Customer Reviews for

Dog Called Kitty

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Two years ago Ricky, now going into fifth grade, along with his

    Two years ago Ricky, now going into fifth grade, along with his father, mother, and younger brother Chuckie, moved from their apartment house in St. Louis, MO, to a 160-acre farm near Chickasha, OK.  He likes to play football, and his best friend at school is Brad McNeil.  One summer day a stray puppy comes to the farm.  But Ricky is afraid of it; in fact, he is scared of all dogs because he was attacked by a rabid dog when he was just a toddler and had to get painful rabies shots.   However, Ricky feels sorry for the new puppy because it comes to eat when his mom calls “here kitty” to feed the cats, but they run it off, so it never gets any food. As a result of this, the dog gets the name of Kitty.




    Ricky then musters all his courage, begins to feed the pup, and gradually overcomes his fear of dogs.  One freezing evening the following winter, while his father is out of town, Ricky and Kitty are out looking for a heifer with a newborn calf when they are savagely attacked by a group of wild dogs who are stalking the two cows.  What will happen to them?  Will they even survive?  And if so, will Ricky have to have rabies shots again?  Before I read this book, I looked at some reviews, and the main complaints about it were too much violence, cruelty, and sadness at the ending, so I was prepared not to like the book, but I actually did like it.  Especially sensitive children might want to avoid it, but I think that most middle school age kids would enjoy it.  As to violence, yes, some fighting occurs.  A bully picks on Ricky, and he stands up for himself.  Cruelty?  Local farmers are baiting coyotes and wild dogs to protect their livestock.  Animal rights activists may not like it, and even Ricky says that it is awful, but something has to be done for the farmers to make a living.




    Many children’s dog stories traditionally have sad endings, such as Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows, but there is usually a ray of hope.  I must admit that the conclusion here seemed a little abrupt and maybe somewhat forced.   Yet, there is still that ray of hope.  Aside from a few common euphemisms and some childish slang (danged, darn, peed), the only language issue about which parents might be concerned is that when their truck gets stuck in the field, Ricky says, “I never dreamed Mama knew the words she let out then.  Daddy said things like that when he was special mad at one of the cows or when the tractor wouldn’t start….When she saw me listening, she slapped a hand over her mouth” and said, “I ever hear you repeating any of those words, I’ll blister your behind.”  However, no actual words of cursing or profanity are found.  The book has won the Texas Bluebonnet, the Oklahoma Sequoyah, and the Nebraska Golden Sower Awards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    i love it !

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT I READ IT 3RD THREW 6TH EVERY YEAR IT WAS SO GOOD BUT SAD AT THE SAME TIME :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    5th graders with enjoy

    Bill Wallace is a great writer. My daughter was having reading issues in school until we found Mr. Wallace. She (and I) rave about his books, and her classmates are enjoying his books as well. Thank you for the wonderful stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    A great book for people who loves dogs

    I am a 12 year old who read this book in 4th or 5th grade. this is a book that if you love dogs you should read this book. i felt like a nerd because i was reading the book and just sitting there crying so hard because this is a sad book for people like me, an animal lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a great book! It is about a boy who fears dogs and find a stray and decides to take care of the stray. They called the dog Kitty because he always tried to eat the cat food. There are many adventures so read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Its a dog lover book with a bit of mystery in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Awesome book! I loved it!

    I was a really good book. It made me cry sometimes. This is one of my favorite books I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    This book is NOT what it appears to be!

    The cover is cute and the description leads you to believe it is a cute story of a boy and his dog. DO NOT buy this book if you have a sensitive child! The dog dies cruelly, and there is a lot of tough talk throughout the book. My 8-year-old cried for hours at the ending. DO NOT buy this book if your kids are even slightly afraid of dogs. Dogs are portrayed as dangerous often in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    This book was great, but sad.

    I new I would love this book when I saw it because I have always loved dogs and puppys. I checked it out at my school libray, read it loved it, and bought my own. After I read it I loved it more! Bethy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    A Dog Called Kitty

    In my book A Dog Called Kitty a boy named Ricky lives in St.Louis, but not for long. Ricky¿s dad bought a house in Oklahoma and forgot to tell his family. After a few weeks on the farm Ricky got use to the chores that he had to do and he found a dog on the way to the barn. He named it Kitty. The book¿s theme is easy to tell bravery from Kitty and Ricky. The message is easy as well. No matter how you look you can always be sweet on the inside. The author made it very clear that Ricky will do any thing to save his dog Kitty. I love the amazing way the author put his words into sentences. I also love the way the author did so many beautiful pictures in his book. I highly recommend this book to all ages. I really loved reading this book I know you will to!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    GREAT book! Loved it, but sad

    it was a great book i couldnt stop reading it, I didn't want to go to sleep when I had to. BUT when i finished the book i didn't like the ending, i felt that the dog shouldnt have of died. T_T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    SAD

    I got this book because my mom and i saw it and thought it looked like a good book.I started reading it and it seemed good until the ending part.Usually stories end with a happy anding but this one could make you cry.I wouldn't read this unless you are ready to be depressed while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Okay, but very sad

    I bought this book thinking it would be a good, happy book, it wasn't. It was good reading, but it was very sad. I have read other Wallace books, and it seemes each one was sad and against animals. I won't be reading any more Wallace books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    My Favorite Book In the universe

    A dog called Kitty is a very sad story that has a huge impact on your heart.Ricky is a great role model and makes you feel like you can do anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Taylor :animal lover

    happy then sad then happy what a wonderful book my personal favorite this boy Ricky should be a role model for everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Awful!

    The book Dog Called Kitty was a major dissapointment. Some sad books are enjoyable to read, such as, Where the Red Fern Grows, but this book was a disaster! Not only was the ending a letdown, the author used no litery devices to spruce things up. I felt sick to my stomach after reading this book, but you can make your own decions regarding, Dog Called Kitty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    The Best Book in the world!!! * 1 Fan *

    oh, man where do I begin?! This is BY FAR THE BEST BOOK EVER!! i have read this book several times and EVERY time it has made me cry. No book can compare. Bill Wallace is THE best author EVER! even, the thought of this book makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Very memorable!

    I read this book in elementary school, over 15 years ago, and still remember how I loved it! It's very touching and great for kids and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2001

    Sad but Good

    This is one of my favorite books!!!!!!!! It was sad, still a great story. Everybody should read this book. I loved it. I read this book a couple years ago, and have read so many other great books, but this one is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    The Best Book!!!

    I liked this book because it was sad. The best part was when Ricky started to like dogs. If you want to find out more about this book, read it and find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2