Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Kind of Calm: Steadfast Faith in the Midst of Adversity

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Preparing for a great study

    Great study

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Typical Women's Devotional

    A Deeper Kind of Calm by Linda Dillow is a four-week women's devotional based on Psalms 77, 46, 63 and 84. Linda goes through each of these Psalms and discovers what carried the psalmists through their "valleys of weeping" and how God can use the emotional/spiritual/physical valleys of your own life for your good. I am generally not a fan of women's devotionals as I find they seem to lack much spiritual depth or weight. This was one of the somewhat better ones that I have read, but I would still classify it as "Christianity Lite". I think this book might be well-suited for newer Christians. I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    A recommend for any one on a journey with God

    This 4-week book & bible study is a perfect read for any woman no matter where she is at in life. Linda Dillow takes us through the Valley of Weeping that all women encounter throughout our lives & how to get through it so we totally rely on God. In the midst of our valley's we tend to stray away from God, & possibly even blaming Him for the pain we are suffering, saying why me? In this book she teaches us how to avoid the straying from God in times of need & to get through it with God.

    She breaks it down into 4 sections; Remembering what God has done, Hideing with God, Clinging to God, & going on a Journey with God, by taking us through various chapters in Psalm. At the end of each read she gives us well-thought out questions that challenge you to dig deep into your heart to answer. Each week she also provided us with a verse or 2 to memorize. Something that is hard for me to do but her book influenced me & I have those verses now engraved in my heart.

    This book has challenged me to continue to do things after I have completed the book. One is to spend 10-20 minutes each morning being still in the Lord & praying. And the second is to compile a list of names of God that is listed throughout the Bible. Overall I would rate this as an easy read & would recommend it to any women to assist them in their walk with God.

    "Suffering is the last thing I consider useful, but as I look back over my life, I see it has been God's most effective tool to grow me up in Him. Why? Because nothing highlights my need for God like a valley of affliction." (99-100)

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Great Bible Study!

    I was looking forward to this book with great anticipation. My ladies bible study, previous to my joining, had studied Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow and could not stop raving about it! A Deeper Kind of Calm is a book about maintaining steadfast faith in the midst of adversity. I very much enjoyed reading the book as well as working through the study questions. It is a wonderful volume for dealing with the hard times in our lives.
    The book is divided into a four week bible study that can be done on your own or with your bible study group. It breaks down into four different chapters from Psalms: remember what God has done (Psalm 77), hide in His presence (Psalm 49), cling to him (Psalm 63) and praise him for all we cannot see (Psalm 84). The concluding chapter wraps up the journey we are on to face the adversities in our lives and move forward. This book helps to learn how to positively handle the disappointments of life and discern the comforting truth found in God's Word.
    Ms. Dillow begins by pointing out that although Psalms is generally thought of as God's hymnal of praise, we also need to remember that it is also a book about pain. She asks three questions:


    Is it possible to go through the Valley of Weeping without falling apart?
    Is it possible to have joy in the midst of suffering?
    Is it possible to grow in intimacy with the Lord as we travel through the valley?

    Ms. Dillow helps us find the answers to these questions in this enlightening bible study.
    You can find a sample chapter here.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A Deeper Kind of Calm by Linda Dillow - Book Review

    "A Deeper Kind of Calm" by 'Linda Dillow' from NavPress is a beautiful book intending to help one pass through the valley of weeping with Godly comfort. The book essentially deals with the four psalms 77, 46, 63 and 84. It talks about Holy Remembrance, Holy Confidence, Holy Longing and Holy Pilgrimage. Linda connects with readers' hearts and minds through narration of her personal and real life stories. The book is simple yet powerful.

    More importantly, the book also contains four weeks of bible study contents suitable for group study. Women suffering with grief, pain, etc will find advice from this book greatly helpful and pragmatic. Linda enables us to move from the place of despair to a place of peace.

    Linda also spells about the secrets to inherit spiritual blessings in the midst of pain. Anyone walking through the valley of weeping must know that it can become a place of blessing. All it needs is a little perspective from our end. This is possible when we are able to cling to God.

    In this book, Linda analyses and describes about the possibility of going through the valley of weeping without falling apart, possibility of having joy in the midst of suffering and possibility of growing in intimacy with the Lord as one travels through the valley. Finally, she is able to give a concrete answer to the readers.

