Customer Reviews for

A Conspiracy of Alchemists (Chronicles of Light and Shadow #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Steampunk

    It is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Alchemists is a good mix of paranormal, sci fi, steam punk, and

    Alchemists is a good mix of paranormal, sci fi, steam punk, and a touch of fantasy (with the epic journey). The writing is a little cheeky and formal all at the same time, which kept taking me out of the story. That kind of story-telling works for some people, but it just didn't "do it" for me.

    The combination of steam punk and paranormal was a lot fun. The magics that helped run the machinery could have been explained a bit better, but overall by the end of the story I had a good grasp on the world and the things that ran it.

    The romance, while cute, seemed forced at times. Marsh and Elle are fabulous characters on their own, with their own strengths and challenges, but I was never really rooting for them as a couple.

    I am having a hard time putting this review down - the book was ok, I enjoyed it fine, I had some issues, but overall finished the story and it was that - just ok. Nothing major was wrong, and nothing made me all giddy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    Charming, Funny and Entertaining Elle is a strong main character

    Charming, Funny and Entertaining
    Elle is a strong main character. Very independent, pretty and smart. This is the first Adult steampunk novel that I have completely lost myself in. The others I had read didn't quite fit the expectations that I had for the genre. But sure am glad I decided to pick this one up because it has given me hope to try more! I usually read young adult novels and even though this one is not one, I would still recommend it for all readers.

    We start off in Paris, and Patrice is asking Elle to take a package and take a transport in her dirigible as a favor. While discussing the terms in his office, she is also given payment in the form of a diamond bracelet in which an absinthe fairy flies into before she can leave, temporarily locking the bracelet onto her arm. Then all hell breaks loose, she must escape danger, looses the package and gets shot at as she takes off. Only to find out that when she arrives home that her scientist father has been abducted and the group from Paris is still after her.

    This leads us on a fun adventure over and through Europe as she must stay ahead of Air Pirates and Alchemists. We meet vampires. oracles, warlocks along the way (to name a few). With her companion, a Warlock named Marsh. She also discovers that he knew her mother and that there is a connection to their worlds that goes beyond her missing father.

    The story is interspersed with narration by the absinthe fairy and fun gadgets that light up Elle's eyes during the trip. Her excitement and determination really drive the story and I found it a very fun read. I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    A great addition to the world of steampunk- and not YA!  A good

    A great addition to the world of steampunk- and not YA!  A good mystery, great characters, and writing that will grow with the author.  Every time I thought the mystery was wrapping up, another layer was added.  I highly recommend to those who already love steampunk, as well as those who have yet to explore the world.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

    3.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “This series is definitely one to look out for. I’m very curious as to where the story can go from here. It has so much potential and I’ll be reading the next book for sure.” ~Under the Covers

    The first thing that attracted me to this book was the cover. I saw a huge posted at the Del Rey booth at Comic Con last year and immediately wanted to buy it, only to find out it wasn’t coming out until this year.

    Could it be one of those cases where the cover misled me? Just a little. Even though the cover is very much representative of the story. And the story was very interesting. It just fell a little flat in some parts.

    I’m a little confused as to how to classify the book to begin with. It is definitely historical but it’s not historical romance. There’s paranormal elements (the alchemists, absint fairies, warlocks and such) but it’s not a paranormal romance. Even though there is a romance. And although some might consider this a bit steampunk, I think I’ll go with an urban fantasy. It best describes the series, just know that the other elements are mixed in as well.

    That being said, we have a strong heroine. Elle is a pilot. A female pilot at the turn of the 20th century. She doesn’t normally walk around with gowns and pretty dresses. She’s unconventional, opinionated, loyal and passionate. She loves her family and her job. My kind of heroine. She’s stubborn but also realist. She didn’t necessarily go with the flow and questioned things along the way, just like you would expect her to do.

    She is asked to transport a box from London to France, without knowing what it contains. She soon finds herself taking a couple of extra passengers on that trip. One of those a sexy and rich guy who turns out to be a warlock. Now she has the Alchemist enemies after her.

