Customer Reviews for

A Dash of Magic (Bliss Bakery Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I received this proof read-copy book from first-reads on goodrea

I received this proof read-copy book from first-reads on goodreads. I actually bought the first one in the series so I could read them in order. I thought the first one was just ok but this second one was so much better! This time the whole Bliss family is more involved...
I received this proof read-copy book from first-reads on goodreads. I actually bought the first one in the series so I could read them in order. I thought the first one was just ok but this second one was so much better! This time the whole Bliss family is more involved. They go to Paris to enter a bake off competition to win back there magic cook book from the evil Aunt Lilly. So many more magical adventure's packed into this book where their off having to find extremely rare ingredients that are somewhat other worldly and hard to obtain. I also loved the two new characters of Gus the talking cat and  Jacques the talking mouse. They made the story even more fun and magical. The main female character Rose also finally seems to be coming into her own at the very end of book which I also was very happy to see. This book is great for middle school aged children but even I at age 32 enjoyed it. It's a  fun and fast read. Im wondering if the author is planning to write anymore about the Bliss family because if she does I would love to know what more is in store for this very lovable family.

posted by book-babe-311 on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My daughter really enjoyed "Bliss," which we discovere

My daughter really enjoyed "Bliss," which we discovered when it became available as a Friday Freebie for the Nook.  It is unfortunate that this next installment is only $.99 cheaper than the hardback version and is $1 more than the KIndle version.  I think I'l...
My daughter really enjoyed "Bliss," which we discovered when it became available as a Friday Freebie for the Nook.  It is unfortunate that this next installment is only $.99 cheaper than the hardback version and is $1 more than the KIndle version.  I think I'll wait to see if the cost comes down, or put a Nook gift card in the Easter baskets this year.

posted by 7960876 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this proof read-copy book from first-reads on goodrea

    I received this proof read-copy book from first-reads on goodreads. I actually bought the first one in the series so I could read them in order. I thought the first one was just ok but this second one was so much better! This time the whole Bliss family is more involved. They go to Paris to enter a bake off competition to win back there magic cook book from the evil Aunt Lilly. So many more magical adventure's packed into this book where their off having to find extremely rare ingredients that are somewhat other worldly and hard to obtain. I also loved the two new characters of Gus the talking cat and  Jacques the talking mouse. They made the story even more fun and magical. The main female character Rose also finally seems to be coming into her own at the very end of book which I also was very happy to see. This book is great for middle school aged children but even I at age 32 enjoyed it. It's a  fun and fast read. Im wondering if the author is planning to write anymore about the Bliss family because if she does I would love to know what more is in store for this very lovable family.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    My daughter really enjoyed "Bliss," which we discovere

    My daughter really enjoyed "Bliss," which we discovered when it became available as a Friday Freebie for the Nook.  It is unfortunate that this next installment is only $.99 cheaper than the hardback version and is $1 more than the KIndle version.  I think I'll wait to see if the cost comes down, or put a Nook gift card in the Easter baskets this year.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I wish that books like this would get more recognition. Whi

    I wish that books like this would get more recognition. While this is by no means a mind-blowing page turner, it is a sweet, lively story that I would gladly spend my money on. In fact, I plan to do just that in the very near future. I haven't read the first book, Bliss, but since each book is a complete story, they can easily be read by themselves.

    With no major danger or nail biting suspense, A Dash of Magic relies heavily on humor and great writing. It is a delicious and laugh out loud tale that middle grade readers will love. Rose challenges her evil Aunt Lily to a baking competition in Paris. The only problem is, Lily has the Bliss family's magic cook book, so Rose will have to get creative. She and her family spend a week running around Paris collecting magic ingredients for her baking competition.

    I can't get over what a sweet book this is. The characters are fantastic. They each have a distinct and quirky personality that shines through when it matters most. Rose is such a sweetheart, and Ty's womanizing attempts are hilarious. Leigh is probably one of my favorite characters in this book. The different roles she plays will make you laugh out loud.

    There is something to be said for good, quality middle grade books that offer young readers a guilt-free source of entertainment. I really wish there were more books like this. While it is not the kind of book to provide deep insights or hair raising suspense, it is the kind of book that makes you believe in family, happiness, hard work, and maybe even magic. It's the kind of book I want on my shelves for my own kids to read.

