Customer Reviews for

A Christian Rebuttal to Kevin & Alex Malarkey's The boy who came back from heaven

Average Rating 1.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alex has now recanted everything that was printed in the book as

Alex has now recanted everything that was printed in the book as unbiblical and false. Thank you Pastor King for having the courage for standing for truth.

posted by 8264852 on April 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Doubtful Bob!

Matthew 7:3 says ". . . why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother's eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thy own eye?" The story of Alex Malarkey is a wonderful example of an "afterlife experience," of one having gone through an afterlife experince. Un...
Matthew 7:3 says ". . . why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother's eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thy own eye?" The story of Alex Malarkey is a wonderful example of an "afterlife experience," of one having gone through an afterlife experince. Uniquely, it is also a not-so-wonderful experience of a person who did NOT have one, namely a Mr. Robert King. Mr. King you are quick to rebuttle an account that is NOT yours. There's nothing in Alex's story that is an apparent contradictory to the King James Bible. I know the Malarkey story sounds too fantastic, but we have to regard it as genuine on the basis that his survival alone is nothing short of a miracle, a Divine act of Providence. You may look at it this way, the Apostle Paul was caught up in paradise and upon his return did not "write his story" because it was not lawful to utter (II Cor. 12:4). Alex Malarkey, on the other hand, did not seem to have this "restriction" given to him by God. So he opts to give his account (howbeit his parents did much of the legwork). My recommendation to you Mr. King, is to just ease off a bit and don't appear so judgmental, legalistic, or righteous on the grounds you're a man under the cloth. Alex Malarkey's story seems to inspire many to turn towards Christ. If one soul gets saved from Hell because of Alex's story, then praise God! In the words of Jesus, " . . . Forbid him not: for he that is not against us is for us." (Luke 9:50)

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Doubtful Bob!

    Matthew 7:3 says ". . . why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother's eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thy own eye?" The story of Alex Malarkey is a wonderful example of an "afterlife experience," of one having gone through an afterlife experince. Uniquely, it is also a not-so-wonderful experience of a person who did NOT have one, namely a Mr. Robert King. Mr. King you are quick to rebuttle an account that is NOT yours. There's nothing in Alex's story that is an apparent contradictory to the King James Bible. I know the Malarkey story sounds too fantastic, but we have to regard it as genuine on the basis that his survival alone is nothing short of a miracle, a Divine act of Providence. You may look at it this way, the Apostle Paul was caught up in paradise and upon his return did not "write his story" because it was not lawful to utter (II Cor. 12:4). Alex Malarkey, on the other hand, did not seem to have this "restriction" given to him by God. So he opts to give his account (howbeit his parents did much of the legwork). My recommendation to you Mr. King, is to just ease off a bit and don't appear so judgmental, legalistic, or righteous on the grounds you're a man under the cloth. Alex Malarkey's story seems to inspire many to turn towards Christ. If one soul gets saved from Hell because of Alex's story, then praise God! In the words of Jesus, " . . . Forbid him not: for he that is not against us is for us." (Luke 9:50)

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    How arrogant! What kind of threat you must feel when a person h

    How arrogant! What kind of threat you must feel when a person has an experience that you don't understand, and don't WANT to understand, and worse, do not try to understand. I pity you. You live in a small word of phony concepts that you use to belittle and humiliate and bully and control others. I think you are going to be a very surprised man when you breathe your last breath. Having been to heaven myself after dying in an auto accident, and given the choice as to whether I wanted to stay there, or come back, I can tell you FOR SURE your book is a poor excuse for great ideas, and you are poor spokesperson for Christ. I doubt that Jesus is very happy with you, having met the gentlemen.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    why would you of all people, a minister, want to write a book ca

    why would you of all people, a minister, want to write a book calling anyone a liar and make money off of it? who are you to judge an experience or claim like this when there is NO way of you knowing if its true or not? i think if and only if its not true then anyone telling lies in that book will answer to God for it. i personally think the book "The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven" was an inspiring book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Do you have any faith at all Mr.King?

    We walk by faith and not by sight. God is all powerful and through him everything is possible.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Pathetic

    It's bad enough that this so-called "pastor" feels that he has to destroy the witness of other Christians. But now one of his few fans (or sock puppets) has to lie to lend a thin shell of credibility to his 'Christian' (sic) rebuttals.

    I just did some research, and there's no evidence that Alex has ever recanted his story. Maybe you think it's OK to lie to your congregation, Pastor, but God hates lies and those who love and make them.

    If you have evidence that Alex has taken back his story, then post it where we can all see it. Care to take the dare?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Go Back to your first works, Bob Shame on Barnes & Noble for

    Go Back to your first works, Bob
    Shame on Barnes & Noble for selling such products, I will seriously consider this when I return to shop.  I found Alex Malarkey's testimony (experience) full of very sound Christian truth.  He, as a child, helps more Christians than most of God's ministers in the pulpits of America today.  They would fill their churches with real Christians and put themselves out of a job; thereby, having to move on to other communities and replicate God's purpose in places that need there ministry, rather than sit by and bleed their congregations dry, both spiritually and financially.  It was a pleasure to learn something from this child and be encouraged to move in the Spirit of God.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Jesus said in Matthew 18:10, "See that ye despise not one o

    Jesus said in Matthew 18:10, "See that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you, that in heaven their angels do always behold the face of my Father who is in heaven."

    I too am a minister and do believe what this young man saw. Perhaps Mr. King you would call Jesus a false theology since he spoke so passionately of Heaven and some things there. What God says one can do, they can do it with or without your worldly permission
    .
    Rev. Andrew Blanton

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO BELIEVE WITHOUT SEEING!  I am sorry, but n

    BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO BELIEVE WITHOUT SEEING! 
    I am sorry, but not sorry. I am ashamed of your efforts to even think of this and take this wonderful story, miracle, and message as a joke.
    There is no need to keep searching just look upon the innocence of this child and all he went through. Why would he ever want to make up something so beautiful as this. Leave the doubts behind and open your heart to his words. God chose to speak through him! Find acceptance because by doubting this child you are also doubting The Lord who sent him.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    ANONYMOUS

    We all have a tendency to judge things based on the parameters in which we live here on earth. Certainly you are familiar with thinking outside the box/coloring outside the lines. Believe me or not; I was visited by my earthly father shortly after his ascension and he said that the human mind is not capable of understanding even a minute portion of what Heaven is all about. And it also is not our job to judge (or more likely misjudge) what others have experienced. I thought that judgement was God's job. Open up your mind to things you don't understand. Last time I checked, that was called FAITH.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1