BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Love Inside: The Porsche Santiaga Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

bosslady

I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

posted by 16898766 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pi...
I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

posted by 17204712 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

    I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

    Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

    The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

    Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

    Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

    Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

    Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

    60 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Disappointing and badly written

    After years of waiting for an official sequel I was very disappointed in what was thrown together by Sister Souljah. I wish she would've just waited until she had a better story to tell. Like her Midnight series, the story she weaves of pre-teen romance and business savy is so unbelievable the story becomes a painful read. I loved Coldest Winter Ever but I am so disappointed that I may finally have to give up hope that Sister Souljah will be able to bring out anything new and worth reading.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Just finished the book and I must say I was not impressed. As al

    Just finished the book and I must say I was not impressed. As always Souljah is a talented writer and the book is well written, it just doesn't read like a sequel to me. Not at all what I was expecting. IIf you enjoyed the midnight books then you will probably love this as well. However as a HUGE coldest winter ever fan, it leaves a lot to be desired. 

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Anticipation turned epic fail..

    Like most people that have followed this trendy (and long awaited) saga with the Santiaga's, I could hardly wait to turn the pages of "A Deeper Love Inside." I admit that it had been years since I'd read TCWE, so I decided to brush up on the few final chapters before I started this one. The beginning of the book was very characteristic of the author; the eb and flow; the "feel" of what the book was portraying was what I was used to. To move on to the content of the book itself, I was very shocked at the actual age of Porsche in comparison to the life experiences being told in the book. Now I understand that kids grow up fast, but not THIS fast. Considering that the setting was placed back in the early 90's it was a tad of from reality. Throughout the book, Porsche accomplishes some unbelievable things; and i mean unbelievable. She raised $50,000 of her own money before the mere age of 14 or so, took care of drug-addicted mother, was not traditionally educated in school, and was able to duck under the noses of seemingly level-headed adults for years and years without question. This just isn't possible! I did appreciate how the author gave Elisha a dream, and he followed through with it. Though quite a fairytale (and I get that this i fiction), it does encourage readers to hope. Lastly the multiple personalities that made Porsche; Siri and Ivory; I found myself confused. I gathered that Ivory wasn't, but Siri was another person within Porsche all this time? The book started out SO slow, then suddenly speeds up! When the "dark, handsome fellow" (won't reveal his name) finds Porsche to reveal her past in living color, I was confused as to whether ANY of the stories had happened or if she was only DREAMING about all of those events. The gentleman says that she was released from an institution after being expelled from the juvenile prison. So did the Indian Reservation ever happen? Because I could not really place the validity of the book's events in a chronicological fashion, it made this a difficult read. Somewhere, there is a disconnection. As we know with SS, her lead characters are usually very young in age and they lead very extravagant, unimaginable lives. This was nothing new, however because of the age and events that happen with her characters, one question leads to other questions. Some we cannot answer which ultimately starts to crumble to story altogether. We barely got a real glimpse into Winter's story, and top things off, this story was a challenge to follow. It definitely was not a "cover-to-cover" read that one is thirsty to finish in a couple days. I gave 1 star because I bought the book, and another star simply out of respect for SS. I can read TCWE 4 and 5 times over front to back, but this one I will never pick up again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    As much as I wanted to love A Deeper Love Inside, I just could n

    As much as I wanted to love A Deeper Love Inside, I just could not. Don't get me wrong, I still believe Sista Soulja is one of the best African American writers of our generation but for a 14 year hiatus this book definitely could have been better. The story itself was touching but it seems to me that Sista Soulja has some strange obsession with polygamy and teen marriages. The "multiple" relationships are so off kilter that they threw the storyline off for me. Her writing style was much the same as The Coldest Winter Ever which I thought was odd because of how Midnight: A Gangsta Love Story was written. Porsche's character in this book was way different from the Porsche we were introduced to in The Coldest Winter Ever. Once again found myself disappointed in Sista Soulja's incomplete/inadequate writing. I thought to give her another try after Midnight but the combination of two books that appeared to have been rushed and sloppily thrown together have dissuaded me from continuing the journey with her. Much love and respect to Soulja, I just feel like after more than a 10 year break with your fans waiting, this could have been way better. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This was just wretched...

    I loved Coldest Winter and Midnight, but this book had me making faces of disgust. I get the main character is troubled, but it troubled me everytime she went to sleep as I knew what was coming next-a sniff of the fingers. I also could not believe this kid and her incontinance. The label name dropping was ridiculous- Cartier watch and Birkin bag...quit it. The story was depressing, sex scenes disturbing, and the imaginary friend was creepy. I finished out of pure curiosity and would not suggest anyone read this who is not lookimg for a good bit of laughter and repulsion. I gave it two stars only because I like the cover and think that everyone makes mistakes...star two was a pity star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I'm usually at a disadvantage when reading novels by Sister Soul

    I'm usually at a disadvantage when reading novels by Sister Souljah because I read The Coldest Winter Ever when it was first released so most of these characters are no longer in the forefront of my mind. Even though these books stand very well on their own, I still plan to go back and read it in order to clarify some things.




