BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Death In Calgary

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

A Death in Calgary is a novella that is not only very enjoyable, but it can make you think about your own life and the way you live it. Set in a small town where everybody knows you and your business, a stranger drives into town. It's instant gossip, especially when the...
A Death in Calgary is a novella that is not only very enjoyable, but it can make you think about your own life and the way you live it. Set in a small town where everybody knows you and your business, a stranger drives into town. It's instant gossip, especially when the stranger is driving a 1964 black Cadillac hearse. Who is he and what is he doing in Calgary? Little do the townspeople know that driving the hearse is death himself, and that the town will never be the same. Going by the name of Logan, death follows, no matter where he travels. Calgary is no exception. The town doesn't connect the higher than average death rate to the stranger, even if being around him does give them the feeling that something isn't quite right. Logan has been hunting for something during all his years of travel. Little did he know he would find the answer in the small town of Calgary with the local handyman, Sam. But along with the answer that Logan seeks comes a life and death dilemma that only Sam can solve. Written with an insight to human nature that many rarely find, vivid characters and settings make this novella a definite plus to any reading library. I highly recommend it and eagerly await much more of M.B. Daughtery's work.

posted by Debs_Book_Nook on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Highly Recommended

I didn't enjoy it. Story line was different from what I thought it would be. There was a surprisingly good ending and interesting characters.

posted by sharirose on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    A Death in Calgary is a novella that is not only very enjoyable, but it can make you think about your own life and the way you live it. Set in a small town where everybody knows you and your business, a stranger drives into town. It's instant gossip, especially when the stranger is driving a 1964 black Cadillac hearse. Who is he and what is he doing in Calgary? Little do the townspeople know that driving the hearse is death himself, and that the town will never be the same. Going by the name of Logan, death follows, no matter where he travels. Calgary is no exception. The town doesn't connect the higher than average death rate to the stranger, even if being around him does give them the feeling that something isn't quite right. Logan has been hunting for something during all his years of travel. Little did he know he would find the answer in the small town of Calgary with the local handyman, Sam. But along with the answer that Logan seeks comes a life and death dilemma that only Sam can solve. Written with an insight to human nature that many rarely find, vivid characters and settings make this novella a definite plus to any reading library. I highly recommend it and eagerly await much more of M.B. Daughtery's work.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Don't bother. JD

    She misspells her own character's name. (Goody, and then in the same paragraph, Goodie.) Poor grammar. Poor dialogue. Poor writing. Don't bother with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    One star

    Not a fan of this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Incomplete

    The first chapter is missing! I won't even start the book without the first chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Strange

    This book for me was a bit strange. It's a very short book and the beginning was a little odd but once I got to the ending the whole book made sense and I ended up liking it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Not Highly Recommended

    I didn't enjoy it. Story line was different from what I thought it would be. There was a surprisingly good ending and interesting characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Good

    Wow!!! What a good book. I really liked it very much. It is always nice to find a good book. I really like the way this author writes. Thanks for the free read. J.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Very good!

    A very good little short story. Good stoty line and the plot keeps you interested right up to the end. Recommend that you read it!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    .

    I enjoyed this little read. I just wished it had been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Cute short story

    Needs edited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Good read!

    This was really good for a short story ! I have noticed that alot of the ebooks or nook books have alot of mistakes in them but is it the writers errors? Maybe that's why they are free!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Good fe Good story

    Death comes to town.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Good for free book

    I enjoyed the little short story was good for a free book but it would be nice to see a second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great

    Such a great book! I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A good, fast read.

    It reminded me of the movie Meet Joe Black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Very good story

    Sometimes death does get it right

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2