Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Samantha Owens and J. T. Ellison are a winner in my book! A

    Dr. Samantha Owens and J. T. Ellison are a winner in my book!

    A number of my friends have read books by J.T. Ellison, so as an author she has been on my radar for a while. I received the second book of her new series featuring Medical Examiner Samantha Owens as an Advanced Reader book, so decided to start with this series. Samantha Owens is one of those women that we find often in books these days. Smart, sexy, accomplished...in short a strong, successful woman. At least she used to be. That was before tragedy hit her two years ago. 




    In A Deeper Darkness, the first book in the Samantha Owens series Samantha finds that tragedy has struck again in the form of the death of her college love, Eddie Donavan. The police have ruled his death as a simple car-jacking, but his mother disagrees. Hence her request to Samantha to perform a second autopsy and take a second look. 




    That is the way Ellison begins this top-notch thriller. From there the plot continues at a fast pace, with enough plot twists and interesting occurrences to keep the reader interested. It is quickly obvious that there is more here than meets the eye. What do a car-jacking, PTSD, a diary of secrets written in Latin, and a ex-Army Ranger turned recluse have in common? That is the central question that keeps the reader turning pages in this thrill ride. One thing missing in this book, though, was the heavy romance angle that is usually prevalent in this type of book. I actually appreciated that as I loved the focus on the mystery part of the story. 




    The characters that Ellison populates this book with is a definite positive. None of the characters are cookie cutter in any way, least of all Samantha, whose demons have driven her to OCD behavior. As a mom, I don't even want to imagine what it would be like to lose a child, and that fact had me feeling a lot of empathy for Sam. The lead detective on the case is battling his own demons, as is the widow of the deceased who never felt that she measured up to Sam, and Xander Whitfeild, the reclusive ex-Ranger who was one of Eddie's best friends. Yet Ellison is able to take all of these characters and not only makes you care about their personal demons, but she does an excellent job of tying them together into a team of characters that really work. 




    I did find, however, that I wished I would have read the Taylor Jackson books by Ms. Ellison first. (I plan to remedy that quickly)as I believe the story of the demons that Samantha was haunted by had already been brought to light in those books. As a first time reader of Ms. Ellison's work I was a bit put off by her continued alluding to the tragedy that took Samantha's family without ever really explaining it. She finally did explain, but it was very late in the book. I think if I had read the Taylor Jackson books and been familiar with the character this would not have been an issue. 




    The good news, though, is that I have another bunch of books from this author to read while I wait for the third book of this series to come out in 2014.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Reading this book is an emotional rollercoaster. Every character has some type of inner turmoil going on in their lives. Samantha, the M.E. and main character, lives a life of pure agony. She is a basket case. You feel her pain and her loss and almost wish you could some how make her life better. This isn't the typical "whodunit" some how it has a different twist to it. You end up feeling sympathy for all the characters, good and bad. The author has you beliving who the killer is and suddenly the story takes a twist and points to someone else. This happens a few times. It becomes a bit confusing. The end was not what I expected, but if it brought some happiness to poor Samantha, then it was a good ending.

    Try it you'll like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    4 STARS It was moving for me, other wise I cried in parts of t


    4 STARS
    It was moving for me, other wise I cried in parts of the book. Was not sure who the bad guys were till the end.
    Dr. Samantha Owens is having hard times since the death of her husband and daughters. She is head of medical examiner for the state of Tennessee. She can't be around drowning victims and has developed washing hands as a way to cope.
    Edward Donovan and Samantha were lovers in collage till he left medical school to go back into the army as a ranger. Edward is now married and has two daughters. He works as a contracter advisor. He was killed by a carjacking.
    Susan Donovan father was a general and husband was a Major till he got out of army. When late at night their is a knock on the door when her husband was supposed to be home knows its bad news.
    Eddie mother has kept in touch through the years with Samantha and kept her informed about her son. Now she does not believe her son was killed in a car jacking and asks Samantha if she will come to D.C. and do another autopsie. She knows it will be hard on her but needs her help.
    Samantha agrees to help. Susan does not want her to help she is jealous of Sam's history with her husband, but finally agrees.
    Their are more deaths of Edward rangers squad. Sam gets right involved in the case.
    I stayed up late because I could not put the book down. Look forward to more books like this one.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    04/24/2012 PUB Harlequin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!!!! Amazing start to this spin-off seri

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!!!!

    Amazing start to this spin-off series. Love how Ellison took an excellent secondary character from the Taylor Jackson series and has truly made her a star! I did notice that on another review, someone wanted to go back and read the Jackson series to get a better idea of what happened to Sam's family. I will let you know that that tragedy occurred after the last Taylor Jackson book. It was new to anyone familiar with that series also. On that note, if you do go back and read that series, it is an absolutely fantastic series and will give you a better understanding of who Sam was before this tragedy occurred in her life.

    Ellison has a way with murder mysteries/thrillers like no other. She can get a little graphic, so if that kind of thing bothers you, please take it into consideration. Ellison keeps you on your toes with twists and turns to the story line that really keeps you guessing till the end. Just when you think you have it figured out, WHAMMY, she hits you with another bombshell! Love that about this author. I miss Taylor and Baldwin and that whole set of characters, but Ellison has hit it out of the park with this one and I am completely hooked.

    Thanx for a spectacular read, Ms. Ellison, please keep them coming!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Ellison starts a new series with a take-off character from anoth

    Ellison starts a new series with a take-off character from another series.  Dr. Samantha Owens is a Forensic Pathologist in Nashville, Tennessee.  She's been devoted to her job until tragedy struck her.  Her husband and two children are dead and she lives with self imposed guilt daily.  When the mother of her old lover, Donovan,calls and asks for help, Samantha reluctantly agrees.  




    Donavan's body has been found shot in his car.  The Washington,DC police are calling it a car jacking, but his mom believes there was more to his death.  After the autopsy, Samantha also believes this ex-Ranger's death was a more complicated murder.  Samantha investigates with a couple of interesting policeman, delving into a long held secret of friendly fire and more from the Ranger's service in Afghanistan.  Tensions are taught as Samantha must also work with Donovan's wife, who knows of Samantha's and Donovan's past affair. 




    This book is psychological, revealing the mind set of everyone involved.  It also becomes fast passed as Samantha finds answers and finds herself in great danger too.  Good start to a new series.  Relationships are set up to continue a few of these characters in this series, which should be exciting reading.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Couldn't quit reading !

    This new series will appeal to fans of Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan and Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta, but the only similarity between these women and Dr. Samantha Owens is the profession of medical examiner. This was a mystery that kept me guessing up to the last chapter . Highly recommended !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I have not read any other J.T. Ellison books before this one, ev

    I have not read any other J.T. Ellison books before this one, even though they have been on my TBR list for a while. I love a good mystery and this definitely was enjoyable. Once it hooked me, I quickly finished it not wanting to put it down for regular day chores. I plan on reading her other books soon.

    This book was definitely not a light read as a lot was going on and you definitely had to keep track. Sometimes I felt like I was getting confused, not due to the writer’s ability, just trying to remember everything. So this is definitely a book to read when you’re wanting to think and use your brain. There is no fluff.

    I did like the main character Sam. As her story is really woven in between all that has and is happening. I was able to connect with her. What a tough situation she was in, but became stronger by the end of the book.

    This book is definitely a must read for readers of thrillers, suspense, and/or mystery. There was a small amount of romance, but definitely not enough to categorize it is a romantic suspense, or for those who don’t like romance to be concerned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    this book was not up to her usual greatness. ive loved all her o

    this book was not up to her usual greatness. ive loved all her other books, but found this one extremely boring...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1