Customer Reviews for

A Diamond In My Pocket

Average Rating 4.5
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(465)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

This book is pleasant.

I hardly write reviews, but this book is very entertaining and well thought out. I read it in a few hours after getting it earlier in the day. I can't believe it's free, and now i will go look for the others in the series. =)

posted by 6061649 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Different

A fantasy style read. Not a bad read, and the author brings some imaginative concepts to life. I think this could also be considered a teenage read.

posted by 7863911 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Different

    A fantasy style read. Not a bad read, and the author brings some imaginative concepts to life. I think this could also be considered a teenage read.

    37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great book

    At first it seemed kinda weird but once i got over that it was a pretty good book you should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    It's a roller coaster

    To be honest i dont know how to feel about this book. While the story line of the book was interesting and unique by comparrison of other sciance fiction books, there were some cons. First off the dialogue and word choices that the author uses change through out the book. It went from regular everyday talk to almost a dark ages knightly communication where characters say things like,"Leave her be." Also there where some typos where you kind of understood what the author was trying to say but it wasn't put right. Almost like talking to someone that was just learning english. Also i feel as if in some parts of the book the writting was a bit cheesy and rushed through just to get to the next part. Along with that, as interesting as the book was the begining was boring while the events leading to the climax where gripping. And lastly to be blunt, in my oppinion the ending sucked. While it may sound like i am completely hating on this book did enjoy it to some extent but did have thought of not finishing it. If you where looking to see if you should read this book its all up to you and you might just find yourself a new favorite read or an annoyed passion towards this book, but i do recommend you read this. You might just find yourself with a diamond in your pocket in the form of this book on your nook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2015

    Audra

    I'm 11 and I thought it said to many bad words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Okay,so the begining was good then it got weird.

    I thought it would be about track so i read it because i am in track but no it was about weird powers and magic"/ so if u like thar stuff have fun reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Just a Bit

    I liked this book just a bit. Thing is, I'm not big on fantasy. Loved the ending though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Okay

    The stry line was good but the author didnt develop the characters until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Shiuld i get it

    Should i?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    So so.........

    So far its oh i don't knew really its good but its bad in someplaces........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Hobbit

    It was ok its sorta weird its confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Havent read it yet

    I still havent read it yet but it soinds like a really good book kind of one of the reveiws has me kind of wondering if i should get it need some feedback please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    It was a great concept

    The horrible thing about this book is that it could have been great. While the idea and plot themselves were well thought through, but the characters fell flat and the writing was not evolved enough for a character as old as Calli.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I liked this book

    And I've already read book two.... well worth reading but reader beware... . The books do not stand on their own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Asdfghjklqwertyuiopzxcvbnm

    Lgdadfghnhhytewsddgghjkkuutrfdaxcvbbnmkloiez?abcdefghijklmnopqrs
    Tuvwxyz!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Surprisingly thrilling.

    Didn't expect this to be so good. It had a lot of action in it. Wasn't the most well written out, but it was surprisingly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    ?..

    It was ok but not to great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Age

    I no its in the teen section but what is the minimum age for tjis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Good.... Kinda.

    This book was interesting but a little cheesey. The hole Runners Clan Idea was cool and you could of defiantly made a amazing story out of it. Sadly, it just felt a little...overwhelming. Especially when she starts to posses all of the powers. Her personality is also a little wishy-washy. It seems like she's almost changing characters in different seans. It wasn't a waste of time by reading, but it wasn't the best. It's a book that deserves three stars but defiantly nothing more.
    By the way I am 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    The premise of this book was imaginative, and the plot was inter

    The premise of this book was imaginative, and the plot was interesting. However, the author would have greatly benefitted from an editor. There were many word choice errors, "should of" instead of "should have" and "implemented" rather than "implanted" to name a couple, that were distracting and unprofessional. None of the character relationships were particularly believable, but the story was entertaining. I will not be purchasing the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    :)

    Very good book, but a little inacurrate. This girl has hearing problems, but she describes the teachers & students' voices as if she had no hearing what so ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3