Customer Reviews for

A Dark Kiss of Rapture

Average Rating 3.5
( 487 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(152)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Excellent prequel to one of my favorite new series

This is a free prequel to Sylvia Day's Renegade Angels series. I really liked "A Touch of Crimson", the first book in this series and was thrilled when I found out this novella had been released. While "A Touch of Crimson" tells the story of one of the angels, this nove...
This is a free prequel to Sylvia Day's Renegade Angels series. I really liked "A Touch of Crimson", the first book in this series and was thrilled when I found out this novella had been released. While "A Touch of Crimson" tells the story of one of the angels, this novella tells the story of one of the vampire Fallen. I thoroughly enjoyed this novella and fell hard for Raze, the only Fallen to lose his wings and never know love. Kim is a great match for him and I want to know how their story unfolds. I love the world that Sylvia Day has created. This novella was a great treat and left me wanting more. Now I want to reread "A Touch of Crimson" and I just read it a couple of months ago. For those of you interested in a new PNR series featuring angels, lycans and vampires you should read this novella. It's quiet possibly the best free read I've found on B&N.

posted by MThomas1975 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Short then it ended

167 pages

posted by koon on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 488 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent prequel to one of my favorite new series

    This is a free prequel to Sylvia Day's Renegade Angels series. I really liked "A Touch of Crimson", the first book in this series and was thrilled when I found out this novella had been released. While "A Touch of Crimson" tells the story of one of the angels, this novella tells the story of one of the vampire Fallen. I thoroughly enjoyed this novella and fell hard for Raze, the only Fallen to lose his wings and never know love. Kim is a great match for him and I want to know how their story unfolds. I love the world that Sylvia Day has created. This novella was a great treat and left me wanting more. Now I want to reread "A Touch of Crimson" and I just read it a couple of months ago. For those of you interested in a new PNR series featuring angels, lycans and vampires you should read this novella. It's quiet possibly the best free read I've found on B&N.

    45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Short then it ended

    167 pages

    34 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A bit of a teaser...

    Although I enjoyed the chemistry between the two main characters in this short story, I couldn't really see myself getting into this series of books. For whatever reason I had a hard time trying to wrap by brain around the different ranks/types of vampires. I guess for me I need less thinking, more action. :)

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Copycat

    This author copied becca fitzpatrick and her book hush hush. COPYCAT!!!!

    9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great

    It is a fantastic book and I am glad it had a Glossary to refer to. I wish there was a sequel to Kim and Raze future. I truly hope its in the works. I am really surprised of the first page being a Biblical quote from Enoch. There is Biblical reference to fallen angels taking mortal mates...so it also left me wondering how many are REALLY amongst us. Thank you to Ms. Day for the reverence in your capitalization when referring to the Creator. This book is not 'over sexed'...just perfect. It is a great read leaving me wanting more to Raze and Kim's future. Ms. Day, please write it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Horrible Ending

    Who ends a book like that? Im glad this book was free cause I would be upset if I paid for it. The book was good & I would have gave 5 stars if the ending was better.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Good

    Short and easy read. Great way to be introduced to the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Grood book, but very disappointing end!

    Okay so if you' re going to write such a story like this one, whivh initially took me a bit to get into although once the connection was made wirh the main characters I was hooked...and then end it like that without having a sequel ready to move into, well that is just very disappointing!!! ?..and such a waste. Hopefully there are enough reviews that are similar and will compel the author to continue their story... for now it does nit compel me to want to read further into this series. It may be good, however, i must fist get well beyond my disappointment in being left in such a way......

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Good but.....

    This book was really good but like the others have said the ending was horrible. Not sad. It just came to an abrupt end. It felt like it was only half a book. Worth the read though. Raze and kim are great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    More story please

    Not a bad novella, but the sex scenes outweighed the story scenes by about three to one, which was too much for a 160 page story. The storyline itself was interesting, so I'm curious to see if she is a bit more balanced in the full length books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Enjoyed this a lot

    I really enjoyed this book. I wish it didnt end the way it did...it left u hanging.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Ok

    The book is good i guess but it is so not for people under 18.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Loved this book!!!

    Really enjoyed this book just a little short . I'd really like to know what happens between Raze and Kim. Hope there is a follow up book to this one. Im on the edge of my seat hoping there is please if there is i can't wait to read it and if there isn't there should be one. Thanks for writing it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    A Short Tease

    This book had potential. Th characters were good, the story story line was starting to build then it just ended. I felt like i had to many questions and would like to know what happened. So overall it was to short for me, I was disappointed in the ending. Not worth the bother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Ooo this one was so good! I loved the set up of fallen angels be

    Ooo this one was so good! I loved the set up of fallen angels being cursed with vampirism and having to hunt down the unruly rogues in their mists. It was a nice little twist on angels I don't think I've read...exactly. Plus some great characters and a nice bit of animosity with their Angel counterparts too which was interesting. All things I can definitely get behind.

    I really liked both of the main characters and the connection you could feel between them. Kimberly's bold and knows what she wants and Raze pretty much has his world rocked, just a bit, by her. They're both looking for an escape from their lives and find that in each others arms. You'd think that would provide for an incredibly sexy read, especially with that cover!, but really it was kinda tame in that department. Lots of sex was had but mostly it was the fade to black variety.

    There's excitement and some action to the storyline that's a little gory but is balanced out nicely with the developing relationship between Kimberly and Raze. I think it's all a pretty great set up for the series to come.

    Overall I liked it from the characters to the actual writing but damn if I don't hate relationship cliffhangers and oh holy hell these two got a relationship cliffhanger. I really wanted to throw my Nook there at the end because the novella ends but... not really? Since their story will continue further down the line in the series. Hate that but it makes sense for where their relationship is and the fact that they need time to deal with certain things. But damn I would have liked to see where things went right away. I am one darn impatient little reader ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I love Sylvia Day, this book was good.  I did have a hard time f

    I love Sylvia Day, this book was good.  I did have a hard time following the ranks of the vampires and such.  Overall a good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Great read

    I enjoyed reading this book. Can't wait to read the next book. But, what happened to the ending? I want to know for sure how there happy ending ends...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Cher

    Loved this so much, i went to find the continued book the next day just to find out there wasn't one. Total bummer! I want to read her others in the series but want to know how this one ends up first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Could have been better - more character development, more believ

    Could have been better - more character development, more believable relationship between the main characters...but it also could have been worse. The fallen angel premise was interesting, and the book was well edited.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Kk

    Gosh stupidest book ever

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 488 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25