    I would give this one four out of five stars.

    Please note that I received this book from NavPress Publishers through its book review bloggers program in exchange for an honest review. Also be informed that the opinions I have expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    A Perfect Read during Times of Difficulty

    Sometimes when I am in the valley of hardship, it is hard to pick up a book because my attention span is short and my mind is weary. In those times, when extra doses of strength and encouragement are needed, Linda Dallow's book A Deeper Kind of Calm is a perfect read. The Valley of Weeping may involve illness, physical pain, prodigal children, relationship difficulties, and enemy attack (enemies may be a person, or it may be fear, anxiety, despair, or depression). The author draws four Psalms to show four aspects of faith as a survival guide through the valley: remembering, hiding, clinging, and journeying. Through the valley, we journey to the sacred place, experience the blessing of intimacy with God, and grow in character. A key theme I draw from the book is that "the woman of strength dares to dig blessings out of hardships", and she displays how this really works in the nitty-gritty of life. The short sections and poignant illustrations will enable you to focus and draw strength in order to not only keep moving forward, but also to find the sweet blessings buried in the valley. A four-week Bible study at the back of the book pulls you deeper into the Psalms with each of these aspects and assists in applying it to your life. It is an easy read in a hospital waiting room or late at night when sleep won't come. I consider it a must-read-again when I travel through the dark places or want to help a friend through them. I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Calm through Psalms

    A Deeper Kind of Calm gives practical advice for those going through the trials of life- big or small. Using the Psalms as a starting point she leads readers through 4 'choices' we have when it comes to dealing with overwhelming situations. Remembering, Hiding, Clinging, and Journeying. She also makes it clear that "Learning to see from God's perspective is critical if we are to turn our Valley of Weeping into a Place of Blessing, our sorrow into significance, our failures into faith." This was a quick read that included some great nuggets to tuck away for the trials that will inevitably come. The Bible Study included in the back of the book would be a great way to really solidify the truths spoken in this book into our every day consciousness. One thing that readers should be aware of before purchasing, and Linda states this clearly in the book, this is not a book that deals with the 'why' such trials happen, just how to respond to them. As long as readers understand this, they should greatly appreciate the solid Biblical wisdom this text has to offer.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful encouragement for women

    This book should definitely have a place on every Christian woman's bookshelf, since all of us deal with challenges in life and need a reminder of God's presence and purpose in those tough times. A Deeper Kind of Calm is a simple, short, book, but there is so much encouragement and so many reminders of God's truth in it.

    There are only five chapters- one discussing the "valley of weeping", followed by four chapters, each one discussing a different Psalm (77, 46, 63 and 84) and the message that psalm has for women who are hurting. Through these four psalms, A Deeper Kind of Calm encourages women to remember what God has done, hide in His presence, cling to Him, and praise Him for all we cannot see.

    There is also a four-week Bible Study at the back of the book, which is really handy if you'd like to use this book for a group study and discussion. Whether you're looking for a book for a group Bible study, or just need some encouragement for your life, I highly recommend picking up this little book.

    Disclosure: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    {A deeper Kind of Calm} - my thoughts

    A Deeper Kind of Calm
    Steadfast Faith in the Midst of Adversity
    by Linda Dillow


    Not only did the little things feel 'right' about this book, (the cover was - is - lovely, the text font was easy to read, and the chapters were well arranged,) but the book itself was very, very encouraging.

    After I first read it - about a week ago - I thought that, although it was a good book, I would not be giving it a very enthusiastic review.

    I have to admit, however, that I am doing just that.

    Maybe it - the message of the book - just didn't click at first because I did not really follow the four week bible study plan in the back. I'm not sure.

    Or maybe my first thoughts were just to hasty.

    Either way, however, I have to give this book a very posetive review.

    I kept thinking back to it during the craziest times, and being encouraged and comforted by such and such line.

    The book was a beautiful journey through various Psalms which deeply encouraged me and bolstered my faith.

    Before I go, let me just share this beautiful quote with you:

    "I pray you will be encouraged to hide in your refuge...that fear will be cast away because the Lord Almighty is your personal strength and fortress! No trial that has wrapped itself around your life is too difficult for Him."


    ~~~
    My rating: 10 out of 10 stars.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1