Customer Reviews for

A Clockwork Fairytale

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Sweet, Fast, Fun Read

    Melba is a perfect Cinderella-type character. Stolen as a child and hidden in poverty, she's been raised as a pick-pocket and told to pretend she's a boy. She's cunning yet innocent, pretty (though camouflaged with dirt), resilient, and completely unaware that she's a princess. She is easy to root for. Once her basic needs are taken care of and she's able to accept her femininity, her focus naturally turns to matters of the heart. She doesn't care about being Royal. People are what matter. She'd happily give up everything for love.

    Master Turk is at once Spy Master and apprentice. He's handsome, resourceful, magically gifted and bright, but not always wise. Those he's most loyal to are not necessarily deserving of that loyalty. He's been raised to be obedient while breaking the law. He's a monk attracted to the thief he's charged with transforming into the Royal Princess. So, what does a monk do when he's falling in love? Why give up love for the greater good, of course. But what, exactly, is the greater good? And will that greater good keep Melba safe?

    Vittorio, the Royal Victualler, lusts for power. Denied a father's love as a child, he can't seem to stop desperately seeking his father's recognition as an adult. The past has taught him the being good doesn't work, so now he embraces evil. There are moments when Vittorio seems almost human, but mostly he's been corrupted by the dark powers he tries to harness to achieve recognition, power and glory. However, the respect and adulation he strives for continues to remain just out of his grasp.

    The world Helen Scott Taylor created is rich and fascinating. It's a world of Garbage Kings, the Shining Brotherhood, Foul Jinns, and clockwork creatures animated by apple spirits. I was drawn in almost immediately. Melba and Turk are engaging characters and Turk's conflict is compelling.

    My only real complaint? The prologue is a bit of a spoiler. It makes the story too predictable and isn't necessary. I'd recommend reading it at the end or not at all.

    Despite that, A Clockwork Fairytale is a sweet, fast, fun read perfect for the YA market. I'd give this book to my twelve-year-old daughter without hesitation, knowing she'd love it.
    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    So much fun!

    I really loved this book! One of the best I've read in a long while.
    I'm usually good at guessing plots, but the author threw me for severalbloops, particularly at the end. Totally recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    To blake READ

    Ummm sorry i havent been on its just that that i dont have time to be with you anymore because i just joined dance class with my bff liv and also singing class and gymnastics its just i dont have much time anymore cause my moms making do all these things UGH I KNOW RIGHT but im thinking about for you and me just to be separated for awhile i know im just thinking about it for now reply back and say yes or no. -cries a little- BTW I GTG TO MY DANCE PERFORMANCES SEE YOU LATER HOPE YOU GET THIS? Xx bye xX -layla

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Sweet Fairytale. The characters are developed enough that you ac

    Sweet Fairytale. The characters are developed enough that you actually like and dislike characters. The story moves along at a quick, fun and easy pace. At the end of the novel I found myself wanting to read another book continuing the storyline of Melba, Turk and the Garbage King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Great book,

    If you like fantasy and romance this is a good read. The author does a good job keeping your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Amazing

    Read it, its an awsome book loved it
    READ IT u will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Loved it!!

    Its a great short story- a little over 260 pages and I loved it. I liked the characters and the plot of the story, the author kept you very interested and guessing on how the story would turn out... Definite read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    good read

    It keeps your attention.not to short and not to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Just read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    very nice

    Loved everything about this book. Have recommened it to others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Fantastic

    Wonderful prose set in an intriguing world of history, magick, romance, and intrigue with a dash of steampunk. Did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Streampunk!!!

    A Clockwork Fairytale is a fantastic Streampunk novel. I usually don't care to read Streampunk, as they seem to forces a lot on the gadgets and machinery, but Helen Scott Taylor kept this storyline true to the characters. Taylor puts just enough gadgets to remind you that are reading a Streampunk without it taking over the storyline. She has also created an awesome fantasy world. With the clear, descriptive writing, I could easily visualize the port city of Royal Malverne Isle and the lives of the characters.

    Melba was kidnapped at a young age from her royal family. She was given to Maddox for safe keeping till she turned seventeen. Maddox, who became Malba's pledge Master, raised her as a boy and trained Malba to be a runner and thief. With the way Malba was raised, she¿s head-strong and has a sassy mouth. Definitely not princess material. When Tuck, who is a spymaster, rescues her from Sailors that have attacked her, Malba pledges herself to Tuck to be trained as a spy. Tuck doesn't know Melba is a girl, but when he discovers she has twelve toes, he knows Melba is the missing princess the King's daughter. Tuck realizes he has to return Melba to her father, but first he has try to make her a lady.

    Melba has a big problem becoming a lady. She has no problem acting like one when it comes to her love for Tuck. Tuck might be a spymaster, but he¿s been raised by the Shining brotherhood, which means he¿s also a Monk. Tuck and Melba's romance definitely has a few problems, but Melba¿s sassy self is not going to let a little thing like Tuck being a Monk stop her from having the only guy she¿s ever going to love.

    I loved all the characters in A Clockwork Fairytale, and I love that Helen Scott Taylor brought paranormal into this Steampunk storyline. A Clockwork Fairytale has plenty of action, drama, magic, and romance that I definitely recommend as a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    An Exotic Fairytale Romance

    A Clockwork Fairytale was an amazing read. Helen Taylor Scott creates a wonderful, imaginative world, with memorable characters and a sweet romance. I loved this story!
    One warning though: This book didn't wrap up the story, so be prepared that it continues in another book or books.

    I can't wait for the next book and hope the author writes many more stories set in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    fabulous book!

    I just finished this book and I'm still enjoying the happy buzz of the world Helen Scott Taylor created. It was a wonderful romantic adventure story--the kind you don't often get anymore. She is as rare talent and I'm going to recommend this to everyone I know, young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Young Adult Fantasy Romance also Suitable for Adults

    "With steampunk done this beautifully, it was easy to slip into this world and fall in love with the characters. Ms. Taylor is a master storyteller, capturing the smallest details of world building and character development. Turk is a character I will not soon forget, and was balanced skillfully with the unrepentant and willful Melba. A fantastic book that will leave me searching the shelves for more from this gifted author."
    Virginia--Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance and More *Rated 5cups*
    ***********************************************************************************************

    "I became a fan of Helen Scott Taylor with her first book, The Magic Knot. Her lyrical writing and amazing imagination give you characters you'll remember for a long time, along with stories that take you away into a land of magic that dazzles with danger and romance. Her new book, A Clockwork Fairytale, is no exception. The fact that it's a young adult book makes it that much more endearing, watching a young love blossom in the face of fear and a hunger never felt before."
    Sandy M--The Good, The Bad and The Unread. *Rated A+*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1