Customer Reviews for

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!!!

I loved this book! It is so funny and really an enjoyable read. I love anything by Mark Twain because he puts such humor into potentially boring subjects. He really lightens up the whole King Arthur story. I would recommend this book to anyone I know. You must read this...
I loved this book! It is so funny and really an enjoyable read. I love anything by Mark Twain because he puts such humor into potentially boring subjects. He really lightens up the whole King Arthur story. I would recommend this book to anyone I know. You must read this book!!

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This is the best B&N and Googlescan can do?????

For pete's sake! Every third word is mispelled or replaced with an inappropriate word. It's like having spellcheck correcting the entire works of Twain!

As a new nook user, now I know how they get you to upgrade to the paid versions...just make the free ones unreadabl...
For pete's sake! Every third word is mispelled or replaced with an inappropriate word. It's like having spellcheck correcting the entire works of Twain!

As a new nook user, now I know how they get you to upgrade to the paid versions...just make the free ones unreadable.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Its ALRIGHT

    The book is good after you get past the photo copies but its anoying that google is thrown in everywhere in the book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    this is actully a great read but I would not reccommend this ver

    this is actully a great read but I would not reccommend this version. thie books that are digitized are really hard to read unless you are into that sort of thing. go pay the couple of bucks and get it so you can actully read it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Hi

    There are some missed spelled words and the paragraphs are jumblled up but it us really good. By the way im 11.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I like the story, I just don't like the prose he used. It becam

    I like the story, I just don't like the prose he used. It became tedious to read after awhile. I seem to have this same problem with many 18th and 19th century works. The eBook didn't have many obvious errors, just some weird page breaks due to the transfer process.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Hi

    I love u this much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    I agree

    Post some thing helpful like maybe a BOOK REVIEW?! thanks.
    I liked the book but it was a little hard to understand, yes, because of some errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Can you stop giving such terrible reviews

    I have no idea what the book is about please stop ranting about what it looks like and say what you liked/disliked about the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Wanted to enjoy, but it became hard

    I really enjoy reading Mark Twain, but I had never read "Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court" before; so I decided to download it as my first book to read on my Nook. By and by I was dissapointed at mostly every turn. A good bit of my dissapointment was led by the abismal way in which this book is transcribed for the Nook. There are literary mistakes on almost every page, some minor like "mi = me," other major where paragraphs get mismatched ( normally by information the transcribtionist throws inbetween dialog). As for Mark Twain is writing performance is on a higher platform, than that transcribed. The story was just hard to follow at times, because it is a commentary, in my opinion, on his (M.T) time period; which becomes hard to follow if you don't know it. Between his essays and time period commentary, however, is a wonderful story of fantasy and science, history and modern-age merging like oil and water. It was a fun read, for the most part, but a very challenging one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    An alright book

    I thought this book was a decent book, but it definitely could have been better. Again I do dislike how the intro written by another author basically gives away the whole story, so that nothing ends up being a surprise in the book. Not all introductions do this, but this is the second book (Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde being the other one) where I felt all the plot twists were told before I even began reading the book. That being said this was another great story told by an amazing story teller in Mark Twain. Granted The Prince & the Pauper is still my favorite book by Twain, but I would rank this book up there with Huck Finn, and even above Tom Sawyer. Something that was good about the intro is when it was discussed how Huck Finn was a discription of a young Samuel Clemens, and Hank was a description of more cynical & experienced Mark Twain. The story of the evolution from Hank, factory worker to Sir Boss, the king's highest advisor, I felt was done very well. However, I do have a couple complaints about this story like the gaps in the novel that never got properly explained. An example of this is the relationship between Hank and the woman I believe ends up being his wife and mother of his child. It starts out with him being hesitant to do anything with her due to him have another woman in his time he was in a relationship with, and then all of sudden he is married & has child with her? Also, whereas most of the novel is rather drawn out, it comes to a sudden end with the war that ends chivalry in England & then Hank falls into a deep slumber. The ending needed to be explained a little more, and the supposed end to English chivalry was hard to believe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Okay book...

    This was a very interesting book. Interesting but i did not enjoy reading it. I did not enjoy reading it because it was a little confusing in the beginning then it got easier. The characters in this book were believable The characters were also VERY interesting. My favorite character is the narrator. Why is because he is very clever and cunning. How he is clever and cunning is by making everyone believe he can actually cast magic. In my opinion i think the author did a very good job of describing the characters. If i was to make changes in this book I would have made the chapters a little shorter and use less sophisticated words. What i gained from reading this would be a higher vocabulary . Why i gained that is because in the book the author uses words that i did not know yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    BBC

    Though Twain is acerbic in his criticism of technology that is inhumanely developed and applied, he also celebrates the American virtue of self-reliant ingenuity in countering the pretensions of medieval monarchy. Not surprisingly, his previously receptive English readership was not warm toward this book, and American readers who preferred his lighter touch in Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn were dismayed as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4