BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Dog's Journey

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

A Dog's Journey Is An Emotional Journey Masterpiece!

When I reviewed W. Bruce Cameron's A Dog's Purpose I said that it is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! So, just prior to starting A Dog's Journey, Cameron's sequel to A Dog's P...
When I reviewed W. Bruce Cameron's A Dog's Purpose I said that it is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! So, just prior to starting A Dog's Journey, Cameron's sequel to A Dog's Purpose, I was concerned about being disappointed because I didn't see how it could come close to being as good. Then, I read the book, which took me a while to finish since the water build-up in my eyes got heavier and heavier the closer I came to the end. Could that water build-up have been tears? I don't know what it was but all I know is that I wished my glasses had wipers attached to them. My bottom line opinion of A Dog's Journey is that, as hard as it may seem to believe, it is even better than A Dog's Purpose! I can't recommend this book highly enough to all dog lovers or anyone who will allow themselves to feel all of the emotions associated with life (and death). Do yourself a favor and consider A Dog's Journey a MUST read. However, if you haven't already read A Dog's Purpose, I'd highly recommend you read it before A Dog's Journey in order to get the maximum enjoyment from the latter. Just as in my review of A Dog's Purpose, I won't summarize the plot even a little bit because the potential reader will want to experience every aspect of this terrific book without any advance information of what you will experience as you read it. I think the following information from the jacket cover pertaining to the essence of A Dog's Journey should suffice. This is a charming and heartwarming story of hope, love and unending devotion. It asks the question: Do we take care of our pets, or do they take care of us? More than just another endearing dog tale, A Dog's Journey is the moving story of unwavering loyalty and a love that crosses all barriers. The thought that sums up A Dog's Journey for me in one sentence is: Good golly Miss Molly, you are a true Buddy to the Max! While I know this thought may seem ambiguous now, I think you'll fully understand and agree with it once you have read A Dog's Journey. Well, that's all I'm going to say about this very, very memorable book, which hopefully will be enough to motivate you to read it. I know you'll feel totally enriched with the emotional journey it will take you on. Be forewarned, however, that you'll need to have a box of tissues close by as you read it! Now, just as I did when I finished A Dog's Purpose, I have to go hug my dog, Luigi, and tell him what a good boy he is and give him all the love he deserves.

posted by bobbewig on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Answer too is it for kids or adults

This is defiantly a family book. This is a book also including the first one is good for kids and adults.

posted by 12716607 on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Dog's Journey Is An Emotional Journey Masterpiece!

    When I reviewed W. Bruce Cameron's A Dog's Purpose I said that it is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! So, just prior to starting A Dog's Journey, Cameron's sequel to A Dog's Purpose, I was concerned about being disappointed because I didn't see how it could come close to being as good. Then, I read the book, which took me a while to finish since the water build-up in my eyes got heavier and heavier the closer I came to the end. Could that water build-up have been tears? I don't know what it was but all I know is that I wished my glasses had wipers attached to them. My bottom line opinion of A Dog's Journey is that, as hard as it may seem to believe, it is even better than A Dog's Purpose! I can't recommend this book highly enough to all dog lovers or anyone who will allow themselves to feel all of the emotions associated with life (and death). Do yourself a favor and consider A Dog's Journey a MUST read. However, if you haven't already read A Dog's Purpose, I'd highly recommend you read it before A Dog's Journey in order to get the maximum enjoyment from the latter. Just as in my review of A Dog's Purpose, I won't summarize the plot even a little bit because the potential reader will want to experience every aspect of this terrific book without any advance information of what you will experience as you read it. I think the following information from the jacket cover pertaining to the essence of A Dog's Journey should suffice. This is a charming and heartwarming story of hope, love and unending devotion. It asks the question: Do we take care of our pets, or do they take care of us? More than just another endearing dog tale, A Dog's Journey is the moving story of unwavering loyalty and a love that crosses all barriers. The thought that sums up A Dog's Journey for me in one sentence is: Good golly Miss Molly, you are a true Buddy to the Max! While I know this thought may seem ambiguous now, I think you'll fully understand and agree with it once you have read A Dog's Journey. Well, that's all I'm going to say about this very, very memorable book, which hopefully will be enough to motivate you to read it. I know you'll feel totally enriched with the emotional journey it will take you on. Be forewarned, however, that you'll need to have a box of tissues close by as you read it! Now, just as I did when I finished A Dog's Purpose, I have to go hug my dog, Luigi, and tell him what a good boy he is and give him all the love he deserves.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Excellent sequel to A Dog's Purpose

    You'll laugh.
    You'll cry.
    You'll recommend this novel to others.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read A Dog's Purpose shortly after it's publication in 2010. I

    I read A Dog's Purpose shortly after it's publication in 2010. I have anxiously awaited the release of A Dog's Journey for months. What a great story! I felt like I was reunited with an old friend. Yes, there are tears, laughter, sadness and many heartwarming moments....and again, middle of the night reading because I couldn't put the book down. Bruce Cameron has a gift, the storyline keeps evolving and you feel like you're flowing along with it. I have no idea how someone writes like this. The story is told in the voice of the dog, I imagine it takes a lot of effort to not reveal full details of what is happening for the characters of the story. We find out later in the story, the detail of what has been happening at times when Molly/Max/Toby isn't with CJ. As with A Dog's Purpose, you will look into the eyes of your dog and wonder.....

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    The Best Book In The History Of Books

    When I first read the cover of this book, I knew that it was a must have. Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop. Whenever somebody asked me a question or was trying to start a conversation, I couldn't do anything but ignore them.

