Customer Reviews for

A Deeper Love Inside: The Porsche Santiaga Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

bosslady

I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

posted by 16898766 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever&quo

I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pi...
I continue to be a huge fan of "The Coldest Winter Ever". The fast-paced, drama-filled life of Winter Santiaga was one non-stop roller coaster ride until the very end. Tightly written, brimming with tension, disappointments, danger, and constant genius plot pivots, "Coldest Winter" is still the undisputed #1 street lit book ever written.

Okay, so the bottom line is...if you buy "A Deeper Love Inside", understand that you will read something different than "Coldest Winter". Not necessarily bad. Just different. The marketing material (and I blame the book advertisers for this), bills this as THE sequel to "Coldest Winter". This is simply not true. While it is related to Winter's story, it does not come anywhere close to being the sequel.

The plot is paced differently than "Coldest Winter" You will read a slower-paced, less detail-filled, less action-packed story. While there is action, a lot of it is told in flashback, commentary mode (lots of telling, but not as much showing). For example, instead of starting the book with Porsche's detailed view of the night the police took her father (which I think would have been a brilliant beginning), it started with Porsche's opinion on women.

Another difference you will notice is structure. "Coldest Winter" used a straight-forward story-telling approach (starts with Winter as a young teen, then ends after her 18th birthday). "A Deeper Love" was a little confusing, because Porsche starts out sounding like an older teenager talking about "queens", then we read about her being 10, then 8 when she goes to juvy, then 10 when she meets Riot.

Another jarring point was the voice issues. The whole time she uses the same voice which makes her sound about 19 years old throughout. While you will understand the story, the idea of a very young child using extremely mature commentary is a little unsettling. It's kind of hard to be world-weary at the ripe old age of 10, unless your parents were so unwise that you had to raise yourself (cook, clean, shop, etc.). Since we all know this was not the case (Porsche's mother and father DID raise and care for her until the drug raid), that makes the "mature as street kid" view kind of hard to digest. Also, a young girl who stabs her caseworker in the neck, paralyzes her, and does not care is a psychopath, not a hero - so this fact made it hard for me to root for Porsche. (Yes, in "Coldest Winter", Winter did go upside an old lady's head with a sock full of rocks, but that was so far into the story that her desperation drove her to it.).

Anyway, all that being said, "A Deeper Love Inside" is the story of Porsche Santiaga. It is not Winter Santiaga. It is not Winter's voice or a continuation of her fascinating story. Period. If you are hoping to read this book to bring that tension-filled, gut-clenching, rollercoaster ride feeling back, that won't happen. However, if you are looking to find out what happened to Porsche and how she feels about it, go on and read and enjoy this book.

Authors do change their styles all the time. It is possible that Sistah Souljah's writing journey has taken her to the place where she wants to write about characters and their thoughts rather than write in an action-paced, non-stop plot change fashion. Both types of artistry are fine. As the reader though, you can decide which type you would like to read.

posted by 17204712 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    bosslady

    I have not read it yet but if its half as good as coldest winter ever its going to be great #.. i cant wait to read it

    21 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    She's Beautiful.  And Porsche Santiaga's beauty saves her.  When

    She's Beautiful.  And Porsche Santiaga's beauty saves her.  When we first meet her in the juvenile detention center she doesn't sound beautiful.  In fact the story of how she came to be there is horrific and almost makes you want to close your eyes, turn away, and give up on this obviously "lost cause".  But if you make it to Chapter 2 you cant help but see the love rooted inside her, begging to be nurtured so that it can bloom.  
    Sister Souljah bravely tackles the issue of mental health in this story.  Especially in the black community It is very taboo and not often talked about or treated, yet most of us know someone who's a little bit "off".  When Porsche creates and introduces us to her second personality, we readers gradually come to understand her function and the truth of her nonexistence and it doesn't distract us from the story at all.  Masterfully done.
    As we follow Porche through her daring escape, time on an Indian reservation, and eventually back to her drug addicted mother, we hurt for her, with her, and ultimately root for her as she grows, matures, and eventually finds a love of her own.  We breathe a collective sigh of relief each time a new protector shows up in her life and we applaud each and every tiny victory in her life that keeps her from succumbing to the horrors that surround her.    Most importantly, we appreciate hearing the gritty truth and that Souljah doesn't turn this into a fake "happily ever after tale".   
    Porsche story is both a cautionary tale and a ray of hope for those who wonder if the Winters of the world can be saved.  Its a guide to surviving the coldest winters of life.  She is lovely but not conceited. Loyal but wise.  Bent but never broken.  It seems that every crossroads Porche arrives at, her steps are guided down the correct path where Winter barreled head first down the wrong one.  Hers is a story of choices properly made and opportunities not missed.  A story of love freely and honestly given and the healing power of its yield.  It's a beautiful story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Amazing

