Customer Reviews for

A Death in the Small Hours (Charles Lenox Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

This is the sixth in a series about an English gentleman, Charles Lenox during the late 1800's in England. Each book gets better and better as he grows and changes. A must read!

posted by psycheEH on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Charles Lenox is enjoying his job in parliament even though he h

Charles Lenox is enjoying his job in parliament even though he had to cut down on his detective work. Luckily John Dallington is willing to take over this business. At times Dallington still has questions about his investigations, which allows Charles to still feel as...
Charles Lenox is enjoying his job in parliament even though he had to cut down on his detective work. Luckily John Dallington is willing to take over this business. At times Dallington still has questions about his investigations, which allows Charles to still feel as though he still involved. But as a Member of Parliament, he feels that he has the ability to make a large difference for those in need. He is also excited with being a new father. (As a side note – it is very interesting to see how the Victorians’ raised their children as it very different from today.)

Charles goes to Plumley (near his uncle's estate) to write a speech in the laid back countryside but instead finds himself investigating vandalism and then murder. Sometimes the country is not as quiet and peaceful as one would imagine. With the help of Dallington, he is able to track the killer and try to prevent the next murder.

The only negative to this book and this series is that the book’s pacing is on the slow side. Personally I enjoy books where the pace is a little faster. I do not want to be “distracted” to the plot as the author goes through the working of Parliament etc. I am just not interested in that. I want to get to the action.
Yet, I do enjoy this series. Charles is a solid upstanding gentlemen and does work hard to change the world. I just fear that he is going to be forced to pick one side (investigation vs parliament) as he did not juggle everything well. At times I felt exhausted after reading about his long long day and then the fact that he stays up late to read briefs he should have read instead of investigating.

posted by book1882worm on December 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This is the sixth in a series about an English gentleman, Charles Lenox during the late 1800's in England. Each book gets better and better as he grows and changes. A must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Charles Lenox is enjoying his job in parliament even though he h

    Charles Lenox is enjoying his job in parliament even though he had to cut down on his detective work. Luckily John Dallington is willing to take over this business. At times Dallington still has questions about his investigations, which allows Charles to still feel as though he still involved. But as a Member of Parliament, he feels that he has the ability to make a large difference for those in need. He is also excited with being a new father. (As a side note – it is very interesting to see how the Victorians’ raised their children as it very different from today.)

    Charles goes to Plumley (near his uncle's estate) to write a speech in the laid back countryside but instead finds himself investigating vandalism and then murder. Sometimes the country is not as quiet and peaceful as one would imagine. With the help of Dallington, he is able to track the killer and try to prevent the next murder.

    The only negative to this book and this series is that the book’s pacing is on the slow side. Personally I enjoy books where the pace is a little faster. I do not want to be “distracted” to the plot as the author goes through the working of Parliament etc. I am just not interested in that. I want to get to the action.
    Yet, I do enjoy this series. Charles is a solid upstanding gentlemen and does work hard to change the world. I just fear that he is going to be forced to pick one side (investigation vs parliament) as he did not juggle everything well. At times I felt exhausted after reading about his long long day and then the fact that he stays up late to read briefs he should have read instead of investigating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Posh Crime

    Drawing rooms, big gardens, sleek fast horses, so much elegance that you wish more murders had been committed.

    Lenox is quite posh, smart, devoted; solves crimes and works parliament when not busy.

    Pleasant reading but don't doubt it is well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Enjoyed this book very much. Nice addition to the series.

    Enjoyed this book very much. Nice addition to the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    We Loved this Mystery

    My wife and I have read all of Charles Finch's Charles Lenox murder mysteries and enjoy them all. This one was as good as the others. At first I thought the story was going to go on and on about Lenox's work as a member of Parliament, but it did not. The story moved quickly to a rural estate where the mystery and Lenox's efforts to solve it unfolded; lots of action, complex plots, and a beautiful 19th century rural England atmosphere enveloped the story. We like the characters and the very well crafted murder mystery with complex plots. I hope other stories in this sequence take place in such interesting locations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Mistyclaw

    I am so sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Zap

    Yea. He smiled

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Different, but entertaining.

    Charles is all grown-up and mature now. Will Mr. Finch allow Mr. Lenox to became a repectsble member of Parliment? Is this the end of prowling about, causing worry and angst among family and friends? Perhaps Mr. Lenox's slightly degenerent apprentice will continue as the central figure of the series. On the down side, there were too many loose ends flopping about towards the end of this tale. There was an entire romance novel squeezed into the last five chapters. Poor form in that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I am a fan of the series so it's no surprise I loved the book.

    I am a fan of the series so it's no surprise I loved the book. I was drawn in from page one, enjoying the writing and the story, and, when I'd put the book down, I half expected to find myself sitting next to an oil lamp instead of my reading lamp, I was so into the 19th century. Great detail, great writing, a good mystery and a happy surprise--I could not ask for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1