    Marsh was alluring enough to peak my interest and I can see there’s potential for me to really like him in the next book. He immediately recognizes something in her that is not fully plain human but has to bide his time to get her to come to terms with that and find out what it is. The sexual tension wasn’t as thick as it could’ve been but it was nice to be able to see into both Marsh and Elle’s heads to find out how they were feeling. Otherwise, I would’ve never known there was an attraction!

    As Marsh and Elle go through France and Venice to find her father, who was kidnapped before she got back home, they get in all kinds of trouble and meet interesting characters. The plot has twists that I definitely didn’t expect, which was also nice to see. I did not expect Elle to turn out to be what she did.

    Setting this story in the era she did was a perfect choice. I felt the actual time period and places where as much a character in the story as the actual characters. It added an extra appeal that worked for me.

    However, I do feel that this book suffered from first book syndrome. Not in a way of info dump like many do, just that the story could’ve been a lot more pulse-pounding than it was. But not only is this the first book in this series, but the author’s debut. This series is definitely one to look out for. I’m very curious as to where the story can go from here. It has so much potential and I’ll be reading the next book for sure.

    *ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    An exotic journey alongside endearing characters. In view of th

    An exotic journey alongside endearing characters.

    In view of the cover, I imagined a heroine with a temper due to the pistol by her side. A mystery adventure like "The Mummy" by Stephen Sommers with a touch of elegance and refinement. All these clues with nothing but a simple picture cover... Lucky me, my imagination is fertile!

    After reading the synopsis, I thought that I had good nose or a great intuition. So, I embarked on a delightful adventure full of rhythm. From the first pages, I was not disappointed. There are intriguing characters, suspense and magic. Elle Chance is a woman full of spirit, surprises, with a sharp tongue, for an English lady from the early 20th century.

    If the story is nothing like the adventures of Rick O'Connell and Evy Carnahan and their quest in Egypt, how the two heroes spend their time getting on each others nerves before yielding to passion is exactly the atmosphere that exists between Elle and Mr. Marsh. Sparks are flying!
    But her association with Mr. Marsh is a dangerous one ... 

    Rhythmed, the text takes you from London to Constantinople / Istanbul via Venice by plane, helicopter and the Orient Express. A pleasant trip!

    For cons, the lack of choice for Elle Chance on being an Oracle and choosing her path, her destiny annoyed me. The good or bad guys want to use her power by locking her in a golden cage for the good of a greater cause... Are you serious ? I even stopped my reading for a while because of this idea. Who can say what is good for him except himself?
    Fortunately, I've pursued the adventures of Elle and Marsh and I was glad to have persevered.

    An exotic journey alongside endearing characters.

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Elle Chance, a woman airship captain, takes on odd cargo and pas

    Elle Chance, a woman airship captain, takes on odd cargo and passengers on a flight from Paris to England. Her choice to accept this charter sets off a chain of events that she could never imagine. In a world where machines and science have taken over were magic reined, Elle finds herself the key to opening the world back up to power. As a scientist daughter, she is extremely reluctant to this new path.

    Mr. Marsh is one of Elle’s passengers on that fate filled night. He is a Viscount and a warlock, so he is very familiar with power and magic. Leading Elle along the path she doesn’t want to travel attraction begins to grow.

    Pursued for her magical naiveté and power Elle is in a for fight for her life. With her help form Mr. Marsh she must keep the Alchemists from ripping a whole in the world’s fabric. Treachery and betrayal is at every turn and Elle must decide in whom she can trust.

    A Conspiracy of Alchemist was an interesting story with a very intriguing start to a new series. The story was slow building and filled with lots of dialogue. This was a fascinating cross of fantasy and steampunk, twisting magic and machine. I enjoyed this story and will be reading the continuation of The Chronicle of Light and Shadow.

    This ARC copy of A Conspiracy of Alchemists was given to me by Random House Publishing Group in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 5, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1