Customer Reviews for

A Dog's Journey: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

A Dog's Journey Is An Emotional Journey Masterpiece!

When I reviewed W. Bruce Cameron's A Dog's Purpose I said that it is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! So, just prior to starting A Dog's Journey, Cameron's sequel to A Dog's P...
When I reviewed W. Bruce Cameron's A Dog's Purpose I said that it is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! So, just prior to starting A Dog's Journey, Cameron's sequel to A Dog's Purpose, I was concerned about being disappointed because I didn't see how it could come close to being as good. Then, I read the book, which took me a while to finish since the water build-up in my eyes got heavier and heavier the closer I came to the end. Could that water build-up have been tears? I don't know what it was but all I know is that I wished my glasses had wipers attached to them. My bottom line opinion of A Dog's Journey is that, as hard as it may seem to believe, it is even better than A Dog's Purpose! I can't recommend this book highly enough to all dog lovers or anyone who will allow themselves to feel all of the emotions associated with life (and death). Do yourself a favor and consider A Dog's Journey a MUST read. However, if you haven't already read A Dog's Purpose, I'd highly recommend you read it before A Dog's Journey in order to get the maximum enjoyment from the latter. Just as in my review of A Dog's Purpose, I won't summarize the plot even a little bit because the potential reader will want to experience every aspect of this terrific book without any advance information of what you will experience as you read it. I think the following information from the jacket cover pertaining to the essence of A Dog's Journey should suffice. This is a charming and heartwarming story of hope, love and unending devotion. It asks the question: Do we take care of our pets, or do they take care of us? More than just another endearing dog tale, A Dog's Journey is the moving story of unwavering loyalty and a love that crosses all barriers. The thought that sums up A Dog's Journey for me in one sentence is: Good golly Miss Molly, you are a true Buddy to the Max! While I know this thought may seem ambiguous now, I think you'll fully understand and agree with it once you have read A Dog's Journey. Well, that's all I'm going to say about this very, very memorable book, which hopefully will be enough to motivate you to read it. I know you'll feel totally enriched with the emotional journey it will take you on. Be forewarned, however, that you'll need to have a box of tissues close by as you read it! Now, just as I did when I finished A Dog's Purpose, I have to go hug my dog, Luigi, and tell him what a good boy he is and give him all the love he deserves.

posted by bobbewig on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Answer too is it for kids or adults

This is defiantly a family book. This is a book also including the first one is good for kids and adults.

posted by 12716607 on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Unbelievable, topped "A Dog's Purpose" in every way!

    Sequels make me nervous, I always worry the author will be more manipulative to try and top themselves (make you care about the characters just to do something shocking, or simply fizzle). If you've read even a single review of "A Dog's Purpose" you know it has been widely accepted as a "classic," or "a must for any dog lover." So you may be wondering (like I was) if Cameron could really out-do himself, I'm thrilled to say he has. If there's any concern in your mind that this book will disappoint you can put it aside, this is another beautifully crafted story that pulls you in from page one and doesn't let go until you've read every word. This is one you'll read cover-to-cover, desperate for more (I even read the acknowledgments, hungry for more text). Without giving too much away I'll say that it continues where the last story ended, and just like the first book you are left feeling perfectly fulfilled when the tale reaches its conclusion. I always say resolution is everything and Cameron leaves nothing to be desired there, this book moved me in a way that very few stories ever have.

    I remember reading books like "Catcher in the Rye" and "Ender's Game" as a young man, the impact those stories had on me has been matched all these years later by this promising author, his books are undoubtedly of the same caliber. They are captivating, invigorating and simply entertaining in the purest sense.

    Personally, if a book doesn't hold my attention after a few chapters, I stop reading (I hate to admit that, but life is too short to waste!) This is a book that's worth every penny, because you'll never stop for a moment to consider whether or not to continue. I was just on their facebook page where readers are pouring in the affection, bragging about finishing the book in the fewest number of hours. Do yourself a favor, look at the overall rating of this novel and the original, then buy them both. It is no coincidence, EVERYONE who reads this book loves it and writes a rave review. You (whoever reads this) are lucky simply to have discovered it here, books like this are WHY WE READ, don't waste another second!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    This was an AMAZING book!! But you have to read A Dogs Purpose first for it to make any sense. That is also an amazing book. You have to make sute that you read more of W. Bruce Cameron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The book

    This is a great book ilove it.its one of the best book ever .I think the auther did a great job.If you do not know if you should get this book I think you would. But if you still dont know you can just get the free sample.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Another amazing book!!