    This story is a very good sequal. I wished winter had more dialogue in story but its really interesting and, you learn so much more about thier and family and just life tips im gerneral. I suggest everyone to read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Beautifully Written

    I found this book to be even more moving than its predecessor!! At the end of 'The Coldest Winter Ever' when everyone was at the gravesite, I assumed Porsche succeeded where Winter didn't. I absolutely LOVE this story. If you're expecting Winter's story with more crazy drama, don't read it. It tells the story from Porsche's view from the time their dad was arrested. It is NOT about Winter.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    STILL WAITING ON MY COPY.......HEMINGWAY OF THE HOOD. LOVE U GIR

    STILL WAITING ON MY COPY.......HEMINGWAY OF THE HOOD. LOVE U GIRL. KEEP EM COMMING BIG UP AND MAD LOVE MANY BLESSINGU R THE COLDEST WRITER EVER!!!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I love this book. What I want people to realize is that this was

    I love this book. What I want people to realize is that this was Porschas story not Winters, The book is not called The Coldest Winter Ever part 2. This book was everything to me. A true modern day love story. Great job!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    What a Roller Coaster

    This book was slow at first and then it ended with a Bang!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This novel was SOOOOOOO good!!! I dont even know what else to sa

    This novel was SOOOOOOO good!!! I dont even know what else to say. The way she writes a story is remarkable

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Yes honey !!!!!!!

    Yes honey !!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I haven't read this book yet. But of course it is long overdue.

    I haven't read this book yet. But of course it is long overdue. I have bee waiting since senior year of high school, almost 13 years. I know this book will be just as good as The Coldest Winter Ever and Midnight.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Real

    I love this book way more than the coldest winter ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    5 stars

    Have read this numerous times. Great read after coldest winter ever, another fav.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    You never know

    Most of ya'll say its unrealistic but you dont know if it can happen to someone her age or not. Nowadays people are sick minded and do what thay please. Also they feel its not their responsiblity to do stuff if they don't want to do it so you never know. The possibilites are endless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Love

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    If yourlooking for the whole story

    I found a lot of the reviews as misleading if you have been following sister souljahs work you would pick up on the fact that she was taking you away from winters story to give you some character background (which i love) like with midnight and she did the same with this story i liked how she slowed the pace down in this book so that you can see where the maturity of the character comes from because porschesstory starts when she is so young the slower pace helped me see her mature due to sercumstance. I thought this was a great sequal it gave you another character profile while catching you up on what happend when winters story ends i think anyone who cah see that sister souljah is slowly bringing this story together will enjoy this part as well its a great read i thourouly enjoyed it *spoiler alert* i think emanuals desire to tell rickys story is where the bridge between midnight and the santiagas will come in but thats just my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I enjoyed this book!

    I am anxiously waiting for the next book to see where she takes me with the Santiago family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    OMG !!! , This book was the best book i have read in my entire l

    OMG !!! , This book was the best book i have read in my entire life . Its so , intriguing and to me its honestly like watching a movie .
    I can't find the words or even explain how much this book moved me , i didn't want to put it down . People , if you are thinking about reading
    this book , i think you should . !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Loved IT!

    Cant wait to read the next book in the Santiaga family. I never expected this turn out for Porshe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Fgfdjbcdgwftfhfnffimcbhfd

    Mbfe4445$44&5*;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6