Customer Reviews for

A Delicate Truth

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Delicate Truth is a total joy to read. Classic in style while

A Delicate Truth is a total joy to read. Classic in style while remaining current with wonderful characters as only le Carre can create.

The exploration of ' soldiers for hire' supported financially by wealthy political blocs with an agenda is fascinating and the...
A Delicate Truth is a total joy to read. Classic in style while remaining current with wonderful characters as only le Carre can create.

The exploration of ' soldiers for hire' supported financially by wealthy political blocs with an agenda is fascinating and their collaboration with duplicitous politicians elected to 'serve' from both sides of the ocean is perfection. As always le Carre has a deft understanding of the capacity for those in power to justify anything and for those who serve to be outraged and sometimes do something. I know I will read this again as I have so many of le Carre's creations, just to savor his style and descriptive sentences -such beautiful sentences- that make one go back just to taste them again !

posted by Betty_V on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Yet again, many of the ratings, good and bad, are by texters vis

Yet again, many of the ratings, good and bad, are by texters visiting among themselves. None of them reflect actual readers views. To give a book 5 stars or 1 star just because you have to rate to review, is ridiculous. It's time BN starts taking this book review pag...
Yet again, many of the ratings, good and bad, are by texters visiting among themselves. None of them reflect actual readers views. To give a book 5 stars or 1 star just because you have to rate to review, is ridiculous. It's time BN starts taking this book review page seriously and reviews the 'reviews' before they are posted. Everyone - start flagging the texters as 'not helpful' and report the review as off topic or inappropriate content.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    A Delicate Truth is a total joy to read. Classic in style while

    A Delicate Truth is a total joy to read. Classic in style while remaining current with wonderful characters as only le Carre can create.

    The exploration of ' soldiers for hire' supported financially by wealthy political blocs with an agenda is fascinating and their collaboration with duplicitous politicians elected to 'serve' from both sides of the ocean is perfection. As always le Carre has a deft understanding of the capacity for those in power to justify anything and for those who serve to be outraged and sometimes do something. I know I will read this again as I have so many of le Carre's creations, just to savor his style and descriptive sentences -such beautiful sentences- that make one go back just to taste them again !

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Yet again, many of the ratings, good and bad, are by texters vis

    Yet again, many of the ratings, good and bad, are by texters visiting among themselves. None of them reflect actual readers views. To give a book 5 stars or 1 star just because you have to rate to review, is ridiculous. It's time BN starts taking this book review page seriously and reviews the 'reviews' before they are posted. Everyone - start flagging the texters as 'not helpful' and report the review as off topic or inappropriate content.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the present atmosphere of clandestine operations, the result

    In the present atmosphere of clandestine operations, the result of which the public has been ill-informed and too often kept in the dark, John Le Carre has fashioned a novel built around a bungled black op covered up for three years. The story begins with the hatching of “Operation Wildfire,” comprising British special force soldiers and American mercenaries employed by a private company. The aim is to capture an arms dealer who, according to intelligence, is to visit the British colony of Gibraltar.

    A Foreign Office functionary is selected to be the on-the-spot eyes-and-ears for a minister of Her Majesty, nominally in charge of the operation. Like many such actions, it results in failure, but is declared a total success, despite the fact that two innocents are killed and the subject never captured. Three years later, various persons, directly or tangentially, separately begin to question the silence and attempt to uncover the facts. The promised “transparency” never seems to arrive.

    After a somewhat muddled beginning, in which Mr. Le Carre jumps all around, a bit confusing to the reader, he begins to move the plot straightforwardly and with dispatch. The author raises the basic question of right and wrong, also lambasting the use of private armies to wage “little wars” around the globe and old boy networks where mistakes are covered up and witnesses bought off. A topic that is, unhappily, very timely.

    Recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Awful

    Have been reading Le Carre for 20+ years. This book is the worst. Almost incomprehensible plot.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    ?????????

    Like a Seinfeld (sic) TV show, about nothing!! Nothing happens, no
    resolution, stupid ending!! I have read everything Le Carre has
    ever written and I think maybe he is deceased and they brought in
    a ghost writer who couldn't figure out how to end it so he just stopped
    and put it up for sale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Vintage Le Carre

    A very fine example of the kind of self-serving chicanery that may never see the light of day. One has to wonder whether or not "fiction" is a vehicle to reveal a "truth".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    I am 71 years old and have read all my adult life. I read about

    I am 71 years old and have read all my adult life. I read about 100 books a year. A Delicate Truth is possibly the WORST book I have ever read. I would rate it below 1 star.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Vintage LeCarre'

    This is the LeCarre' that I haven't seen since the Smiley series. Great read. Great new character.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Typical Le Carre. Liked very much.

    I had to work to read this book but it was worth it. The problem was the many characters he introduced. I finally kept a written list of their names and referred to the list when I got confused.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fabulous read. If you like well-plotted novels with me

    This is a fabulous read. If you like well-plotted novels with memorable characters, you'll love this book. Le Carre has never been better. Dale

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    a fine le Carre

    le Carre
    returns to the yarns and convoluted stories which we so much enjoy. His characters are believable and true to form . There are no great surprises but a warm feeling of a good read .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    *****

    Excellent read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Very up-to-date but not as psychologically grabbing as his earli

    Very up-to-date but not as psychologically grabbing as his earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    His best novel in years

    Some of LeCarre's recent novels have been thin on the character development and plot twists that have distinguished his earlier work. While perhaps still not as gripping as the Smiley trilogy, A Delicate Truth was for me his best work in a number of years. The main characters are more fully developed and we learn more about them and in the case of Kit his family.

    The nature of the story and its moral are very apropos in today's world of hidden government and private contractors. And the ending was just right for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Exceptional.  Would that our elected leaders would read it.

    Exceptional.  Would that our elected leaders would read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Return to fine form This is Le Carré's best novel since The Cons

    Return to fine form
    This is Le Carré's best novel since The Constant Gardener. He is my favorite contemporary writer, and I read all his books. In my opinion, Le Carré's output was somewhat erratic in late 80s and 90s, as the Cold War ended. Still fine novels, interesting reads, but not on par with his Smiley classics of 1970s. Then, Le Carré had a hit in The Constant Gardener - his best novel, I think, since The Little Drummer Girl. It was followed by a number of rather less enticing stories. And now, finally, A Delicate Truth: edgy, well-constructed, spot-on story of post-recession, post-privacy, post-democracy world of corporate power that we live in. This is just as relevant as The Constant Gardener was 12 years ago and, if anything, is even better laid out, but just as chillingly realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Hunter's Story: Chapter Three

    †ONE WEEK LATER† "Are you COMPLETELY sure it was her?" asked Nightstar. "Yes," said Sunsetfire. "I proved it." Nightgod closed his eyes. "Not during the fight with Darkness..." Nightgod knew that once he did this, there would be no going back, but he had no other choice. He had to kill the imposter. "Oceanblaze! Watch the camp" Nightgod said. Nightgod walked into the nursery, claws unsheathed.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Andrea

    Hey

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Karson

    Where should we go?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Ashley to All

    Has anybody seen Alex? I was supposed to talk to her but my wifi was messed up.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2