    The author of this book has such an amazing talent in the writing field. It had a habit of telling every detail and then going through the years in one page. My all time favorite book WAS A Dog's Life by Anne M. Martin. But now, this is the best book I have ever read in all of my lifetime on Earth.

    As the dog (I'm not saying a particular name because the dog keeps getting re-born with different genders and names) takes me through this adventure chasing Clarity and telling every detail, it feels like I'm actually there. When it's happy, I'm happy. When it's sad, I'm sad. Though, at the end I had to stop evey five minutes to take a break from all of the crying, I still enjoyed the book VERY MUCH and would recommend it to ANYBODY! Me myself wished I never read it so I won't know what's going to happen next.

    I will defiantly be reading this again throughout my life. Not only am I sobbing from th sadneess, I'm also sobbing that it's over! After reading this review I would go and click that purchase button right away!

    What touched my heart the most is that nomatter what, getting re-born or having a different size and/or gender, that dog never stopped chasing what he wanted (which was for Clarity to be safe and happy) He was a front-seat, trustworthy, angel, genius, google dog, but most of all, an example of the PERFECT dog. This book will be in my memories forever and a great start of a book to read on my new NOOK! Do me a favor all you dog lovers out there, and read this. Read this and never forget it as long as you live.


    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    A very easy read and so entertaining.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    LOVEED IT

    I just finished reading this book and I felt extremely compelled to write a review so I did! This is now one of my favoriye books ever!!!!!!! Everbody should definitly read this book!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    An amazing book!

    I could not put this book down! I loved it every bit as the first.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Heart warming!

    I pre-ordered this book in April 2012 after just finishing the first book, "A Dog's Purpose" and I couldn't wait for it to come out. I nearly read it "cover-to-cover" in one sitting. These two books are the best I've read in a long time....and this coming from someone who reads over 100 books a year. Could there ever be a 3rd???

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    :)

    Can wait till march!

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Great book for dog lovers.

    I totally enjoyed this book. If you're a dog lover, enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I love this series!

    Ive read the first book and when i saw this i was like OMG! OMG! This is very inspirational and loveable

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Great Sequel

    I enjoyed reading this book as much as Mr. Cameron's first in the series "A Dog's Purpose". You should read the first one to get all the background of the dog's lives. I could not put it down and it was so easy to read it just flows nicely. Both books are on my re-read list. I am a dog lover having had up to 4 Labs at one time and so I can relate. I often have wonder about where they were before they came to be my family.

    I highly recommend this to every pet lover out there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    a must read for everyone!

    Great follow up to A Dog's Purpose. Easy writing style draws you in from page 1. As a pet owner, I ws emotionally connected to the characters, but this book is a great read for anyone! Really enjoyed the story and how all of thd characters were intertwined-the world really is a small place!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    If I could give it 6 stars, I would!!!

    Anyone who gave this book less than the five stars it deserves has never really conneccted with their furry friend! Cameron has got a gift for making the dog so personable that you won't be able to put his work down!!! The vivid writing and my ability to compare it to my own pooches made me a believer. I hope you enjoy his work as much as I did! I would recommend that you read "A Dog's Purpose" first, so you are up to speed on the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Cant wait to read this!!!!!!

    I looked at the overview it looks like a really good book.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    AMAZING

    I thought this book brought me and others to realize how important `man's best friend' really is. I hope all of you enjoyed this book as much as I did. My that dog rest in peace with his loved ones.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Sequel To A Great Book

    "A Dog's Journey" lives up to "A Dog's Purpose", and all I will say so as not to ruin the story for anyone who has not read it is: Best Ending Ever!!!

    I can't recommend these two books highly enough. They are "un-put-downable", and will be one of the few books I will re-read again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great book!

    Bravo! Loved both books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Unbelievable, topped "A Dog's Purpose" in every way!

    Sequels make me nervous, I always worry the author will be more manipulative to try and top themselves (make you care about the characters just to do something shocking, or simply fizzle). If you've read even a single review of "A Dog's Purpose" you know it has been widely accepted as a "classic," or "a must for any dog lover." So you may be wondering (like I was) if Cameron could really out-do himself, I'm thrilled to say he has. If there's any concern in your mind that this book will disappoint you can put it aside, this is another beautifully crafted story that pulls you in from page one and doesn't let go until you've read every word. This is one you'll read cover-to-cover, desperate for more (I even read the acknowledgments, hungry for more text). Without giving too much away I'll say that it continues where the last story ended, and just like the first book you are left feeling perfectly fulfilled when the tale reaches its conclusion. I always say resolution is everything and Cameron leaves nothing to be desired there, this book moved me in a way that very few stories ever have.

    I remember reading books like "Catcher in the Rye" and "Ender's Game" as a young man, the impact those stories had on me has been matched all these years later by this promising author, his books are undoubtedly of the same caliber. They are captivating, invigorating and simply entertaining in the purest sense.

    Personally, if a book doesn't hold my attention after a few chapters, I stop reading (I hate to admit that, but life is too short to waste!) This is a book that's worth every penny, because you'll never stop for a moment to consider whether or not to continue. I was just on their facebook page where readers are pouring in the affection, bragging about finishing the book in the fewest number of hours. Do yourself a favor, look at the overall rating of this novel and the original, then buy them both. It is no coincidence, EVERYONE who reads this book loves it and writes a rave review. You (whoever reads this) are lucky simply to have discovered it here, books like this are WHY WE READ, don't waste another second!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    This was an AMAZING book!! But you have to read A Dogs Purpose first for it to make any sense. That is also an amazing book. You have to make sute that you read more of W. Bruce Cameron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10