    A Deeper Love Inside tells the story of Porsche Santiago the younger sister of Winter and the middle daughter of Ricky and what happens to her in the aftermath of the crumbling of her father's empire by law enforcement. Although the book can be found in the Fiction (or African-American Fiction in some stores) section, what really happens on these pages is pure magical fantasy. I should have learned my lesson from Midnight and its sequel Midnight and The Meaning of Love and not picked this one up. Porsche is supposed to be between the ages of 10 to 14 in this book, and just like Midnight, was overwhelmingly resourceful for someone with limited education. The journey that she takes from juvenile hall to look for her fractured family finds her in situations that no 11 year old in modern times would find themselves in. I almost want to tell people to read it just so see how ludicrous it is that a preteen can go from juvie, to a Native American reservation, to living off the grid in New York taking care of her junkie mother, to traveling the world as a dancer, and becoming wealthy...all before the age of 14. 




    Other holdovers from the Midnight books are that, once again, Muslim women are to be revered and cared for, while Black women are still "gold-digging, violent, whores" (quoting myself). One thing is clear, though, other than re-reading The Coldest Winter Ever, I won't be picking up any more fiction by Sister Souljah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    This definitely was not what I expected.  I felt like this story

    This definitely was not what I expected.  I felt like this story was thrown together.  There are alot of unanswered questions like the dancing, Riots true intentions, her fathers letters, etc.  I enjoy a great read but this unfortunately was not one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I am a fan of Sistah Souljah. While I don't expect her to top T

    I am a fan of Sistah Souljah. While I don't expect her to top The Coldest Winter Ever, I loved that book, I have doubts about A Deeper Love. I loved how the author gave us the pre-quell of Santiaga's story, however, I encountered sufficient doubt while reading the unimaginable and seemingly fantastic story of an 11 year old. I don't doubt that there are young people that severe, that strong. For me it didn't translate well. The life of survival behind juvenile prison walls and the desire to escape and survive stuck, the life afterward resonated as far-fetched and so unbelievable I dazed and skimmed. It felt like an adult telling the story of a ten year old we'd want to believe in but couldn't be. The truth of the story didn't resonate. Toward the end of the story I got the schizophrenia, to cope but believed the person to be real, present and genuine because it was presented that way. I mean everyone was okay with the imaginary friend? I get the person who loves and knows you best copes, but everyone? I was stopped at many points. The story was inconsistent and unresolved. I can't endorse it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I read this book. It was a slow read for me. I loved the coldest

    I read this book. It was a slow read for me. I loved the coldest winter ever. It could of been more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Waste of Time!

    This is a female version of the "Midnight" books. What's with writing about kids that do unbelievable things? Should be classified as Fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Big disappointment

    I couldnt wait to read this book. It shouldnt of never been a part two. I wish i could get ma money back...... The coldest winter ever was the best book n should of left it as that....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Deeper love inside supposingly the sequel to the coldest winter ever

    Ok I just finished reading the book, this should have been Porsche book. Not even close to a sequel. The book jumped all over the place. Giving too much information about people whom it shouldnt have. Like Elisha family, who care about his sister and his brother and what college they went to and what their name mean. The book should have ended somewhere after the mothers funeral. It went on to far, it was unrealistic. A 16 year old uneducated, married mother of one and one on the way, self made millionaire. It was a different read definitely. I completed it because i wanted to know the end but was very tired of it. I did feel sorry for her and what she went through with her mom. But what 10 year old does that. She went far and beyond to help her mom the way only a adult could do But wouldnt attempt after so many failures with a person. It was extreme. The entire book was extreme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    It was just...ok

    It was a very slow read for me. I didnt understand the need for all the detail of Riot's life or the drawn out story on the farm. I think it took too long to uncover that Porsche had schizophrenia especially since Siri had a huge role in the story. But then Porsche never received treatment for it; everyone just accepted her...really? Also like other reviews stated it wasnt believable that Porsche was 10 in how she spoke and thought. Idk i didnt think it was great at all. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    expected more

    The Coldest Winter ever was a great book. This book, however, wasn't good at all. Totally disappointed..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Still reading so far, I cant believe this girl is only 10 and no

    Still reading so far, I cant believe this girl is only 10 and not 40!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    First things first, I wish people would stop making reviews abou

    First things first, I wish people would stop making reviews about not receiving the book or know it's going to be good without even reading the book first. It makes a person think by just looking at the rating distribution only that this book was great. This book was far from great. I did not think I was reading the sequel to the Coldest Winter Ever. It felt like I was reading a whole new book. It's sad to say I had to put it down midway through. It was that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very different from previous novels. Not realistic at all. Porsc

    Very different from previous novels. Not realistic at all. Porsche is a young child making statements and observations that are too majture for her age. Street wise or not, the character was too knowlegeable about life yet naive about things that should have been obvious to a three year old. Sorrly did not like this story at all. First person narrative is just not cutting it for a novel. Flashbacks and tells of dancing by young girl is just unbelievable..Very disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    OK READ

    Definitely not a page turner like the first one! A VERY slow read. I was slightly disappointed as i would have liked to have seen more interaction with Winter & maybe even a visit to see her dad. Would have liked to read more about her relationship with the twins as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Sad to say

    I must I was very disappointed with this book it started off very boring an all over the place there were alot of unrealistic things going on but it seems to me tht sista souljah has lost her touch first off it took her way to long to come out with this sequel so it doesn't go right with the coldest winter ever or flow as well as its predecessor I will not be buying another book ill get them from the library from now on... but it didn't get good till she reunited with Elisha to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2