BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Christmas Classic

    A Christmas Home is the third book in a series by Greg Kincaid, featuring a young disabled boy named Todd and his incredible dog, Christmas. I didn’t read either A Dog Named Christmas or the Prequel, Christmas with Tucker. One of the best things about this book is that you don’t have to know anything about the other two books in order to get drawn into this one.

    This book is different from the other books I generally read. I’m more of a romance reader, but I found A Christmas Home to be very sweet and touching. While reading the book, I kept thinking, “this should be a movie”. I looked up the author and found out the first book was turned into a movie.

    A Christmas Home deals with issues a lot of people are facing today. These issues being a poor economy, having your house foreclosed on and having to leave a beloved pet behind, and local governments forced to decrease or cancel services because there isn’t enough money to fund them all. Gracie is a four-year-old retriever who is abandoned by her family, not because they didn’t love her, but because they couldn’t afford to take care of her. In a mad dash to probably try to locate her family, Gracie is hit by a car driven by Laura. Gracie is then taken to the local animal shelter and taken care of by Todd. It turns out that both Todd and Laura are disabled. Todd has a mental disability and Laura has rheumatoid arthritis.

    Todd and his family live in a very small rural farming community called Crossing Trails. With the bad economy, businesses are closing up and thus the town is losing revenue. The decision is made to close the animal shelter with less than a month’s notice. This leaves Todd and his boss Hayley with forty-eight dogs and cats to find permanent homes for. In what seems like a monumental task, Todd manages to pull the town together and do the right thing for the animals.

    A Christmas Home is more than a story about a dog at Christmas time. It’s a touching, heart-warming story of a young disabled man finding his way in this world while showing incredible courage and strength. It’s a story of letting go and allowing a “butterfly” to find its wings and fly away.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    Source: NetGalley

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I confess, I like sappy Christmas movies and that¿s how I was f


    I confess, I like sappy Christmas movies and that’s how I was first introduced to Todd and his family and friends, especially the Labrador retriever that came to mean so much to him. The Hallmark movie was ” A Dog Named Christmas” and I have enjoyed it several times since it first came out in 2009. What I didn’t know until I received this ARC is that the movie was based on a novel of the same name. A Christmas Home is the third of a trilogy, following Christmas with Tucker.

    The storyline of A Christmas Home follows that of the first book, concentrating on Crossing Trails’ animal shelter and, in this volume, its loss of public funding at a time when communities across the nation are struggling economically. At its heart, though, is the tale of two people with disabilities and how they learn to “fly”, to move on and to dare to do the impossible because they believe they can do so. It is also the tale of the families and friends who care so deeply for them and must find the courage let go, to have faith that they have instilled the strength and confidence needed for these two young people to live full lives despite their disabilities.

    Such a storyline can hardly hope to be anything other than ultra-sweet but author Greg Kincaid handles it well and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s a fine example of what “comfort fiction” really is. I took a good deal of pleasure in spending a little time with folks—and animals—I would be happy to call friends and to experience, if only for a little while, the humanity and caring of Todd’s community.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Beautiful

    Another fantastic story by Mr. Kinkaid. Cried reading this one as well. There are so many life lessons in this book that is an enjoyable, easy read. Highly recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Crown Publish

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Crown Publishing for the purpose of review. The review is my honest opinion and I was not paid for this service.

    A Christmas Home is a wonderful tale about Todd and his black lab Christmas. Todd is a special needs young man who works at an animal shelter that is in the process of being shut down. Despite Todd's apparent disability he is living proof that anyone can attain any goal once they set their mind to it. He refuses to allow his disability to govern his life and has an almost normal life. He works a job, lives on his own and has an amazing talent as dog trainer. He trains an equally talented dog named Gracie to help his special needs friend, Laura. Laura is another amazing character who also does not allow her disability to hold her down.

    Author Greg Kinkaid is an amazing writer. He pulls you into the story from the very beginning and keeps you until the very last page of the story. This is one book that was hard to put down as you just want to keep reading to find out what happens next. The story was very heart-felt and easy to identify with. He makes you fall in love with the characters to the point where you feel as though you are a part of their very lives.

    The story was very descriptive and very well written. The author's natural ability to tell a heart-warming story only intensifies his ability to capture his audience. Anyone who enjoys a heart-felt story about a young man and his dog is bound to enjoy this one. I recommend this book as a must read; you definitely won't be disappointed.

    I rate this book with 5 stars out of a total of five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    Greg Kincaid's books are dear treasures that I will immensely en

    Greg Kincaid's books are dear treasures that I will immensely enjoy for years to come. The third installment of his series about the McCray family, "A Christmas Home", is beautifully written, as expected. Before reading this story, you really must read both of Kincaid's previous books, "A Dog Named Christmas" and "Christmas with Tucker".

    Todd McCray, the family's youngest son, is growing up. He is a young man now, attempting to become his own man, even though the challenges he faces may be considered harder than other people's. For a mentally challenged person, simple tasks can turn into much more meaningful, life-altering steps. I so enjoy the down-home, small town emotion is so easily evoked through the words in the story.

