Customer Reviews for

A Cookbook Conspiracy (Bibliophile Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brooklyn is quite a foodie and having a sister who graduated fro

Brooklyn is quite a foodie and having a sister who graduated from the prestigious Cordon Bleu school in Paris is fantastic as she isn’t much of a cook herself.




One of Savannah’s classmates, Baxter Cromwell, is opening a new restaurant in San Francisco and he has inv...
Brooklyn is quite a foodie and having a sister who graduated from the prestigious Cordon Bleu school in Paris is fantastic as she isn’t much of a cook herself.




One of Savannah’s classmates, Baxter Cromwell, is opening a new restaurant in San Francisco and he has invited the old gang from Paris to participate in the Grand Opening. Savannah asks Brooklyn to restore an old cookbook that Baxter had given her years ago so she can give it back to him as a gift. Brooklyn realizes the book must be at least 200 hundred years old and it has some strange notes in the margins. This is a book that belongs in a museum but Savannah is determined to give it back to Baxter.




Derek and Brooklyn attend the grand opening and the food is delicious, each and every course. It was a wonderful evening until shortly after the restaurant closes and all the guests have gone. It is then Baxter is found dead, the cookbook is missing, and Savannah is found next to the body with the murder weapon in her hand.





After reading Peril in Paperback a couple of weeks ago I couldn’t wait to start this book and I devoured it in just a couple of hours.




Savannah has brought Brooklyn a very special cookbook, steeped in history and full of interesting recipes and intriguing information. Information that brings Dexter’s brother, Dalton, to town. Can there really be two hunky handsome guys in this family? Oh my YES! He definitely needs to be in upcoming installments.




The girls “hippy” parents along with the rest of the Wainwright family return. Guru Bob also makes an appearance. I just love their mom with her spells and incantations. Now she is planning to study Exorcism!   




The authors creates a capricious group of supporting characters as well. Quite a blend of chefs that are so totally different and all of them seem to have secrets.




Kate Carlisle continues to deliver us marvelous mysteries and this is the best one yet. I highly recommend you add this one to your shopping cart today!

posted by Dollycas on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Done with this series

I really liked the first few books in this series, enjoyed the mysteries, the developing romance, the information about bookbinding and restoration. But each one it seems hasthe characters just getting gushier and more melodramatic. Everybody just *wuvs* everyone (excep...
I really liked the first few books in this series, enjoyed the mysteries, the developing romance, the information about bookbinding and restoration. But each one it seems hasthe characters just getting gushier and more melodramatic. Everybody just *wuvs* everyone (except the bad guys of course and Brooklyn's nemesis from earlier boks who is fat and ugly, naturally - as all bad people are, right?) and her "quirky" family is just annoying and everyone is utterly unrealistic. Even in a pleasant cozy, this is just over the top with everyone at the top of their particular field. I stopped buying these after the previous one was disappointing and got this one from the library. I won't even bother with that on any more by this author.

posted by Penney23 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brooklyn is quite a foodie and having a sister who graduated fro

    Brooklyn is quite a foodie and having a sister who graduated from the prestigious Cordon Bleu school in Paris is fantastic as she isn’t much of a cook herself.




    One of Savannah’s classmates, Baxter Cromwell, is opening a new restaurant in San Francisco and he has invited the old gang from Paris to participate in the Grand Opening. Savannah asks Brooklyn to restore an old cookbook that Baxter had given her years ago so she can give it back to him as a gift. Brooklyn realizes the book must be at least 200 hundred years old and it has some strange notes in the margins. This is a book that belongs in a museum but Savannah is determined to give it back to Baxter.




    Derek and Brooklyn attend the grand opening and the food is delicious, each and every course. It was a wonderful evening until shortly after the restaurant closes and all the guests have gone. It is then Baxter is found dead, the cookbook is missing, and Savannah is found next to the body with the murder weapon in her hand.





    After reading Peril in Paperback a couple of weeks ago I couldn’t wait to start this book and I devoured it in just a couple of hours.




