Customer Reviews for

A Cold and Lonely Place

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Interesting & complex mystery with real life characters

    Writer delves into a mysterious death and reveals fascinating characters and families in an adirondack town. The people and their emotions ring true in this well-written novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love

    Such a good read! Love the writing and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve always liked mysteries involving journalists because they¿r

    I’ve always liked mysteries involving journalists because they’re instinctive investigators without having the professional label of a private or police detective. The first Troy Chance book has been on my TBRR (To Be Read Radar) for quite a while and I was delighted to get a chance to read this one. My excitement was not misplaced.

    First, let me mention one of my favorite fictional climates—cold. I say fictional because I hate cold in real life. Central Virginia gets cold enough, thank you, and I’ll never move further north. Visit, yes, but never move. I suppose my liking of it in books is because I can enjoy the ambience without the agony but it’s also because it can put the characters in such climatic peril that you wouldn’t find in, say, my town. So, I’m drawn to books like A Cold and Lonely Place because I’m immediately pulled in by knowing the cold is certainly going to play a part. In this case, as in a few others I’ve liked, the cold is itself a character.

    I also like Ms. Henry‘s style in throwing the reader into the story from the get-go. On the very first page of Chapter 1, we know something is terribly wrong and the tension rarely lets up from then till the end. Troy has to walk a fine line between natural bias in favor of her housemate and the straightforward, honest study of the man found in the ice. She can’t allow agendas, hers or anyone else’s, to get in the way.

    Unfortunately, Troy’s in-depth investigation leads her into the crosshairs of someone who wants her to stop before she digs too far, learning things that are meant to be kept secret. Along the way, the young man, Tobin, is revealed to be a very different person behind the playboy facade and she’ll also learn much about herself and the choices she has to make. Friendship, loyalty, truth—all will be tested.

    I did a fair amount of shivering while I read A Cold and Lonely Place and it wasn’t just because of the deep-winter Adirondacks. Ms. Henry caused a few shivers, too, with the literally bonechilling mystery of the dead man in the ice and with all the emotions she evoked while Troy and other people all around her faced things that sometimes are better left hidden. To say that this is a haunting story is to only scratch the surface and I am now a fan of Sara J. Henry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Sanarac Lake in the Adirondacks is a place where snow and ice ac

    Sanarac Lake in the Adirondacks is a place where snow and ice accommodate many winter sports, and tourists who just want a fun winter retreat.  It's a place so cold that cars drive over frozen lakes in the winter, and tears freeze on you face before they can fall off.  Troy Chance is a freelance journalist who lives in her home with numerous roommates who do their own thing, and that suits her just fine! 




    Troy is sent to cover the set up of the Winter Carnival, where an Ice Palace is being built from carved out slabs of ice from the lake.  As she's snapping pictures, see finds herself looking into the frozen face of, Tobin, one of her roommate's boyfriends.  Did he die by accident, suicide, or murder?  The local newspaper editor wants Troy to write a series of articles on Tobin's life.  Troy had not liked Tobin before his death, and she wasn't exactly sure how she felt about him as she learned about his childhood, family, and recent friends.  But for sure, she learned a great deal about traumas, kindnesses, and more about this run away playboy than she could have imagined. 




    Not being overly fond of media reporting in general, I found this book fascinating as much for the journalistic investigating and reports, as I did for the mystery.  Both good and bad sides of reporting facts and interpretations of facts really developed the mystery for me.  I especially appreciated Troy's take on her decision making---"Sometimes letting the truth out let's people heal, and sometimes it makes things worse. And you couldn't really know which, until you did it, and sometimes only later."




    This is Troy's second adventure.  Though not necessary to read the first before this one, there are references to LEARNING TO SWIM in this book that would be spoilers if you choose to read the first book later----and the first book was an excellent multi-award winner that I would highly recommend reading first.  Sara Henry captures character and atmosphere excellently.  Even in my warm house, I felt frosted while reading these books.  I was also surprised to find myself in some of the same dilemmas as Troy in deciding how I might report a situation.  Definitely more than just your average mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended - suspenseful to the end.

    Good development of characters. Nice continuation of characters. Could be true - characters are human.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    If you are in a waiting room, this is good 'cause you can put it down when you are called.

    This was a good book. It just didn't make me want to keep reading on and on. Had an interesting plot. Just sometimes rambling. Good way to spend and hour.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1