Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Love Inside: The Porsche Santiaga Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

bosslady

I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

posted by 16898766 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pi...
I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

posted by 17204712 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

    I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

    Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

    The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

    Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

    Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

    Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

    Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

    53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Disappointed is an understatement

    I am a huge fan of Sister Souljah's work. I started off with No Disrespect and then the Coldest Winter ever and those were both phenomenal books. I even enjoyed the Midnight books. However this book was disturbing, slow, uneventful, depressing and simply feels thrown together. On the 200th page i was still waiting for it to get good. It never did. It was painful to read. I do not recommend this book. I recommend all of her books except this one. I was truly disappointed and i want my money back i feel robbed.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Disappointing and badly written

    After years of waiting for an official sequel I was very disappointed in what was thrown together by Sister Souljah. I wish she would've just waited until she had a better story to tell. Like her Midnight series, the story she weaves of pre-teen romance and business savy is so unbelievable the story becomes a painful read. I loved Coldest Winter Ever but I am so disappointed that I may finally have to give up hope that Sister Souljah will be able to bring out anything new and worth reading.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    bosslady

    I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

    21 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Just finished the book and I must say I was not impressed. As al

    Just finished the book and I must say I was not impressed. As always Souljah is a talented writer and the book is well written, it just doesn't read like a sequel to me. Not at all what I was expecting. IIf you enjoyed the midnight books then you will probably love this as well. However as a HUGE coldest winter ever fan, it leaves a lot to be desired. 

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    For the most part the Porsche story was depressing, it was sad.

    For the most part the Porsche story was depressing, it was sad. It left me feeling bummed. Then I kept having to ask myself how old is she again in this part because her thought process was way advanced for any kid her age that I know, hood kids at that. The ending I guess is what you would consider a happy ending??? Not sure, but I was rolling my eyes at how unrealistic it was. I thought Winters story was more realistic and so was her mind set, but then again I read and loved the coldest winter ever back when I was in middle school. So maybe it's me and my mind set has changed. Maybe if I would have read this with my teenage mind I'd give it five stars. But I have to give it 3 stars because I'm indifferent.
    However, I do appreciate the insight the author gave me on children with mental illness. It allowed me to see the world thru a para schizophrenic eyes. I feel like I can better understand there struggles and I would be more sensitive to the issue.
    On another note, why do sister souljah keep writing book from children's point of view??? After the books about Midnight, and now this, I started skipping thru the sexual parts. It made me uneasy, because I was getting moved by the words, but then I quickly remembered these are children... I'm not supposed to feel this way.
    Well if she continues to develop her characters in different book, I hope she takes her readers into consideration.... Some of us have matured since the coldest winter ever. However, if she is trying the get new readers, she can keep writing from a child's point of view. I hope the next midnight book explores him as an adult, and not as a married teenager. I'd like to read the story from Ricky's point of view, or maybe Mommas. If she writes it from the twins point of view, please don't have them hunching.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    It is definitely not a sequel.

    To date, I have read all of Sister Souljah's books and I must say, this one was disappointing. It was a mishmash of different thought. This was Porsche's story, but it was not well written.

    I expected there to be flow and consistency; there was not. The story jumps ahead at awkward moments and I was often lost.

    Coldest Winter Ever was incredible and I enjoyed both Midnight books (despite the repition.) This book was undeniably bad. I'm saddened by this not only because I paid for the book, but also because there was the potential there to be a good book.

    Disappointed.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    She's Beautiful.  And Porsche Santiaga's beauty saves her.  When

    She's Beautiful.  And Porsche Santiaga's beauty saves her.  When we first meet her in the juvenile detention center she doesn't sound beautiful.  In fact the story of how she came to be there is horrific and almost makes you want to close your eyes, turn away, and give up on this obviously "lost cause".  But if you make it to Chapter 2 you cant help but see the love rooted inside her, begging to be nurtured so that it can bloom.  
    Sister Souljah bravely tackles the issue of mental health in this story.  Especially in the black community It is very taboo and not often talked about or treated, yet most of us know someone who's a little bit "off".  When Porsche creates and introduces us to her second personality, we readers gradually come to understand her function and the truth of her nonexistence and it doesn't distract us from the story at all.  Masterfully done.
    As we follow Porche through her daring escape, time on an Indian reservation, and eventually back to her drug addicted mother, we hurt for her, with her, and ultimately root for her as she grows, matures, and eventually finds a love of her own.  We breathe a collective sigh of relief each time a new protector shows up in her life and we applaud each and every tiny victory in her life that keeps her from succumbing to the horrors that surround her.    Most importantly, we appreciate hearing the gritty truth and that Souljah doesn't turn this into a fake "happily ever after tale".   
    Porsche story is both a cautionary tale and a ray of hope for those who wonder if the Winters of the world can be saved.  Its a guide to surviving the coldest winters of life.  She is lovely but not conceited. Loyal but wise.  Bent but never broken.  It seems that every crossroads Porche arrives at, her steps are guided down the correct path where Winter barreled head first down the wrong one.  Hers is a story of choices properly made and opportunities not missed.  A story of love freely and honestly given and the healing power of its yield.  It's a beautiful story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Anticipation turned epic fail..