    Savannah has brought Brooklyn a very special cookbook, steeped in history and full of interesting recipes and intriguing information. Information that brings Dexter’s brother, Dalton, to town. Can there really be two hunky handsome guys in this family? Oh my YES! He definitely needs to be in upcoming installments.




    The girls “hippy” parents along with the rest of the Wainwright family return. Guru Bob also makes an appearance. I just love their mom with her spells and incantations. Now she is planning to study Exorcism!   




    The authors creates a capricious group of supporting characters as well. Quite a blend of chefs that are so totally different and all of them seem to have secrets.




    Kate Carlisle continues to deliver us marvelous mysteries and this is the best one yet. I highly recommend you add this one to your shopping cart today!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Great read

    First off i would like to say I love this series. I was hooked after reading the very first book in the series. I promptly got my nook and ordered all the available books in the series. Every book has kept me captivated until the end. I particularly liked seeing more of Derek in this book as well as Savanah and Devon, i hope we will be seeing more of them in upcoming books. I found Devons occupation very interesting. I love that in kates books that you get humor, mystery, a pinch of romance, and that we get to keep up with previous characters. Great and fast read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Done with this series

    I really liked the first few books in this series, enjoyed the mysteries, the developing romance, the information about bookbinding and restoration. But each one it seems hasthe characters just getting gushier and more melodramatic. Everybody just *wuvs* everyone (except the bad guys of course and Brooklyn's nemesis from earlier boks who is fat and ugly, naturally - as all bad people are, right?) and her "quirky" family is just annoying and everyone is utterly unrealistic. Even in a pleasant cozy, this is just over the top with everyone at the top of their particular field. I stopped buying these after the previous one was disappointing and got this one from the library. I won't even bother with that on any more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    This is the first Kate Carlisle I have read. Just a few pages in

    This is the first Kate Carlisle I have read. Just a few pages in it grabbed me. Between Brooklyn and her gorgeous love interest Derek, her secret cooking desire, and book binding,This story about chefs and their lives interwoven with murder and blackmail keeps your interest from beginning to end. Just about when you think you have found the culprit, they are killed. Weaving all of the many characters is quite a talent. I will definitely read more Kate Carlisle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this latest entry in the Bibliophile Mystery series. Brookl

    Love this latest entry in the Bibliophile Mystery series. Brooklyn Wainwright is an artist at repairing and restoring old bookks. That alone makes for interesting reading.  Her habit of stumbling on dead bodies is even more intriguing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonder Mystery!

    Thank you NAL Hardcover for providing me a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review!

    4.5 Sold Stars!

    Brooklyn is back in the seventh installment of A Bibliophile Mystery!

    Brooklyn was always obsessed with food, unfortunately her cooking skills are sub-par and nothing ever comes out right. It was her sister Savannah who managed to attend of the most prestigious culinary schools in Paris, Cordon Bleu. Savannah and her friends graduated on top of their class, but it was Savannah's ex-boyfriend Baxter Cromwell who went out and became famous for his 'skills'

    When Baxter turns to open a restaurant in San Francisco, he invites all the old gang from school to his opening gala where they will all be cooking for the restaurant that night. As a gift to Baxter, Savannah asks Brooklyn to restore one of the old tattered cookbooks that Baxter had once given to Savannah as a gift. A cookbook that is at last two hundred years old, with historical significances. Brooklyn cannot help but feel instantly drawn to the book and the woman behind it. When the book is restored and gifted to Baxter, shortly after he is found dead and the cookbook is missing!

    Woo what a ride. Thoroughly enjoyed this one! I loved Brooklyn, she was so passionate about everything that she does, including restoring older books. I couldn't even comprehend how much work and care goes into restoring books until I read this one. The author and Brooklyn sure know their stuff and we get a glimpse of that through the story.

