BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I started this book knowing very little of Chechnya.  Turns out

    I started this book knowing very little of Chechnya.  Turns out I didn't need to know anything at all to appreciate this moving story of the human struggle to survive in an inhumane world. The author injects little bits of humor into the story that are unexpected considering the darkness of the wartime. He also has a charming habit of giving place, people and events both a forward and backward history almost as a counterpoint to the fact the the Soviets were trying their hardest to erase Chechnya' s history and make the country part of the Soviet machine.  I really loved this book and although you know that many of the characters are doomed to a gloomy end the joy is in getting to know them and their struggle to matter, to be counted, to be remembered. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to step outside of your own comfortable life for a moment and live in war torn eastern europe for a few hours.  You'll find yourself appreciating every small comfort of life that we are privileged to have.    

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A Stunning Debut Novel. Every once in a long while I come acros

    A Stunning Debut Novel.

    Every once in a long while I come across a debut novel that is exceptionally spectacular; “A constellation of Vital Phenomena” by Anthony Marra is one of those novels.  It reminded me considerably of “The Almond Tree” by Michelle Cohen Corasanti, another brilliant debut.  Set in Chechnya between the years of 1994 and 2004, this novel follows the lives of the members of a small town and the family of a Russian surgeon.  

    Marra’s writing is beautiful and flawless.  His character development is absolutely perfect.  Each character is so remarkably human, in both their imperfections and their virtues.  The reader is immersed in the lives of these people, through every small joy and each horrible atrocity. 

    Marra is a remarkable storyteller.  The numerous characters’ subplots are exceptionally and beautifully interwoven.  Each has touched another’s life in a direct or indirect way.   This novel enlightens the readers of the struggles of their lives and relates every powerful emotion of a lifetime of uncertainty and struggle.

    This book opened my eyes in a way few of us ever experience in the United States.  “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena” is captivating and demonstrative of the different ways humans choose to fight for survival in the face of injustice and war.  Marra does an exemplary job allowing the reader to see from multiple viewpoints of the same conflict.

    This novel is life altering, thought provoking, exceptionally detailed, and absolutely unique.

    “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena” is stunning.  It is one of the best novels I have ever read.  Ever.


    I received this novel through Goodreads First Reads.  This in no way influenced my review.  I did not receive compensation for, nor was required to, write a review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Beautifully written book - sad but unwavering story. An eloquen

    Beautifully written book - sad but unwavering story. An eloquently written lesson that life continues and goes on even in the face of unimaginable cruelty and fate. Recommend this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Worlds Entwined

    “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena” is a brilliant debut novel by Anthony Marra. It is a story about regular people trying to survive and get on with their lives in war-torn Chechnya. The horror and deprivation that the people experience is unimaginable for most of us; yet they keep plodding forward, making the best of what they do have.

    The story mainly revolves around Akhmed, a failed doctor from a small town and Sonja a successful doctor basically running a partially destroyed hospital in Grozny. When Akhmed’s neighbor, Dokka, is ‘disappeared’ he takes the now orphaned eight-year-old Havaa to Sonja in Grozny to keep her safe from the Feds who are looking for her. Akhmed had heard of Sonja from a rebel commander who had passed through their town. Sonja’s sister, Natasha, had also disappeared, but of her own volition and she constantly seeks word of her sister. While Akhmed is in Grozny his neighbor Khassan, a frustrated author and father to the town informer, looks in on Akhmed’s bedridden wife.

    As the story unfolds in what seems like no particular order we learn what brings each of the characters to the place they are now at. Eventually the “constellation” that connects them all will be revealed. The writing is prose like and weaves back and forth in time and view-point so that the reader slowly uncovers the connections and the characters become painfully real in all their flaws and shortcomings.

    I highly recommend this book with the caveat that it is not for the faint of heart. There are some very vivid scenes of death and dismemberment in it. I’ll be looking forward to Marra’s next effort.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    For me A Constellation of Vital Phenomena started out a bit slow

    For me A Constellation of Vital Phenomena started out a bit slow, after the first chapter I wasn't to sure that I was even going to finish the book, thank God I persevered because by the end of chapter four I became enthralled by this book and honestly didn't put it down until I was done with it. It is a tie between Akhmed and Natasha for my favorite character, I love how sweet Akhmed is even if he is not the world's greatest doctor and Natasha is a survivor even if she is a bit selfish. Sonja was a great character to but I couldn't get myself past her brashness to look beyond into the life that had made her that way in the first place. I loved that this war was portrayed through the people and the impact that it had on the average person and not like a history book, overrun with the facts and figures of wars. It is a testament to life and death and I found myself more mindful of how I live my life and treat others since finishing the book. I was transformed so to speak.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Devastatingly beautiful. This is one of the few books that will