    I love this book the characters and everything especially when the dog tries to please everybody the book is wonderful the arthur is fabulous!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    I just got this delivered to me about 5 hours ago. I am about h

    I just got this delivered to me about 5 hours ago. I am about half way through! What a wonderful story. I don't know how I missed this book. This is a must read for anyone who loves dogs! Love it Love it Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    A Must Read For All Dog Lovers!

    What a wonderful story! I laughed, I cried and I reflected on my own journeys with the dogs that came into my life as I read this book. I loved how the story was told from the dog's point of view and what he felt his purpose was in connection to his beloved human. The ending did not disappoint. I highly recommend this book along with the first book "A Dog's Purpose"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    LUV IT!!!

    I luv this series Its AMAZING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is so good!!!!!! I never ever wanted to put it down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    After reading A Dog's Purpose I found myself wanting more from t

    After reading A Dog's Purpose I found myself wanting more from the book and I was excited to see there was a sequel. Both books were sad (and yes I cried while reading both books). This book is not just for adults but for children also. Once I was done reading it my nephew asked me if I would read it to him....and he loved it. Its hard to say what I liked best because I loved everything about his book...but the ending is what made me cry the most. We've all heard of Rainbow Ridge (the place where animals go to wait for their human) at the end of this book when Toby was passing away he could see all he's human...it made me wonder if there is a Rainbow Ridge where humans wait to be reunited with their beloved pets......you will need a box of tissues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    It was awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is the best book I have ever read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    l'D

    I loved this book in the end i cryed. Please read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Animal lovers great read!

    Like a Dog's purpose by the same author, A Dogs Journey is a story told from the Dog's perspective. Sometimes you laugh and sometimes a tear will fall. A worthy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great book

    This was really good. I read this in 3 nights. Dogs really are Gods gift to humans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Qugbvxf

    Cjtffggfddghv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    I wish I could give these books, like, 20 stars!!!

    I read A Dog's Purpose and cried my eyes out. But when I read A Dog's Journey, that's a whole diifferent story. I bawled. I plain~out bawled!!! I love Camoran's writing, and I love A Dog's Purpose and A Dog's Journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Amazing

    I have read this story three times now and each time am still riveted to it. Must read if you like dog stories but read the first one first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Review "Tetyana

    "I think the book is a heart warming touching story of how we get to see through the dogs eyes" (Tetyana B. 6th grader)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Hmmmm

    A little bit weird because the dog keeps dying and getting reborn and the stlory of clarity is sad and tragic but well writte

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Read it in 2 days

    Beautifully written, this book will run you through the gamut of human AND animal emotions; the final one being Hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Better.than.anything.i.have.ever.read- almost

    Where do I begin?

    This book has almost bumped The Art of Racing in the Rain off of the top of my list. Not quite, but I must say that the writing is just as good or better, and the only reason that it did not was the fact that I had become SOO attatched to Enzo. (Main character in the art of racing in the rain)

    Now to talking about the book. I truly feel bad for people who were born without the ability to feel love or compassion for animals, because THEY are the ones missing out. As we all know, animals were born with a brain because theu aren't stupid and they can certainly think. And as we all know buddy is a smart dog. Buddy is a good dog :D. Buddy, the main character in the novel, is the loyal sweethart who protects CJ through several lifetimes. Hhe is reborn a dog everytime he dies until he has fulilled his purpose. Similar to TAORITR, he is a dog reincarnated. But dont think that the book is like a New age occultic type of novel, it simply says that the dogs are reborn into something new.



    Because books told by dogs are my favorite, I would also reccomend a dog's purpose ( third fav book in the world)
    And a dog's life by Ann M. Martin. A dog's life is a short novella and is a beautifull book. Please, if you do not want to buy it check it out at the library.

    Thank you for reading this review-
    By a twelve year old girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12