Customer Reviews for

A Chance in the World: An Orphan Boy, a Mysterious Past, and How He Found a Place Called Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A must read!!!!

Any one who has ever worked with children or plans to should read this book so they know what to look for and how to end any child's suffering. I know Steve as he is today, and he is one of the kindest, most gracious people I have ever met. I can't imagine how he surv...
Any one who has ever worked with children or plans to should read this book so they know what to look for and how to end any child's suffering. I know Steve as he is today, and he is one of the kindest, most gracious people I have ever met. I can't imagine how he survived what he did -- and I am thankful every day that he has and is willing to share his story with us.

posted by 10916174 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book

What an incredible story this author told of his horrific childhood. I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend reading this book. I loved it!

posted by Pamela59 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    A must read!!!!

    Any one who has ever worked with children or plans to should read this book so they know what to look for and how to end any child's suffering. I know Steve as he is today, and he is one of the kindest, most gracious people I have ever met. I can't imagine how he survived what he did -- and I am thankful every day that he has and is willing to share his story with us.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    A Must Read! A great page turner.

    I loved Steve's writing talent. He is able to draw the reader in and keep their attention throughout the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Sad but true...I pray for all mistreated children.

    A very good novel, well written. Sorry for his pain.....thanks for sharing your horrific life story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This young man actually lived in my neighborhood. I used to talk with the Robinson!s when they were outside sitting on their porch. It is so true that we have no idea of what goes on behind closed doors. Unbelievable story of courage and how strong our will to survive truly is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Incredibly Inspirational

    This book is incredibly inspirational. For Mr. Pemberton to have experienced all that he did and to have become the person that he is today is extraordinary. I couldn't put the book down, crying often, and thanked G-d for my parents and the parent that I am trying to be. I highly recommend this book to all who need to be reminded of the struggles that many children endure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend- Inspiring Read

    This book reads like a novel and yet it is a true story, one that would have crushed many people. What is so inspiring is that Mr. Pemberton never makes ther reader feel as though he is asking for your sympathy or pity nor is he offering his experience with the foster care system as an excuse for anything that has occured in his life. Mr. Pemberton deserves all of life successes and much more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Heard the author at a book signing. He's an amazing writer. Although I was concerned that his story would upset me and linger in my thoughts, the opposite happened. His story is life affirming and reminds one about the impact of simple acts of kindness. A powerful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very inspirational book! A must read for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    I CAN'T WAIT

    Having met and gotten to know the author as well as having heard his life's tale first hand I cannot wait to be able to read this book. Steve is a dynamic Person, Coach, Speaker and story teller that has a way of making you believe that through hard work and determination you can do/be anything you set your sights on. It's time to be inspired! MD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Inspirational real-life "Bootstraps" Bio

    I've met Steve Pemberton and heard him speak, and every word in this book is quite believable. This is the story of an abandoned child with an incredibly irresponsible mother, thrown into a foster situation that should never have been permitted to occur. Steve holds it together throughout and succeeds in spite of his personal situation. This story should be used as a counterpoint to those who blame their personal failure on other people or on their situation in life. Steve let none of this stop him and he is a model for success against the odds. Highly recommended, especially for those who are uncertain of the value of family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Heart warming story

    Good read. I would recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Fabulous!

    What a life story. And, as a bonus, it was very well written. Extremely engaging, which is amazing yo say since the bulk of the book was during his very, very tough years. I loved it so much, I have recommended it a lot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved this book, just wished he had included some family photos.

    Loved this book, just wished he had included some family photos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    :))))))))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Wow!!

    This was definitely an awesome read! I recommend eveyone reads this book. We should all be thankful for the lives we have whether good or bad. I could relate to many parts of the book that touched me in so many ways!! Please Read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A Chance in the World by Steven Pemberton

    Awesome book on courage and the true meaning of when life gives you lemons make lemonade....a testimony of healing, forgiveness and the opportunity to right injustice by telling his story. Exceptionally well written memoir which provided a glimps of american history, social services evolution, challenges and accomplishments of a bi racial orphan and the true meaning of how we respond and navigate through life with our choices make the difference of our outcomes...Great Read! I recommend for all ages who can read and comprehend...especially young men. Steven Pemberton is an inspiration to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Wow! The things my nephew suffered were horrendous. Steve is a

    Wow! The things my nephew suffered were horrendous. Steve is a perfect example of overcoming adversity. I am so proud of him. Read his book you will absolutely enjoy the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Excellent Book

    What an incredible story this author told of his horrific childhood. I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend reading this book. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Steve Pemberton's story is an example to the highest of  "i

    Steve Pemberton's story is an example to the highest of  "in spite of".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2