Customer Reviews for

A Cold and Lonely Place

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Interesting & complex mystery with real life characters

    Writer delves into a mysterious death and reveals fascinating characters and families in an adirondack town. The people and their emotions ring true in this well-written novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Sanarac Lake in the Adirondacks is a place where snow and ice ac

    Sanarac Lake in the Adirondacks is a place where snow and ice accommodate many winter sports, and tourists who just want a fun winter retreat.  It's a place so cold that cars drive over frozen lakes in the winter, and tears freeze on you face before they can fall off.  Troy Chance is a freelance journalist who lives in her home with numerous roommates who do their own thing, and that suits her just fine! 




    Troy is sent to cover the set up of the Winter Carnival, where an Ice Palace is being built from carved out slabs of ice from the lake.  As she's snapping pictures, see finds herself looking into the frozen face of, Tobin, one of her roommate's boyfriends.  Did he die by accident, suicide, or murder?  The local newspaper editor wants Troy to write a series of articles on Tobin's life.  Troy had not liked Tobin before his death, and she wasn't exactly sure how she felt about him as she learned about his childhood, family, and recent friends.  But for sure, she learned a great deal about traumas, kindnesses, and more about this run away playboy than she could have imagined. 




    Not being overly fond of media reporting in general, I found this book fascinating as much for the journalistic investigating and reports, as I did for the mystery.  Both good and bad sides of reporting facts and interpretations of facts really developed the mystery for me.  I especially appreciated Troy's take on her decision making---"Sometimes letting the truth out let's people heal, and sometimes it makes things worse. And you couldn't really know which, until you did it, and sometimes only later."




    This is Troy's second adventure.  Though not necessary to read the first before this one, there are references to LEARNING TO SWIM in this book that would be spoilers if you choose to read the first book later----and the first book was an excellent multi-award winner that I would highly recommend reading first.  Sara Henry captures character and atmosphere excellently.  Even in my warm house, I felt frosted while reading these books.  I was also surprised to find myself in some of the same dilemmas as Troy in deciding how I might report a situation.  Definitely more than just your average mystery!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    WHERE NEXT BOOK?

    CANT FIND RES!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Monkey King

    Cool!!! I have a character app if you're taking them. <br> Name(s): Dean <br> Age: thirteen or so. <br> Other: He has blond hair, blue eyes and is average height. He doesnt usually talk, but if he sees the need for it, he will. Anything else you can make up yourself. <br> Monkey King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2015

    Alone: Part 11

    The elevator, slowly, assended. What l had seen on floor D, was very disturbing. Chip kept glancing at me, but I ignored him. Why would someone do something that horrible to kids?<p> l was shaken from my thoughts, when l heard the elevator ding. The doors slid open and the light, blinded me. l stepped out of the elevator, closing my eyes. Chip must've noticed because he bumped my arm.<p> l opened my eyes and this time the seen didn't break my heart. There was only one large room, but it was enough that the five kids, inside, could move around. The room was surrounded with thick, thick glass.<p>" What happens to people in here?" I asked.<p>" These are the kids who misbehaved on floor D," explained Chip.<p>" What will happen to them? And why do they have a nicer room than me?"<p> Chip sighed," l'm not supposed to tell you. The reason they better service, than you is to keep their minds off their punishment."<p> l nodded," Oh. Okay."<p> Chip turned to me and grabbed my arm, pulling me into the elevator. He pressed B and the elevator doors slid shut. I hummed a little as the elevator, slowly, accended.<p> Chip looked at me." What are you humming?" <p>" Just a song on the radio l heard," l told him.<p> Chip's eye widened and, suddenly, looked pale. The elevator doors opened and he stepped out, gesturing me to follow. I followed him out of the elevator and back to his desk. He sat down at the desk and brought out a pad of paper and pen.<p>" Tell everything you remember," Chip said.<p> l shrugged," O-okay. I remember a couple songs, little details about my home, my mom, and a strange girl that kidnapped me."<p> Chip wrote everything down and turned to me," Do you remember anything else about the kidnapping?"<p> l thought hard," l remember that we traveled in a plane."<p> Chip wrote that down, too, than he ripped out the page and stuffed it into his pocket." Adam, you can go right into that room over there." He pointed behind me.<p> l turned and opened the door. Inside the room was thousands of little robots. They were moving all over the place. I stepped in and closed the door. There were kids moving all over the place with parts and metal pieces in their arms.<p> l smiled," This is going to be the place for me!" I ran to an empty desk and started to build ~~~<p>~~~ Hawk no. 75834 approached the desk. He looked nervous and afriad. Sharpton liked that. It made it easier to information out of him. As the Hawk stood in front of the desk, he, slightly, bowed and looked Sharpton in the eye.<p>" S-sir, the b-boy, he remembers."<p> Sharpton's eyes filled with fury." WHAT!?!"<p> The Hawk sputtered," I-l don't know how it happened, sir! He just remembers his parents!"<p> Sharpton calmed himself," Do you know why we made this organization?"<p>" To take unwanted children from their homes and help us with our cause?"<p>" Yes, but now-a-days a child is never unwanted. So we have to...get rid of their parents and siblings and family members." Sharpton leaned closer to the frightened Hawk," Make sure he never remembers his old life!"<p> The Hawk nodded and, quickly, ran out of Sharpton's office. Sharpton turned to the girl standing next to him," Shy? Make sure little Chip does as he was told. And if doesn't you know what to do."<p> Shy smiled and, slowly, followed Chip. ~~~<p>~~~ Next part at next result.<p>~ MidnightMoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    To MidnightMoon

