Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Prayer

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Christmas Prayer By Amy Parker

    A review of The Christmas Story by Amy Parker and Illustrated by Marijan Ramljak. The little boy wanders through the house on a snowy Christmas night offering a prayer of thanks and blessing. The child finishes with thanks to God for the greatest Gift of all. The prayer draws attention away from the material aspects of Christmas, and turns children to the true Christmas Gift, Jesus. The illustrations in the book are awesome, and go along very well with the story. But the one thing I did have a problem with is I read this book to my 5 year old granddaughter and she did not seem interested in the story, I believe it was because the story line is reparatory through out the book, and she lost interest very quickly. To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Lovely, simple, perfect for my little ones

    A Christmas Prayer by Amy Parker could be one of my favorite children's Christmas books. A little girl's simple prayer takes us through the story of Jesus' birth - as she illustrates it with her little toys. This is a great book that shows a family - mother, father, and siblings - all gathered together at Christmas time, focusing on the real story of Christ's birth.

    I wasn't sure if I would like this book, I have been pretty critical of the children's books I come across, but I wholeheartedly give this book 5 stars. It is a nice sturdy board-style book with fantastic illustrations and a lovely prayer. It is very simple - perfect for my 16 month and 3 year old.

    Thanks to Thomas Nelson for allowing me to review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Christmas Prayer Review

    A Christmas Prayer is a perfect way to introduce the real meaning of Christmas to kids. Each page tells of another part of the nativity story that we should be thankful for during the Christmas season. This book will definitely become a Christmas tradition for our family as we read it with our children. My 2 year old son loves looking through the book at the pictures and having the story read to him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Excellent Book

    I thought this was a lovely, quality book with excellent illustrations by Marijan Ramljak. It's quite an adorable read. Each page has a poem with the child's prayer. Overall the message in this book is that Christmas isn't just about toys for gifts it's about all the gifts we've received through God. I think this would make a great gift for little one's around the Holidays!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    The real meaning of Christmas

    This book tells the sweet story of the REAL meaning of Christmas, the gifts God gave us through the main characters in the story of Jesus' birth. A little child is thanking God as she goes around her house collecting her stuffed animals and lining them up (the angel Gabriel, Joseph, Mary, etc.).

    My husband and I have always wanted to make sure we portray the real reason we celebrate Christmas and not have the focus be on gifts. This book will be perfect to share with our son to relay that message! With the simple storytelling, colorful pictures, and slightly repetitive wording, this book would be excellent for children up to about age 6.

    Now if only it'd get a little cooler outside, I could make some hot chocolate and snuggle up with this book and my baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet and touching

    "A Christmas Prayer" is a sweet poem about a child who goes through each figure in the nativity and give thanks to God for their role in the birth of Christ. It is perfect for smaller children, with its soft pastel illustrations, simple rhymes, and inspiring message.
    I really liked how this book puts emphasis on the truly important gifts of Christmas, something all parents have struggled to reinforce in their children.
    My son liked how the figures in the story (Mary, Joseph, the angel, etc) were represented by toys. He wanted to get his toys and act it out as well. My son is 3, and after reading through it with me a few times was able to remember enough to recite parts with me, which I really enjoyed.
    We plan to make this story a new part of our family traditions at Christmas time.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Great Book for Children

    This is an adorable board book that reminds children that Christmas isn't just about recieving presents. The charecter in the book is giving thanks for the blessings of Christmas. This is a great story to read while putting up a Nativity or just to read at Christmas time to remind children what Christmas is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    Charming Story told in Prayer

    This children's book is a rhyming Christmas story. A child wanders through the house thanking God for each character of the Nativity. This book is appropriate for reading to infants and young children.

    The author tells a delightful story through rhymes. I loved the Christmas message of thankfulness for what God gives us through Jesus. The story is charmingly illustrated with drawings of the child and her family as they ponder their blessings. I will definitely enjoy reading this to my grandson and would recommend this book as a wonderful Christmas bedtime storybook to anyone with young children.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    A charming, gentle story

    What do you picture when you hear the word "Christmas"? I picture snowflakes softly falling, Christmas carols playing, and a nativity set. Most kids look at Christmas more as a winning lottery ticket then the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ. Help your little ones remember the real reason for Christmas with this book.