    Devastatingly beautiful. This is one of the few books that will truly move you. I had only basic knowledge of the Chechen wars before reading the novel, and afterwards found myself wishing that I knew more and knowing I would immediately seek out more books on the subject. Marra's ability to interweave historical facts with the personal narratives of eight diverse and interesting characters is simply brilliant. This is the best historical fiction I've read since Erik Larson's The Devil In the White City came out.  His prose is compelling and devastating-- as you read you can feel the pain that the characters are experiencing. The images of war are vivid and at some times graphic, but always right on the mark. This is a book that you fully immerse yourself in and after about 100 pages, simply cannot put down. The chapters are written on a timeline that is constantly jumping back and forth and I was very impressed by the way all the character’s storylines came back together as the book finished. Marra put an incredibly amount of thought into each word he wrote and you can feel that as you read. Do not miss this book, it will change you—you just have to let it. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    In my 61 years, I have read too many books to count, some good,

    In my 61 years, I have read too many books to count, some good, some not worth the paper they are written on, but most of them excellent. Mr. Marra's novel is not only exceptional, in my unprofessional opinion, it is exquisite His beautifully drawn characters spent their days, their lives with me every time I opened the book. These characters will remain with me for the rest of my days, I will turn to them for strength when I am incurring "hard times". Simply put, this novel IS "A Constellation of Vital Phenomena"! Thank you. Mr. Marra for such a gift.I look forward to your next novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    This is the best novel I have ever read. The writing is luminous

    This is the best novel I have ever read. The writing is luminous and spell binding. I am just trying to get over the fact that the author is twenty-eight years old. Highly, highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great!

    I loved this book. It was a great story written by a literary artist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    Even though the topic is sad, the writing is beautiful and takes you along on a beautiful journey.
    Good first novel.
    It would be very good for a book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Highly rated with a caution

    Deeply disturbing but highly engaging. Beautifully written but not for the faint of heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Worth reading but sad

    If you know nothing about Chechnya, and its relations with Russia, this book is an eye opener. This is Marra's first book, which is hard to believe. He is a talented and accomplished writer, already. I do highly recommend it and will be watching for his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I loved this book!  The story of so many lives that intertwine t

    I loved this book!  The story of so many lives that intertwine throughout the years was so cleverly written.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    I'm still traumatized by this book

    Most depressing book I've ever read. Pretty much the whole street graphically dies - with some abuse sprinkled in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a great novel as well as a lesson in the history of

    This book is a great novel as well as a lesson in the history of Chechnya. Anthony Marra has written a story that makes me forget where I am as I am reading it. Set in war-torn Chechnya in the 1990s and early twenty-first century, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena opens as eight-year-old Havaa witnesses the destruction of her home and the abduction of her father. A neighbor named Akhmed takes the girl to a hospital, where he hopes she will find protection.
    Sonja, an overworked and somewhat cynical surgeon at the hospital, reluctantly agrees to shelter Havaa.

    The main story takes place over the next five days, but Marra also provides a history of the struggles in Chechen. The novel is a masterfully written story as well as detailed look into the horrors of war-torn Chechnya. The language is both beautiful and heartbreaking, and the novel is sure to become a classic.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a great, sweeping story and learn about Chechnya as well.

    I received my copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: Yes. When a book is as

    4.5 stars




    Did I enjoy this book: Yes.




    When a book is as highly celebrated as this one, I wonder why authors and publishers seek my opinion. Maybe they are interested in hearing a response from an everyday, unbiased, non-expert reader. Who knows?




    I’m afraid I have little to offer except to add to the chorus of praise this book has received already. It’s beautifully written, poignant, and very personal. It’s everything an epic story should be.




    I’m often wary of stories that skip around in time and scene. It frequently interrupts the flow of the story and throws me off topic. Marra brilliantly adds a timeline to the beginning of each chapter. It’s a perfectly relevant yet uncontrived way to remind us where we are in the story. I’ve never seen time/scenes written like that before, but I liked it so much I hope future authors take note.




    I knocked off a half star because it’s a long, laborious read.  I think most readers will find it worth the time and effort, but it ran a little long for my taste.




    Would I recommend it: Yes.




    As reviewed by Belinda at Every Free Chance Books. 








    Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange  for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Magnificennt Magnificent!

    Perfection with all the attributes of a world classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    The book was boring and slow reading. The wording sometimes mad

    The book was boring and slow reading. The wording sometimes made no sense. Too much fluff and too many descriptive adjectives.

    Did not hold my attention.
    Would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

                In his debut novel, A Constellation of Vital Phenome

                In his debut novel, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Anthony Marra exposes the fortitude of the human spirit through the experiences
     of civilians in war torn Chechnya. For its subtle yet impactful commentary on the often forgotten impacts of war, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena
     is a novel that should be read and appreciated as a triumph of modern literature.
                A Constellation of Vital Phenomena allows the reader to momentarily glance into the humanity that lies in every individual.
     The characters become your family, the village your hometown, and the heartbreak your own sorrow.
    Once you have read this novel, it will divide you life into a before and after: the time before being enlightened by the struggles and triumphs
    of these characters and the time after you have realized that you can never return to the person you were before reading
    A Constellation of Vital Phenomena. The sheer daring Anthony Marra had to tackle one of the world’s forgotten wars in this
    heart wrenchingly honest and emotionally driven novel is rewarded, deservedly, with wild success.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A wonderfully written book, with time lines that help the reader keep track of the events, as the author shifts back and forth in his narrative.
    I immediately bought two copies for friends who are readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3