Customer Reviews for

A Curious Man: The Strange and Brilliant Life of Robert "Believe It or Not!" Ripley

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I like oddball stories and this book is full of them. A first ra

    I like oddball stories and this book is full of them. A first rate biography.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Curious Man is a fabulous book. It tells the story of Robert R

    A Curious Man is a fabulous book. It tells the story of Robert Ripley's life - from cartoonist to ambassador of oddities. His life is fascinating and the author does a fine job brining it to life. A five star book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I've read Neal Thompson's other 3 books and they're all excellen

    I've read Neal Thompson's other 3 books and they're all excellent. From the preview I've read of this book in Vanity Fair, it's going to be Neal's best

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The title and cover attracted my attention to this book. I learn

    The title and cover attracted my attention to this book. I learned quite a lot. I have been to the Ripley's Believe It Or Not museum in Gatlinburg on several occasions; however, I knew very little about the man himself. He was a scoundrel in some ways, but had redeeming qualities, too, as is often the case when reading in depth about a well-known person. I had few preconceived notions going into it.

    It is interesting to see how what was going on in the world shaped him and how he lived and also how the way he lived shaped what was going on during this time in history. I definitely recommend this book. It is both enjoyable and educational. There are elements that I dislike, things that make me sad, as well as aspects that I find inspiring. - I rented the digital book for free from my local library; however, for those who have smartphones, there is a free app that allows you to scan a code in certain portions of the paper copy. It links to additional information, such as videos.

    Believe it or not, but if Ripley had not quit his job as a paperboy, we might very well not know anything of him today. Read the book to find out the specifics. I do not wish to damage the journey of discovery, so I shall leave it at that. Interesting and enjoyable, educational and inspiring...read it and decide for yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating biography of an intriguing character. Anyone who has

    Fascinating biography of an intriguing character. Anyone who has enjoyed the books or visited one of the many amazing museums should check this out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Curious Man is a biographical novelization of Robert ¿Believe

    A Curious Man is a biographical novelization of Robert “Believe It or Not” Ripley, an eccentric
    cartoonist- journalist behind the television show that was known for celebrating the world's strangest oddities and circus like attractions. He was known for offering generations of Americans an affordable means of entertainment through his travels and exhibitions, beginning with the era of the Great Depression. He "celebrated weirdness, he made it mainstream". (page 5)

    History enthusiasts, and Ripley fans as well as tourists will enjoy this book with the behind the scenes life of Mr. Ripley. The author personifies the complex character of Ripley who was ahead of his time. While everyone has at least heard of Ripley, few have ever had the opportunity to read extensively about his life. The author writes in chronological fashion, starting with Ripley's birth, career and his abrupt death at the age of 59. The writing is very detailed and the newspaperesque description is straightforward, ironically in contrast with the original and unusual circumstances. Expository writing mixed with lively dramatization will keep the reader engaged.

    The old fashioned, textured tabloid styled cover looks authentic and is certain to draw in the reader. This eye catching book also contained assorted interesting facts mixed in with the text. There is a glossy black and photo insert chronicling Ripley's travels. This unique book would stand out in any bookstore or gift shop. As a blogger I Received this book published by Three Rivers Press, an imprint of Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House LLC, for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Not my favorite

    I probably would not have read this book had it not been a choice of my book club. i found it a little tiresome. Ripley's life story was interesting, and I learned things about the 1920's and 1930's, but the author could have done it with fewer words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Now I see...

    A good biography, in the order that things happen. Descriptions of current living and working conditions are clear. Some events could fill a book by themselves but the author stays the course of telling the whole tale without digression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    A fascinating read

    An interesting work about a very interesting man.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1