Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Love Inside: The Porsche Santiaga Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

bosslady

I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

posted by 16898766 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pi...
I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

posted by 17204712 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Disappointed is an understatement

    I am a huge fan of Sister Souljah's work. I started off with No Disrespect and then the Coldest Winter ever and those were both phenomenal books. I even enjoyed the Midnight books. However this book was disturbing, slow, uneventful, depressing and simply feels thrown together. On the 200th page i was still waiting for it to get good. It never did. It was painful to read. I do not recommend this book. I recommend all of her books except this one. I was truly disappointed and i want my money back i feel robbed.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    For the most part the Porsche story was depressing, it was sad.

    For the most part the Porsche story was depressing, it was sad. It left me feeling bummed. Then I kept having to ask myself how old is she again in this part because her thought process was way advanced for any kid her age that I know, hood kids at that. The ending I guess is what you would consider a happy ending??? Not sure, but I was rolling my eyes at how unrealistic it was. I thought Winters story was more realistic and so was her mind set, but then again I read and loved the coldest winter ever back when I was in middle school. So maybe it's me and my mind set has changed. Maybe if I would have read this with my teenage mind I'd give it five stars. But I have to give it 3 stars because I'm indifferent.
    However, I do appreciate the insight the author gave me on children with mental illness. It allowed me to see the world thru a para schizophrenic eyes. I feel like I can better understand there struggles and I would be more sensitive to the issue.
    On another note, why do sister souljah keep writing book from children's point of view??? After the books about Midnight, and now this, I started skipping thru the sexual parts. It made me uneasy, because I was getting moved by the words, but then I quickly remembered these are children... I'm not supposed to feel this way.
    Well if she continues to develop her characters in different book, I hope she takes her readers into consideration.... Some of us have matured since the coldest winter ever. However, if she is trying the get new readers, she can keep writing from a child's point of view. I hope the next midnight book explores him as an adult, and not as a married teenager. I'd like to read the story from Ricky's point of view, or maybe Mommas. If she writes it from the twins point of view, please don't have them hunching.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    It is definitely not a sequel.

    To date, I have read all of Sister Souljah's books and I must say, this one was disappointing. It was a mishmash of different thought. This was Porsche's story, but it was not well written.

    I expected there to be flow and consistency; there was not. The story jumps ahead at awkward moments and I was often lost.

    Coldest Winter Ever was incredible and I enjoyed both Midnight books (despite the repition.) This book was undeniably bad. I'm saddened by this not only because I paid for the book, but also because there was the potential there to be a good book.

    Disappointed.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    This book was horrible and I'm so disappointed. I really looked

    This book was horrible and I'm so disappointed. I really looked forward to reading this since I really enjoyed The Coldest Winter Ever. It seemed that the plot was thrown together, characters introduced that had nothing to do with anything, and just long drawn out scenes. I found myself skipping page after page after page. I was not impressed with this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Not too pleased

    This book was well written but I was expecting winter 2.0. Reading about someone who has a mental illness was intetesting but lets be real Porshe needs professional help to deal with some things. And both becoming millionaires while they were teenagers???? Come on... some parts just seemed too unrealistic. I didnt expect her to be just like Winter but Im tired and wanted something different from how she wrote Midnights story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Couldn't finish

    This was bad. Couldn't even get through it. Liked The Coldest Winter Ever but this was unbearable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Horrible!

    This book was horrible... A true waste of money! The book was definitely not a sequel to The Coldest Winter Ever... Porsche was a child through the majority of the book. The book didn't flow well and was very choppy. There were a lot of confusing portions of the book (Siri, Diamond Needles, etc). Overall, I was very disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    As much as I love Sister Souljah, I must say this book was a hug

    As much as I love Sister Souljah, I must say this book was a huge disappointment. Usually I can't put her books down, and finish the book within a few days. This book took me months to get through. Maybe my expectations were too high? I felt like it was an extremely slow read and somewhat uninteresting. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Disappointed

    I must say I was very disappointed with this book. It is not truely a sequel to the coldest winter ever. I should have read the reviews before I purchased it, but I was just so excited to start reading it. This book was nothing I expected it to be!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Horrible

    Horrible. I had to practically force myself to read this book and even then I didn't even finish it. I only got up to chapter 6. This book just didn't grab me like the coldest winter did. I thought it would pick up after a while but unfortunately it didn't. Do youself a favor, instead of wasting youd money and buying it, just go to the library and check it out. I wish I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Boo

    So long so boring big disappointment don't waste your time or money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    So Disappointed !

    I Anxiously waited for this book to come out because I was a huge fan of her Midnight series and of The coldest Winter Ever. I was so disappointed in this book. It was a complete let down and a waste of money. It seemed rushed, it was poorly written, and it was unrealistic. I would not recomend this book to anyone. Its not really worth your time. I wish I could give it a -1 star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    BEWARE

    Not what I was expecting was not really a sequel to The Coldest Winter Ever.Maybe a sequel will follow based on the end of the book.Story seemed to drag on.Would have liked to see Porche get some help CRAZY!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    I have only read CWE

    I'm reading the reviews on all of SS books to see what other readers had to say. So just like others, I was expecting the first Midnight book to be the Sequal to the CWE that i fell in love with in Middle school. So when I got my hands on the first Midnight i decided to read the CWE again a month ago just to bring to memory back. When I opened Midnight and read the first one or two pages I became disappointed. So I started flipping through the book just to see if it will get into where it left off with the CWE, but nope. So I said naw I won't be reading that. Now after waiting 14-15 years for a sequal can you undersand the frustration? Talk about PISSED! Now as I have just read the reviews to her books I understand that SS is just telling the other characters story. I'm hoping that she brings these books together as one somewhere down the line because I still want that sequal I waited so many years for. In the mean time, I'm going to try to block out SEQUAL and read the other three books. Expect to hear my reviews later... I hope you have me on the edge of my seat SS...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Horrible! A waste of time and money.

    Horrible! A waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Sister Souljah has manage to write the 2nd most boring book in t

    Sister Souljah has manage to write the 2nd most boring book in the world, the first one being Midnight and the meaning of love.! That Midnight book made me feel like it was an English assignment given to me as a form of punishment. Maybe if a deeper  love inside was 200 pages less I would consider it a good read. I would not recommend this book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Very Disappointed

    I really enjoyed The Coldest Winter Ever, and was excited to hear of the "sequel". This book was extremely disappointing, it's not the "page-turner" TCWE was. It was slow paced, and very unrealistic. I wish I would have borrwed it from the library, instead of wasting my money on it. But oh well, on to the next book, whatever it may be, hopefully it will actually be worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I wish I would have read the reviews on this book, before i orde

    I wish I would have read the reviews on this book, before i order it. I  guess I was happy to see that there was a sequel that I just  order it, not taking the time to read the reviews. Not i'm just going to add to the rest of my book and let it collect dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    I never write reviews but I felt the need to after reading this

    I never write reviews but I felt the need to after reading this book. To this day The Coldest Winter Ever is my favorite book so when this new book came out I was very excited, however this book is horrible,, I refuse to believe that the same person wrote both books. Now I also read the Midnight book and I thought that book was very preachy and the message in that book was if you are black American then you are uneducated and have no common sense and the smartest most honest people  are African, I was upset with that message but I still decided to read her next book which is Deeper love inside. People save your money. I think what drew so many people to TCWE was how realistic is seemed, you could actually relate to the story but this book is not only fiction but unrealistic fantasy. I will not be giving my money to Sista souljah anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    The book sucks

    Please dont waste your money. The book sucks........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2