    This story is a prayer, told from a child's perspective as she acts out the first Christmas story. She thanks God for all the REAL gifts of Christmas; Mary, the wise men, the donkey, and more. The story is simple and sweet, and fun to read aloud. I was surprised at it's size, it is larger then most board books and would be too big for all but the biggest stockings. It is perfect to unwrap and read on Christmas Eve!

    Illustrated with charming, simple pictures, this book is perfect for toddlers and preschoolers alike. It is a board book with a soft, padded cover, perfect for tiny hands. However, the story is told in rhyming text that older preschoolers will find equally appealing. And the message of this gentle story is relevant for us all, as we ponder the miracles of our Lord's birth. If you are looking for a great gift for one of the precious little ones in your life, this is sure to be a perfect choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Cute Christmas Story book!

    I really enjoyed the children's book, "A Christmas Prayer" by: Amy Parker. I got it to share with my son, and for my Sunday School class. I read it to my little boy, and he really liked looking at the pictures. I like the fact that it goes though the the whole birth of Jesus. Close to the end it says "Thank You, God for Jesus, Your one and only Son. A Savior sent to save the world! Yes, Christmas had begun!" I think the world needs to show the children the reason why we have Christmas, not for all of the toys and gifts. I think this book does a great job at doing that.

    (I have received this book for free to review from booksneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions that I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions CFR, part 225)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Adorable Children's Christmas Story

    Always ready to add to our Christmas book collection, I requested this book to review from booksneeze. I was not at all disappointed. This story is a very cute retelling of the Christmas story. A child, surrounded by parents and small sibling, acts out the Christmas story and thanks God for the various characters in the Christmas Story - calling them each "precious Christmas gifts" to all of us. The story ends with the child thanking God for Jesus, the "perfect Christmas gift."

    With uncomplicated, yet very cute illustrations, this retelling of the Christmas story in rhyming verses from a child's perspective is simply adorable. I enjoyed the inclusion of all the characters from the story, and I especially loved how the story includes the Wise Men, without improperly placing them at the stable in Bethlehem. I also loved how the story emphasizes the true reason for the season of Christmas on the first page, where the child says, "So this, my Christmas prayer, is not for toys and dolls - it's thanking You for Christmas gifts, You've given to us all."

    My two-year old also approves of this book and it will definitely be one of the stories we pull out at Christmas-time for years to come.

    The FTC demands that I disclose the following information:
    Many thanks to Tommy Nelson for providing this book to me for free. They did not ask for a positive review, merely an honest one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    A Christmas Prayer

    A Christmas Prayer by Amy Parker is a book in the tradition of A Night Night Prayer, this precious little child wanders through the house on a snowy Christmas night offering a prayer of thanks and blessing. The child finishes with thanks to God for the greatest Gift of all. This is a cute book for children to read and understand the true meaning of Christmas. The illustrations are cute and my son was drawn to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The perfect Christmas board book

    A Christmas Prayer

    by Amy Parker, Illustrated by Marijan Ramljak

    This children's book is the perfect Christmas story for young children. It is filled with capturing illustrations that will engage young children, filled with rhymes and pictures that draw young eyes and ears. Most appropriate for ages 2-5 years, older children can enjoy reading it as well. A padded boardbook, it is perfect for young hands, sturdy and well constructed.

    On a snowy Christmas night, a young child goes from place to place in his home, praying and thanking God, ending with thanks for the best Christmas gift, Jesus. The message is presented in a way that is interesting to young eyes and ears, while not boring to the older reader. Illustrations are soft and clear, drawing the eye from scene to scene, including major Nativity characters. The message of the ultimate Christmas gift - Jesus - is presented in a way young readers can understand while still sharing a spiritual message. Highly recommended for all homes with young children, even those with infants who can grow into loving this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1