    The series is &#9818 Love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    Genis/Juluan

    Oh I forgot when he touches any metal his skin turns that metal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    To MighnightMoon

    Good so far. Interesting story plot, but could you possibly have more action? Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Enjoyed this one.

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    The second is better than the first

    A poignant tale of family, loss, finding the truth and ultimately love and friendship found. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love

    Such a good read! Love the writing and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve always liked mysteries involving journalists because they¿r

    I’ve always liked mysteries involving journalists because they’re instinctive investigators without having the professional label of a private or police detective. The first Troy Chance book has been on my TBRR (To Be Read Radar) for quite a while and I was delighted to get a chance to read this one. My excitement was not misplaced.

    First, let me mention one of my favorite fictional climates—cold. I say fictional because I hate cold in real life. Central Virginia gets cold enough, thank you, and I’ll never move further north. Visit, yes, but never move. I suppose my liking of it in books is because I can enjoy the ambience without the agony but it’s also because it can put the characters in such climatic peril that you wouldn’t find in, say, my town. So, I’m drawn to books like A Cold and Lonely Place because I’m immediately pulled in by knowing the cold is certainly going to play a part. In this case, as in a few others I’ve liked, the cold is itself a character.

    I also like Ms. Henry‘s style in throwing the reader into the story from the get-go. On the very first page of Chapter 1, we know something is terribly wrong and the tension rarely lets up from then till the end. Troy has to walk a fine line between natural bias in favor of her housemate and the straightforward, honest study of the man found in the ice. She can’t allow agendas, hers or anyone else’s, to get in the way.

    Unfortunately, Troy’s in-depth investigation leads her into the crosshairs of someone who wants her to stop before she digs too far, learning things that are meant to be kept secret. Along the way, the young man, Tobin, is revealed to be a very different person behind the playboy facade and she’ll also learn much about herself and the choices she has to make. Friendship, loyalty, truth—all will be tested.

    I did a fair amount of shivering while I read A Cold and Lonely Place and it wasn’t just because of the deep-winter Adirondacks. Ms. Henry caused a few shivers, too, with the literally bonechilling mystery of the dead man in the ice and with all the emotions she evoked while Troy and other people all around her faced things that sometimes are better left hidden. To say that this is a haunting story is to only scratch the surface and I am now a fan of Sara J. Henry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended - suspenseful to the end.

    Good development of characters. Nice continuation of characters. Could be true - characters are human.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    If you are in a waiting room, this is good 'cause you can put it down when you are called.

    This was a good book. It just didn't make me want to keep reading on and on. Had an interesting plot. Just sometimes rambling. Good way to spend and hour.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2