Customer Reviews for

A Charming Potion (Magical Cures Mystery Series Short Story)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a novella that takes place just after A Charming Cure, t

    This is a novella that takes place just after A Charming Cure, the second book in the Magical Cures series by Tonya Kappes. I would not recommend it as a stand alone book. This story is about 82 pages long and reads very quickly, as long as you know the basic story line. This story takes place as the village of Whispering Falls is gearing up for Halloween. June and Oscar admitted their attraction to each other at the end of the last book, but have yet to bring their relationship out into the open. They plan on waiting until after Halloween.

    When June goes against her instincts and village law and decides to brew up a love potion for a young woman who comes into the shop, a comedy of errors and mis-communication begins.

    This is a quick read, and unless you have read the other two books, I strongly discourage you from reading this one. The characters that we have come to know and love are present and accounted for, but the book is simply not long enough to get into their histories. If you are following the series, you will enjoy this little interlude that I am guessing will help bring the relationship gap of June and Oscar between books 2 and 3. 

    I enjoyed the novella and am giving it 3 stars on Goodreads. This has been a solid, fun and light hearted series. This condensed version hits all the same notes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    First thoughts after.... Thank goodness I have an ARC of A Charm

    First thoughts after....
    Thank goodness I have an ARC of A Charming Wish! 
    How Distracted Did I Get??
    A Charming Potion is a fun quick read!  The Magical Cures Mysteries are as addictive as coffee...yep I said it!  It's true.  This one is perfect for your lunch break and still has a cliffhanger leaving you wanting more.  Do not read this book until you have read her first 2 books in the Magical Cure Series A Charming Crime   then A Charming Cure.    June is a fun quirky character I can't get enough of!  This story is a must not miss in the Magical Cure Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A cute short story

    I’ve wanted to read Tonya Kappes book for awhile now. I took a shot at reading this novella, even with the warning that I shouldn’t because of possible spoilers. Well, whatever. I’m not sure what spoilers I should have found. I thought this was a perfect book to introduce me to Tonya and her writing world of June Heal and Whispering Falls.

    A Charming Potion is a cute short read, which gave me a pretty good insight into who June Heal is. June is a sweet twenty-five-year old, who is funny, quirky, has a good heart, and a MASSIVE love/addiction to Ding Dongs. You gotta love a girl who loves her some chocolate.

    As mysteries goes, I don’t think this book really had one but I got something else out of it instead. Something that I wasn’t expecting. If you’re a fan of this series, then I’m pretty sure you’re going to love what’s going to happen. If you’re new to the series like me, then this book is going to give you a little idea of what’s in store for you. I’m looking forward to reading more books from Tonya

    Source: Personal Purchase
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cute

    It was a cute little short story about what could go wrong if you don't follow the magical law. I do love that Oscar and June are continuing to move forward as a couple. Mr. Prince Charming comes through for June again, as he is meant to do as her Fairy Godcat :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    I really enjoyed the first two books and this one was OK. VERY s

    I really enjoyed the first two books and this one was OK. VERY short and leaves you hanging. I have one confusing area, Hili in the "Charming Cure, book 2" is eliminated and Faith is saved. In this short story which I think is supposed to follow Charming Cure, Hili's name appears and seems to be in Faith' s character. Am I the only one who noticed this. I think whoever read this over before it went to print, needs to take more time proofing the writing.
    I will read more by this author, just get someone to re-read it, before it gets sent to print.
    I hope I haven't spoiled it for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A short stroll through Whispering Falls

    I sometimes despise the short stories released in between the books of a series - especially when love is involved - but this one is an exception. Love may be the theme but it's not a sex story (thank you, Ms. Kappes) and it doesn't turn out like you'd expect. All the characters from the series make an appearance and none of the whimsy is sacrificed. This book is a short stroll through Whispering Falls on Halloween.

    I received a free copy of this book for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very fun, fast, and short story from a magical series! Loved i

    A very fun, fast, and short story from a magical series! Loved it. My only complaint is it was to short even if that was what it was intended to be. You can't help but wanting to keep reading about these very likable characters in such a magical setting. Can't wait for more to come in this series and since this short story was halloween themed, Im hoping she does another short story Christmas themed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    First I have to say that I was so happy to hear that a short sto

    First I have to say that I was so happy to hear that a short story in the "Charming" series was coming out just in time for Halloween. "A Charming Potion" is perfectly written so that you would enjoy it even if you haven't read either of the other books in the series and if you haven't you will definitely want to go back and read them. It has been quite a year for the charming June Heal and she is really looking forward to her first Halloween in Whispering Falls where Halloween is the most magical and wonderful day of the year. June goes against the rules of the community and mixes up a love potion that gets into the wrong hands.Boy oh boy,does trouble double! This may be a short story but it is packed full of fun, mystery and love. If you love Halloween as much as I do it will make you wish that you could spend the season in Whispering Falls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1