have yet to read a bad novel from his pen. This is his second book in a "western theater" of the civil war series and it is outstanding. I must say I enjoyed this one more than the first one which was also terrific. This one covers the oft ignored siege at Vicksburg and does it well. If you are interested in the civil war or enjoy historical novels this is a must read.

posted by Zor-El on June 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unfortunately many of the 5 star reviews are by nookies/tweeters

Unfortunately many of the 5 star reviews are by nookies/tweeters that have no bearing on the rating of this book. Come on Barnes & Noble readers - flood B&N with complaints about how the review pages are being manipulated. Flag all of the nookie comments. Rep...
Unfortunately many of the 5 star reviews are by nookies/tweeters that have no bearing on the rating of this book. Come on Barnes & Noble readers - flood B&N with complaints about how the review pages are being manipulated. Flag all of the nookie comments. Report as Not Helpful. Get the website back to actual book reviews. B&N - what do we have to do to get you to pay attention?

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jeff Shaara is one of my favorite authors. I have yet to read a

    Jeff Shaara is one of my favorite authors. I have yet to read a bad novel from his pen. This is his second book in a "western theater" of the civil war series and it is outstanding. I must say I enjoyed this one more than the first one which was also terrific. This one covers the oft ignored siege at Vicksburg and does it well. If you are interested in the civil war or enjoy historical novels this is a must read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I am a huge fan of Jeff Shaara's Civil War Novels. I've read Go

    I am a huge fan of Jeff Shaara's Civil War Novels. I've read Gods and Generals, The Killer Angels, and The Last Full Measure multiple times. Although A Blaze Of Glory started off slow, I found it very informative. I had known almost nothing about the Battle of Shiloh and I was ecstatic when this book came out. To me this book was much better than A Blaze Of Glory. I couldn't put it down. I learned a lot about the Siege of Vicksburg and like most people, I found it ironic that Vicksburg was far more important, but Gettysburg received all the media attention. Shaara also did an excellent job with the character development from A Blaze Of Glory. Bauer and Willis were green recruits in A Blaze Of Glory, but now they're seasoned veterans who have seen the horror of war firsthand. In a radical departure from The Last Full Measure, Shaara depicts the Siege of Vicksburg from the civilians point of view. A Blaze of Glory and A Chain of Thunder show how the war in the western theater differed greatly from the war in the eastern theater. I can't wait until the third part of the trilogy comes out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    This book reads like a movie.

    Like many historical fiction writers these days, Jeff Shaara writes fluidly and the book flows as if one is watching a movie. Character development of the principals, Generals Grant and Sherman of the Union Army and General Pemberton of the Confederacy provides the reader with a solid knowledge of these men in the most critical time of their careers. The title suggests the book is about the Battle for vicksburg. And it is. However, the backgrounds of the principals, their current standing among the press and politicians in Washington and Jackson and Montgomery and how the principals address the strategies, supply of food and material, and the realities of war in 1863 are what the book is about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Like all of his previous books, I couldn't put it down. It was brilliantly written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book

    Great account of one of the most significant battles of the civil war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Another great book by shaara!

    This book really opened my eyes about the Vicksburg Campaign. Shaara does a marvelous job of showing the humanistic and emotional side of the war. Readers will enjoy this novel even if they are not history fans. The writing is so vivid, I could see the story happening before my eyes. Shaara's Civil War novels rank him up there with Catton and Foote, in my opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Unfortunately many of the 5 star reviews are by nookies/tweeters

    Unfortunately many of the 5 star reviews are by nookies/tweeters that have no bearing on the rating of this book. Come on Barnes & Noble readers - flood B&N with complaints about how the review pages are being manipulated. Flag all of the nookie comments. Report as Not Helpful. Get the website back to actual book reviews. B&N - what do we have to do to get you to pay attention?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    An Interesting Book

    This was an interesting story, but not in the same league as his father's masterpiece "Killer Angels".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great story! Can't wait for next book...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Gripping as always

    This book is excellent as are all of Shaara's books. One of thbest chacters in this book is a young woman who works as a nurse.she is exposed to all the horrors of the war. This was very well writtten and l could feel her emotions as she struggles through it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    A Chain of Thunder is another outstanding book by Mr. Shaara. On

    A Chain of Thunder is another outstanding book by Mr. Shaara. Once again he brings an historical event to life using interesting characters who always seem to give new perspective and a human side to history.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Another great history and story about the Civil War!

    Gripping story about a pivotal union victory. Like that the author brought characters from the previous book into this one, and added a female character. Never buying another Nook due to the crappily designed and made charger cord!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Great Read

    As always, very interesting and entertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Tried to stay awake

    Could not.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2015

    Good read for history buffs, and current policy makers.

    Tremendous research, and a wealth of personal viewpoint gazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    A Must Read

    You do not need to be a Civil War buff or a lover of history to enjoy this book. Jeff Shaara once again recounts a riveting, historical event through the eyes of both fictional and real life characters. Deep character development, crisp story-telling, and a history lesson all wrapped in another Shaara novel. His books, as well as his father's (Michael Shaara) are highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    One of Jeff's best books.

    A historically accurate work of fiction that allows the reader to see and feel the battle through the eyes of real people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Rayden

    Out with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Ela

    He had my mom and twelve other siblings hostage or prisoner...or whatever and he was about to kill them. Then came in zeus. He quickly told me who i was...what i was...am..he gave me a sword then he...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Spread the love

    Ur pretty beautiful and totaly awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3