    I can't help but wonder why I haven't heard more about this series. I am going to read the first book, and I can't wait to see what happens in the next installment. Highly recommended for kids ages 8 and up.

    Content: clean

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kathryn Littlewood's middle-grade novel A Dash of Magic started

    Kathryn Littlewood's middle-grade novel A Dash of Magic started out perfectly as far as sequels go. There is just enough review of what happened in the first book (Bliss) to refresh the reader's memory without lingering for too long. After only a couple of pages, we're off having new adventures!

    No detail was left unturned. Why is the cookbook itself needed? Why couldn't the recipes be copied? Didn't they have any recipes memorized? Every question that came to my mind was eventually answered.

    Littlewood cleverly incorporates historical and cultural facts in an unobtrusive way throughout the novel. And I would venture to say the "Head in the Clouds" chapter is a lighthearted homage to a scene in Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

    The first book in the Bliss series really seemed to focus more on the magic itself, and a lot of humor. This second book had those elements, but was far more adventuresome, with some turns I didn't see coming. The characters have mellowed out a bit, too (in a good way). Bliss was certainly enjoyable, but A Dash of Magic was a page-turner. This sequel did not disappoint.

    Plus, there's a talking cat and a flutist mouse. Enough said. ;)

    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any other compensation for this review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Can't wait to read it!!!!!!!

    The first book was awesome!!!!! I bet this one will be better!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    My fav in the trilogy

    IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Awesomest BLISS Book Ever

    This is by far one of the most awesomest books I have ever read. I reccomend with 6 out of 5 stars!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    WOW!!

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READER! SO IS BLISS THE FIRST ONE! THIBOOK TYS U IN AND TAKES U TO A NOTHER DEMENTION I LOVE IT I DONT USHLEY LIKE FARIY TALEBYT THOSES TWO BOOK WERE AMAZING I LOVED ALL THE CHARITERS EVEN MEAN LILY SHES WERID HOW SHE ONLY WERES BLACK DRESSWES AND THR MOUSE OMG SO FUNN ALSO I LOVED ROSE AND LEGIT ANY WAY I LOVE HOW LITTE SIMPLE DESERTS WITH A LITTLE LOVE CAN WINN ANY THING I LOVE THIS ATOUR AND I HOPE SHE MAKES A 4 BLISS AND I CANT WATE TILL I CAN BY THE 3 I ONER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Awesome!

    I have read the first on and am dieing to read this and her third novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Sample

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I already read the sample, AND I'M DYING TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Front dest

    Where you order

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Wow

    Itis good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    AWSOME

    SEQUALSEQUALSEQUALSEQUALSEQUALSEQUALSEQUAL..........................
    .. Thats how to spell sequal right?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review Rosemary is deter

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review
    Rosemary is determined to get back her family Cookery Book that her Aunt Lily stole from them, and Rose challenges her to a cooking competition. However, Rose needs to cheat to make sure she gets the book back or lose it forever. Using magic, Rose and her brother have to go on a wild hunt around Paris to find magical ingredients to help her bake up something that will beat her Aunt. With the help of a silly cat who talks, a mouse that doesn’t seem to get eaten by the cat, and her grandpa who has been lost, she will do whatever it takes to win.
    “I told you there was a little man talking to Lily!” Rose said as she dropped back to the keyhole.”
    This was such a fun book! I had constant butterflies in my tummy eager to help Rosy get those items she needed so badly.  We became such good friends during this short journey through Paris, but it was so much fun!
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review* 
     *You can view the original review at City Book Review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great

    Awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    If anyone chats beyond this post...

    I WILL PERSONALLY EMAIL BN MYSELF TO TELL TJEM ABIUT THIS NONSENSE. BOOK REVEIWS ARE NIT FOR UR PERSONAL SOCIAL LIVES. AND CERTAINLY NOT WITH STRANGERS. THANK YOU?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I &hearts to chat but i'm not chatting!!!! Satisfied? Anyways... gr8 book! I &hearts it so far!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Charming, mystical, magical, has it all. Sequel which continues to entertain and mystify.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Can't wait for # 3 !!! I really enjoyed Bliss and A Dash of Magi

    Can't wait for # 3 !!!
    I really enjoyed Bliss and A Dash of Magic, seriously who doesn't like a fairy tale with loveable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Hi

    I read the first book it was AMAZING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2