    I loved the mystery, it had left me guessing until the very end. With all of the chefs being the possible suspect, the question of who killed Baxter and stole the cookbook hung tightly in the air. I couldn't help but wonder why they did it. With so many character, it wasn't hard to keep up. We get a glimpse of all of them as Brooklyn speaks to them and a little background from her time with them in Paris while she was visiting. It reminded me a little of Clue the game the way it was handled, heh It was very fun and exciting!

    Derek was just wonderful and I love his relationship with Brooklyn and the way it progressed. Brooklyn knows she has a lot going on with her, especially since she keeps stumbling into dead bodies. But Derek is supportive, and loving and generally concerned for her. A wonderful swoon worthy male!

    I loved this cozy mystery, it was a great read to put your feet up on. Filled with interesting characters. Including Brooklyn's mother, who is learning New Age tricks in hopes of helping protect Brooklyn. It was kind of amusing.

    I really enjoyed the way this book progressed and the way to mystery flowed. With so much more going on, we get to glimpse into Brooklyns life, family and her job. A wonderful read that left me wanting more. Cannot wait for the next book in the series. Kate Carlisle sure knows how to write a mystery with memorable character!(less)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Awful

    Terrible book . Bought it based on reviews waste of money rediculous plot and annoying chatacters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    A visit to San Francisco and Dharma...getting reacquainted with

    A visit to San Francisco and Dharma...getting reacquainted with Brooklyn, Derek and her family... wine and murder... and very nice summer break! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Excellent

    Enjoy this book. A great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Cookbook Conspiracy

    this latest in the "bibliophile" mystery series is full of fun, food, and, of course, murder. Bookbinder, Brooklyn Wainwright gets involved in a gathering of her sister's chef school classmates. The sister, Savannah, asks her to refurbish an old cookbook as a gift for one of the classmates, but on the day of the gala dinner party a murder occurs and the valuable old book disappears.

    It's engaging to read about the sisters and their friends as they try to find the book as well as discover who caused the murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE THIS SERIES AND THIS BOOK LIVES UP TO ITS PREDECESSORS

    Brooklyn, with her unique profession, quirky family, and mysterious British boyfriend, always provides entertainment. I recommend this book for an entertaining cozy myster, but strongly recommend you begin at the beginning to fully understand the development of the characters and relationships.

    Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    must read

    I really enjoyed this story. The mystery was well developed. Anyone who hasn't read Kate Carlise's books should read this series. They fun and the things that Brooklyn gets into and out of is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Book binder to the rescue

    Great addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    A Cookbook Conspiracy is the seventh book in the A Bibliophile M

    A Cookbook Conspiracy is the seventh book in the A Bibliophile Mystery series.

    Savannah, Brooklyn's sister, chef and owner of an upscale restaurant in Sonoma county, has asked Brooklyn to do repairs to a hand written cookbook from the 1700's. Baxter Cromwell, who had given her the cookbook, is preparing to open an upscale restaurant in San Francisco and has invited the old gang to a special grand opening where they all will prepare their own special dishes. When Savannah present the book to Baxter, Brooklyn notices that Kevin is very angry about the gift. When Brooklyn and Derek return to the restaurant, they find Baxter Baxter dead and Savannah holding a large, bloody fish knife over his lifeless body. Of course with Savannah finding the body, she was a person of interest, then one of the other chefs started giving the police incorrect information. So it is up to Brooklyn with the help of Derek to find out just who the killer was.

    An interesting side story, is that Derek finds what appears to be a cryptic message of some sort along the margins of the book. He contacts his brother, Dalton, who is a cryptographer with the M16 and he is so excited by what he sees, that he shows up the next day anxious to solve this mystery.

    Carlisle tells a wonderful and skillfully uses the characters to tell it. Most all of the recurring characters are back to provide Brooklyn and Savannah the much needed support. I'm anxious to see if Dalton will be showing up in future books.

    Definitely will be looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Parrotstar

    "Hello small kits. I am parrotstar of Faithclan. I would love to raise you as my own. So if you agree, follow me." She beckoned her tail and trotted to tropical all results.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Accpected to Parotstar from five kits

    Okay- Lightningkit

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2