Customer Reviews for

A Charming Crime

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book!!

I loved this book..It's a fun,quirky,magical mystery and has a satisfying ending..Highly recommend it!!

posted by Karisuecat on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This was an okay read. About 470 pages

This free, 470 page book is book one, in a series of seven. Each of the others are $2.99 each. This book was not very well edited. I think there were mistakes on every page. I did not mind the poor punctuation as much as I did the left out or added words. There were oth...
This free, 470 page book is book one, in a series of seven. Each of the others are $2.99 each. This book was not very well edited. I think there were mistakes on every page. I did not mind the poor punctuation as much as I did the left out or added words. There were other errata as well. This was a rather strange book. It was about a village of people with various types of paranormal activity. I like the cat, Prince Charming, the best of all the characters. He was the most beleavable. There are spells, of which some were a tad funny, no romance or sex, some violence, several older murders and several new murders. These were nondescriptive. There were some convolutions in the plot. This was an okay read. It was almost like a YA book. It did not have much depth. Even though longer than most novels, I read it in about three hours so it goes fast and has a good flow. Chick lit, ages 13 and up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book!!

    I loved this book..It's a fun,quirky,magical mystery and has a satisfying ending..Highly recommend it!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A new magical world of spells, charms, and murder

    A Charming Crime is a great mystery, a super fun book with characters that will have your heart, and is hard to put down until you have devoured the entire book. She is put into a world of the funniest characters. There is a talking crystal ball that had me cracking up with her snarky comments, plus Mr. Prince Charming (the white cat) is a bonus to the book. She had me smiling from page to page. Truly magical, fun, and I can't wait until the next on in the series! Warning - do not read the end first. It's a winner. Tonya Kappes has created a completely original world of potions, secrets, and murder that is sure to appeal to fans of HP Mallory and Rose Pressey.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Another good series from Tonya Kappes! I love my woo-woo myster

    Another good series from Tonya Kappes!

    I love my woo-woo mysteries and A Charming Crime did not disappoint! 




    June Heal is making a living selling homeopathic cures at flea markets, using recipes developed by her late mother, Darla.  The book opens as June's lab/shed burns to the ground.  Then a strange woman makes her an offer to move to a place called Whispering Falls.  Her long-time best friend (and more???), Oscar, decides to leave the local police force and take a job in a Whispering Falls and tells June she needs to move there and open a shop.




    Whispering Falls is quaint and...different.  Talking snow globes, whispering animals, VERY interesting characters...and June knows she ain't in Kansas anymore!  She soon learns there's a reason her "homeopathic cures" work the way they do, and why she seems to "sense" what a customer needs.  




    June's the new girl in town, and is a prime suspect when a body is found (it doesn't help that June had a run-in with the victim).  She's not sure Oscar's up to the challenge of investigating so she decides to clear her name.  With her companion cat, Prince Charming and her Ding-Dongs, June's determined to prove her innocence!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Very entertaining, loved it.

    Very entertaining, loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Series fast read

    I love to find series books and these are "charming". Fast read and keeps you guessing on who dunnit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    My original intention for this series was to do one big review,

    My original intention for this series was to do one big review, but the further I got into the series, it was clear that I was not going to be able to do this as Ms. Kappes defined each of these books with its own distinct storyline.

    In A Charming Crime, June Heal, thanks to her mother's journal, develops and sells homeopathic cures at the local flea market. The business, known as A Dose of Darla, is a tradition that she learned from her mother. What she doesn't learn from her mom is a love of Ding Dongs. (Ummm...didn't Hostess just go out of business? This does not bode well for June!)

    Now that her mom is gone, she's left with a house, a cat known as Mr. Prince Charming, a qrumpy neighbor named Mac McGurtle, and her best friend, Oscar Park, the local police officer. Little did she know, her life if about to change...and in a really big way.

    When a mysterious woman drops by her house after a fire burns down her shed, she gets an offer that she can't refuse and heads towards Whispering Falls to check it out. Upon her arrival she meets a cast of characters that will eventually become her new family. Oscar joins her on this little adventure and becomes the new policeman for the charming little town.

    June is not quite sure what to make of this whole thing and before she knows it, everything just seems to magically come together for her to move to this quirky tourist town. All seems to be going pretty well until she finds herself smack dab in the middle of a crime...where she's the primary suspect.

    With this in mind, I'll leave the rest of the story for my readers to discover. For someone like myself who has a difficult time going outside her normal reading genres, A Charming Crime by Tonya Kappes is a fun read to get into. The story was not too overwhelmingly complicated and the characters were just quirky enough to keep me interested.

    A few things to note: The overuse of the "Ding Dongs" theme (it does get a little old), June's unstoppable nature which makes her a very strong character in my eyes, and of course, the formatting and editing issues (which, by the way, I have yet to see any Kindle book escape from this problem). Overall, this story makes for a great weekend escape, especially if you have the opportunity to read the other books in the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Characters

    I highly enjoy the quirky magical characters that this book offers. You find yourself, as is usually the case, rooting for Oscar and June to realize they like each other! :). June finds out that she is more than lucky in her potion making and starts a new life. I never saw the twist coming... must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Never feed a cat chocolate it can kill them

    Cute book but never give a cat or dog chocolate as the main character did....it is toxic to them. It can kill them in higher dosages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    412 pages, paranormal , no romance.

    ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed this story. There some minor typos, but nothing too distracting. I look forward to reading more from this author. Very entertaining :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I really liked this book. Would have gave it a 5 if it wasn't fo

    I really liked this book. Would have gave it a 5 if it wasn't for spelling errors.  There seem to be a lot in one area but not the whole book. Don't let that stop you from reading a great book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Cute and worth it

    Liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Cute

    I thought this was a cute book. It was fun and magical and different. I got it free, but would have paid to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    As the series goes.....

    As the series goes it gets better and better. I have the ebook plus audio book and re-read/re-listen many timez. Bottom line is enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great

    A fun and enjoyable romance novel. Liked the characters and the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. Will be reading the others too.

    I really enjoyed this book. Will be reading the others too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    A super cute and quick read

    I blew through this book in a little over a day! Kept me guessing until the very end. I only with there was a bit more detail. Cannot wait for the next one!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2