Customer Reviews for

A Dark Guardian (Shields Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for a long flight

The characters are not all that interesting and the "Shields" egos could be taken down a notch. The heroine needs a good dose of self confidence and was a little irritating. I prefer to read about strong characters. Fairly easy to figure out the plot but it's ok if y...
The characters are not all that interesting and the "Shields" egos could be taken down a notch. The heroine needs a good dose of self confidence and was a little irritating. I prefer to read about strong characters. Fairly easy to figure out the plot but it's ok if you don't have anything else to read and are stuck on a long flight.

posted by JenniferBis on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Average

It is a bit predictable. Hugh was a twit! But i will finish series in hopes things turn around. I love Donna Grants books...maybe these were early in her career, but they remind me of a harlequin. She normally writes at a higher level. Like I said, i am not giving up on...
It is a bit predictable. Hugh was a twit! But i will finish series in hopes things turn around. I love Donna Grants books...maybe these were early in her career, but they remind me of a harlequin. She normally writes at a higher level. Like I said, i am not giving up on the sheilds yet!

posted by 6240836 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Wonderful Story

    I am not an editor, but just the same I agree about the many errors in the book...it was not proofread!

    Not to mention that even Hugh's name was misspelled! I found that appalling!

    If you are putting a book out to be read, do make sure it is good as far as having silly mistakes in it!

    As far as the storyline goes, it is terrific and I look forward to the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good for a long flight

    The characters are not all that interesting and the "Shields" egos could be taken down a notch. The heroine needs a good dose of self confidence and was a little irritating. I prefer to read about strong characters. Fairly easy to figure out the plot but it's ok if you don't have anything else to read and are stuck on a long flight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Average

    It is a bit predictable. Hugh was a twit! But i will finish series in hopes things turn around. I love Donna Grants books...maybe these were early in her career, but they remind me of a harlequin. She normally writes at a higher level. Like I said, i am not giving up on the sheilds yet!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    GREAT SERIES

    Love them all recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    darn

    This was such a good, what is going to happen next story. and then she has to put the explicit sex scenes in 3 different times. Could have left it at the bedroom door etc and the story would have been great.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I love Donna Grant!

    I love the shields! I love the world in which they live. I love the mystery and intensity of their love for the people and this planet. I love every single man and their counterpart women. They were ALL strong anf full of fight. I cant stand reading about weak whiny women who get these strong capable men. These books didnt have that! Im so sad that Im done reading them. Definetly worth the read of the entire series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Enjoyed the new series but, as mentioned, the editors should hav

    Enjoyed the new series but, as mentioned, the editors should have had someone proofread and correct the many mistakes in spelling and grammar in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I am a writer/editor by profession, so I can be exacting on book

    I am a writer/editor by profession, so I can be exacting on books. So, I will start off by saying this book hooked me early on, it has a really terrific story and the characters are awesome. I absolutely loved the couple in this book, Hugh and Mina! However, grammar and wording errors did detract from my reading, it did not detract from my enjoyment of the book however. These errors are the only reason this book received 4 instead of 5 stars.

    The story introduces us to The Shields, a force of men from across time that have been brought together by the fae to save our realm and theirs. These men are the best of the best, however, the war against evil is getting worse and the end may be near ... to save the realms, the warriors must kill the demon that terrorizes Mina's home and find the answers to prevent the evil from sending more demons. Hugh is the leader of this band of warriors and has to determine if he should trust his instincts or his heart. Mina is a young women that has never been a part of the world around her, constantly treated like she was worthless, Mina has to learn her own worth. Will Hugh and Mina learn to trust what is in their hearts and not in front of their eyes in time?

    Read this book and find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Mari

    Must read, Donna Grants books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    220 + pgs of hot warriors with big weapons

    Whats not to love? I enjoy the etheral yet tricky faeries that aggrivate yet enthrall the humans. Great fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I haven┬┐t read a paranormal book in a while and just needed to r

    I haven’t read a paranormal book in a while and just needed to read this. The cover was calling to me, the dark blue beckoning me to open it up and read it. What I found was an intriguing read; I couldn’t wait to see what happened in the end.

    An evil haunts the castle of Stone Crest. An evil that preys on the people of the village, killing only at night, it viciously attacks them. Most have fled but those who stay are in grave danger.

    Mina, sister to the Baron of the castle tries to set up a trap for the evil, only to fail almost getting herself killed. Enter the Shields, Hugh and his team rescue Mina in the nick of time. Sent to kill the beast, the Shields are guardians of the Fae world, protecting all realms.

    This is an adventure about love, loss and learning to trust. Having been mistreated by both her brother and her sister, Mina is a shy figure drawn to Hugh. Hugh is equally enchanted with Mina but he trusts no woman, since his past has been scarred with an unspeakable crime against him and his men.

    Captivating the reader with details, and a plot that moves quickly, Donna Grant writes a story all readers can get lost in. Superbly written, there is a HEA and a minor cliffhanger, setting you up for the next book in the series. I can’t wait to follow the Shields and Mina to see what happens next.

    I give this book 4.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Two stars

    It was an ok book/story line even tho predictable. Mina feeling the "ugly duckling" syndrome did get old though...otherwise simply ok. Yes, there were some spelling/grammatical errors, but geez people...who cares? Didnt effect what the story was, who characters were, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Good trad

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Too fun!

    How can you say no to hot heros and bad guys who get what they deserve!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Hubby needs to get paid so I can buy the rest lol! Pregnant with morning sickness my bed and nook are my best friends!! Found this book and got totally absorbed into it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    The Shield's is an excellent series. Could've used a little more

    The Shield's is an excellent series. Could've used a little more sex but the story line was good and you eventually get your HEA. Each one is unique enough to stand alone but you are richly rewarded when reading the entire group

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the storyline of the Shields; warriors working for the F

    I loved the storyline of the Shields; warriors working for the Fae to save the realms from destruction, traveling through time to do so and fighting an ever growing evil along the way. We meet the 6 surviving Shields in this book and Hugh their leader who has a mystery to solve and a lesson to learn about trust and his instincts. We also meet Mina who is drawn to Hugh as he is to her but she has been damaged emotionally and has much to work through. I love characters that are imperfect, it makes them human, easier to relate to. The pace was fast, grabbed my attention from the beginning and kept me wanting more. I liked the interaction between the characters, main and supporting. I will check out the other books in this series. I did note a number of issues that an editor would have caught. They were not bad enough to detract from the story but enough to be noticed and halt reading as I am quite attentive to such things. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    An Enjoyable Read

    I really like this new series. Hugh was a sexy, masculine character that I loved! Mina was a bit of a dissapointment. Overall, a good read. I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3