Customer Reviews for

A Deadly Blessing

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I became an instant fan after reading Ms. Bennett's first book A

I became an instant fan after reading Ms. Bennett's first book A Dozen Deadly Roses, but having just read A Deadly Blessing I am more than impressed. A Deadly Blessing is another page turner; a terrific mystery full of twists & turns, great insight into the world o...
I became an instant fan after reading Ms. Bennett's first book A Dozen Deadly Roses, but having just read A Deadly Blessing I am more than impressed. A Deadly Blessing is another page turner; a terrific mystery full of twists & turns, great insight into the world of police tactics, politics and the characters are so real. I couldn't put it down. Ms. Bennett has written a real saga and I can't wait for more. This book is a real winner.

posted by 8211258 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ok

It was interesting. Did not like use of language.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I became an instant fan after reading Ms. Bennett's first book A

    I became an instant fan after reading Ms. Bennett's first book A Dozen Deadly Roses, but having just read A Deadly Blessing I am more than impressed. A Deadly Blessing is another page turner; a terrific mystery full of twists & turns, great insight into the world of police tactics, politics and the characters are so real. I couldn't put it down. Ms. Bennett has written a real saga and I can't wait for more. This book is a real winner.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Hard to put down...

    Quick eventful read... hard to decide which book I liked better the first or second... Looking forward to more books from Kathy Bennett.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Great read! Couldn't put it down!

    I'm proud to say that Kathy Bennett now has a place on my bookshelves as one of my favorite authors. This book certainly kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen to each character at the end of each chapter. I just had to keep reading! I hope you all enjoy this book as much as I did - I can't wait to see the next book with Jade and Maddie together.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    A Deadly Blessing is also A Keeper!

    After reading Bennett's first book, A Dozen Deadly Roses, I was expecting another romantic suspense in A Deadly Blessing. Boy was I surprised, and pleasantly so! Her first book was good - a keeper by anyone's standards, but Bennett has found her voice in this one. Fans of the old Dragnet series will love the 'Just the facts, ma'am,' delivery from LAPD Detective Maddie Divine, sprinkled with enough stress relieving humor and suspense to keep you turning the pages.
    *mini-spoiler here, so skip to the bottom if you don't want a hint*
    I have to admit to some misgivings regarding the ending, but I'm a romantic at heart and can't help wanting everyone to live happily ever after. Since this isn't a romance, it took me a while to put that aside and accept that the end is what it is, and as in most police procedural type stories not everything works out the way we want it to.
    *mini-spoiler is over, you can jump back in now!*
    All things considered, the ending will satisfy the suspense junkie and keep the romance junkie coming back to see if Bennett can turn things around for her character in the next book. *fingers crossed* Did I mention that I'm a hopeless romantic?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is an exciting book that I had trouble putting it down!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Great Case Study in Crime! Brings parental awareness to teach their children!!

    I read Kathy Bennett's first book and really liked her style so couldn't wait to get to the newest one. It certainly did NOT let me down. This was a roller coaster ride and even got me through the 'street language'. The plot was rich, surprising and kept me guessing throughout the book.

    Kathy is an expert in making you either love or hate her characters. (She makes me think I've known some of the politicians and police personnel!)

    The frightening thing about this story is the knowledge that even though this is fiction, somewhere in our world, the same case scenario is happening in real time. Makes you want to latch onto your loved ones, especially the young, and make them aware there are BAD people out there who can hurt .

    Wonderful experience and I can't wait for Ms. Bennett's future work.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Mystery

    Great plot but the ending could have been bettet

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Very enjoyable book, highly recommend it!

    Really keeps your mind going, as she switches you from scene to scene and interweaves them beautifully. I love the style of getting perspective of one character, then switching to another character living the same event - like spying on them. I really enjoyed this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    A very good book

    This is a very good book, and easy to read and keep up with. Sometimes in reading books with several key characters, it is hard to keep up with which character is speaking. Kathy Bennett has the characters alternating chapters so you know who is telling the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Once you start reading this book you won't put it down!!!

    I totally loved the book, "A Deadly Blessing" though the ending took me for a loop which I was not expecting. When I was reading and got through three-fourths of the book, I could not understand where the title of the book fit in. But once I got to the end it was totally clear. I also could not believe how fast I was turning the pages. "A Deadly Blessing" totally kept my interest and I felt I was sitting on the edge afraid something was going to happen that I did not want to happen.

    Once you pick this book up and start reading you will not put it down until you are finish!

    Can't wait for the next Kathy Bennett book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Exicting

    I was very interested into this book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Anonomous

    Thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. Would definitely read more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Kayecole

    Fantastic book. I read the first book and looked forward to this new book. Glad Jade was brought back can't wait for the next book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    A Deadly Blessing

    A must read if you love mystery, revenge, and an unexpected ending..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Super!

    This is a new author fot me. I will not let any of her books pass me by!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Rt

    Great book! Lots of twists and turns . Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Good, fast-paced read. Plan to read more from the author

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    I was completely captivated by Kathy Bennett's first novel, A Dozen Deadly Roses. I just finished reading her second novel and could not put it down! Believable characters, thrilling plot and woven togetherjust perfectly. I cannot recommend her enough! A definitely up znd coming author that hopefully keeps writing so we can keep reading her novels!

    Barb H. Algonquin, Il

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    :)

    This book was reallygood and im a really picky person so that means this book is reallly awesome!:D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2015

    I became a fan of Kathy Bennett after reading A Dozen Deadly Ros

    I became a fan of Kathy Bennett after reading A Dozen Deadly Roses.  I'm enjoying this series just as much.  Highly recommend this author and the Maddie Devine series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5