    Like most people that have followed this trendy (and long awaited) saga with the Santiaga's, I could hardly wait to turn the pages of "A Deeper Love Inside." I admit that it had been years since I'd read TCWE, so I decided to brush up on the few final chapters before I started this one. The beginning of the book was very characteristic of the author; the eb and flow; the "feel" of what the book was portraying was what I was used to. To move on to the content of the book itself, I was very shocked at the actual age of Porsche in comparison to the life experiences being told in the book. Now I understand that kids grow up fast, but not THIS fast. Considering that the setting was placed back in the early 90's it was a tad of from reality. Throughout the book, Porsche accomplishes some unbelievable things; and i mean unbelievable. She raised $50,000 of her own money before the mere age of 14 or so, took care of drug-addicted mother, was not traditionally educated in school, and was able to duck under the noses of seemingly level-headed adults for years and years without question. This just isn't possible! I did appreciate how the author gave Elisha a dream, and he followed through with it. Though quite a fairytale (and I get that this i fiction), it does encourage readers to hope. Lastly the multiple personalities that made Porsche; Siri and Ivory; I found myself confused. I gathered that Ivory wasn't, but Siri was another person within Porsche all this time? The book started out SO slow, then suddenly speeds up! When the "dark, handsome fellow" (won't reveal his name) finds Porsche to reveal her past in living color, I was confused as to whether ANY of the stories had happened or if she was only DREAMING about all of those events. The gentleman says that she was released from an institution after being expelled from the juvenile prison. So did the Indian Reservation ever happen? Because I could not really place the validity of the book's events in a chronicological fashion, it made this a difficult read. Somewhere, there is a disconnection. As we know with SS, her lead characters are usually very young in age and they lead very extravagant, unimaginable lives. This was nothing new, however because of the age and events that happen with her characters, one question leads to other questions. Some we cannot answer which ultimately starts to crumble to story altogether. We barely got a real glimpse into Winter's story, and top things off, this story was a challenge to follow. It definitely was not a "cover-to-cover" read that one is thirsty to finish in a couple days. I gave 1 star because I bought the book, and another star simply out of respect for SS. I can read TCWE 4 and 5 times over front to back, but this one I will never pick up again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Amazing

    This story is a very good sequal. I wished winter had more dialogue in story but its really interesting and, you learn so much more about thier and family and just life tips im gerneral. I suggest everyone to read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Beautifully Written

    I found this book to be even more moving than its predecessor!! At the end of 'The Coldest Winter Ever' when everyone was at the gravesite, I assumed Porsche succeeded where Winter didn't. I absolutely LOVE this story. If you're expecting Winter's story with more crazy drama, don't read it. It tells the story from Porsche's view from the time their dad was arrested. It is NOT about Winter.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    This book was horrible and I'm so disappointed. I really looked

    This book was horrible and I'm so disappointed. I really looked forward to reading this since I really enjoyed The Coldest Winter Ever. It seemed that the plot was thrown together, characters introduced that had nothing to do with anything, and just long drawn out scenes. I found myself skipping page after page after page. I was not impressed with this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    As much as I wanted to love A Deeper Love Inside, I just could n

    As much as I wanted to love A Deeper Love Inside, I just could not. Don't get me wrong, I still believe Sista Soulja is one of the best African American writers of our generation but for a 14 year hiatus this book definitely could have been better. The story itself was touching but it seems to me that Sista Soulja has some strange obsession with polygamy and teen marriages. The "multiple" relationships are so off kilter that they threw the storyline off for me. Her writing style was much the same as The Coldest Winter Ever which I thought was odd because of how Midnight: A Gangsta Love Story was written. Porsche's character in this book was way different from the Porsche we were introduced to in The Coldest Winter Ever. Once again found myself disappointed in Sista Soulja's incomplete/inadequate writing. I thought to give her another try after Midnight but the combination of two books that appeared to have been rushed and sloppily thrown together have dissuaded me from continuing the journey with her. Much love and respect to Soulja, I just feel like after more than a 10 year break with your fans waiting, this could have been way better. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Not too pleased

    This book was well written but I was expecting winter 2.0. Reading about someone who has a mental illness was intetesting but lets be real Porshe needs professional help to deal with some things. And both becoming millionaires while they were teenagers???? Come on... some parts just seemed too unrealistic. I didnt expect her to be just like Winter but Im tired and wanted something different from how she wrote Midnights story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    STILL WAITING ON MY COPY.......HEMINGWAY OF THE HOOD. LOVE U GIR

    STILL WAITING ON MY COPY.......HEMINGWAY OF THE HOOD. LOVE U GIRL. KEEP EM COMMING BIG UP AND MAD LOVE MANY BLESSINGU R THE COLDEST WRITER EVER!!!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Disappointment

    I am a huge fan of street lit and I have read the coldest winter ever more than once, I was disappointed with the Midnight series as well as this one. Souljah needs to head back to the streets of Harlem and get connected again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I love this book. What I want people to realize is that this was

    I love this book. What I want people to realize is that this was Porschas story not Winters, The book is not called The Coldest Winter Ever part 2. This book was everything to me. A true modern day love story. Great job!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Couldn't finish

    This was bad. Couldn't even get through it. Liked The Coldest Winter Ever but this was unbearable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Horrible!

    This book was horrible... A true waste of money! The book was definitely not a sequel to The Coldest Winter Ever... Porsche was a child through the majority of the book. The book didn't flow well and was very choppy. There were a lot of confusing portions of the book (Siri, Diamond Needles, etc). Overall, I was very disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    What a Roller Coaster

    This book was slow at first and then it ended with a Bang!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10