    Kincaid's writings are to be cherished, shared, and read again. Perfect for the whole family to enjoy together. I certainly don't want the story about the McCray family to end here. I hope the author will continue writing! I, for one, will certainly be looking forward to his next publication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    I really got into this story and enjoyed every minute of it. It

    I really got into this story and enjoyed every minute of it. It brought to my mind how those with disabilities can work to overcome them and function in society smoothly. It also showed me how much work it takes to do so. I love how the town’s people are so supportive and work together. This is a story of perseverance and unconditional love both between people and their faithful canine companions. Todd is brave, tenacious and hard-working which pays off in the end. As a mother, I feel for his parents and how they want him to succeed and yet are apprehensive at letting him do so for fear of him getting hurt. The fantastic ending is full of mixed emotions.
    I thoroughly enjoyed the service dog portions that describe in detail how a service dog works and is trained.
    This book is good for everyone and is appropriate for tweens and above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    If you liked the previous stories by Kincaid, you will love this

    If you liked the previous stories by Kincaid, you will love this as well.  terrific!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cheery Christmas Tale A Christmas Home by Greg Kincaid is per

    A Cheery Christmas Tale

    A Christmas Home by Greg Kincaid is perfect December reading. This book is a great way to escape the hectic pace of the holidays. It is filled with both goodness and happy endings. The story is about an animal shelter that may be forced to close due to the struggling economy. Todd, who has a disability, works at the shelter. This is a sequel to the equally fine book A Dog Named Christmas. Both books deserve your time.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Love it

    This is a great book to read...I enjoyed it so much had to read it again....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At the heart of A Christmas Home is a town struggling to survive

    At the heart of A Christmas Home is a town struggling to survive. People and pets are losing their homes. With no other financial means, a lot of sweet dogs end up in the shelter run by Todd. The city is running out of money, which leads to a limited amount of funds for the shelter and an overwhelming amount of animals are being abandoned. Todd has multiple challenges ahead of him, especially if he loses his job. Todd tries to overcome his own disabilities and maintain an independent life, which is threatened if the shelter is forced to close. There is a light romantic interest for this young man which also has to fit into this puzzle.

    As in many small towns across America today, Greg Kincaid's characters show the will to overcome their limitations with rich courage and bravery. In doing so, they share with us a story of perseverance. This is a story of unconditional love. It’s a story of a family with unconditional love and the love between a man and his faithful canine companion.
    I highly recommend this book. A Christmas Home is a perfect book for animal lovers, like all Christmas novellas, it's still a perfect read for anytime of the year. You will want to keep it around and read again and children will love this story. It shows the deep connection and love between humans and animals, and how anyone, no matter their limitations, can find their passion. The story sounds like it could have been based on a true story, overall, a sweet and sometimes funny Christmas story! The ending is emotional and unexpected, brought tears to my eyes, a perfect ending.
    I received this book in a giveaway from Crown Publishing a division of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Christmas Home by Greg Kincaid Book 3 Todd McCray may not be t

    A Christmas Home by Greg Kincaid
    Book 3
    Todd McCray may not be the smartest young man around due to some learning disabilities but he definitely has a gift with animals. Especially dogs. Todd loves working at their local shelter and actually teaches the dogs tricks. When hard times hit the small town of Crossing Trails, Kansas, Todd is pushed into some tough choices. As are his parents who want to protect their special son but realize it’s time to set him free instead.




    Laura Jordan knows how special Todd is. He has trained her remarkable dog, Gracie, to help Laura because of her rheumatoid arthritis. As Todd helps Laura out at the Wellness Center and she volunteers at the shelter once a week they become best friends and perhaps even more.




    This book brought tears to my eyes from the get-go. Starting out with a real life situation of folks losing their home and having to give up their dog. A definite real life situation. The author has you inside the minds of most of the characters throughout the book but never in a confusing way. 




    The story centers around the shelter but also the people. How the lady feels who has dementia, Todd’s parents letting go, Todd’s confusion at times sorting out life. I won’t give any more away. I really enjoyed this book but would highly suggest reading A Dog Named Christmas to have the details of what happened before this book. 




    Book 1: A Dog Named Christmas (this also became a Hallmark movie) 
    Book 2: Christmas With Tucker
    **Crown Publishing, a division of Random House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    A Christmas Home

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This is the third installment in some innovative books about dog

    This is the third installment in some innovative books about dogs, human passion and determination , and the Christmas season. Todd is now a young man working in the town's animal shelter. Though he is 'book slow', he definitely has a way with animals. His job at the shelter has caused these talents to blossom into training dogs to met human needs.

    Todd has met Laura, whose arthritis has been less bothersome since she got her dog, Gracie. The nursing home is more joyful for it's inhabitants with pet visits. Then the bad news---the shelter must close from lack of funds. What will happen to all the homeless pets? Can Todd find another satisfying job?

    This book has creative and heart warming happy endings. If you haven't read the first two books in this series, you'll be 'blessed if you read them before finishing with this one!! CHRISTMAS WITH TUCKER and A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS are the first two books. Though A DOG NAMED CHRISTMAS has been made into a wonderful Hallmark movie, as with most all books, the book is even better!!! Great books to share with your kids too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1