Customer Reviews for

A Door in the Woods (Jimmy Fincher Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny, Action-Packed, and Unforgettable!

    "A Door in the Woods," by James Dashner, acclaimed author of the "13th Reality" series and "The Maze Runner," is the first adventure in the fast-moving "Jimmy Fincher" saga. An exciting roller-coaster ride of a story, this book contains not one dull moment and constantly keeps the reader enthralled and excited to read more! Being the first book Dashner has ever written, this novel is set in first-person as a fourteen-year-old boy named Jimmy Fincher and is something unique and one-of-a-kind, which all readers will find funny, action-packed, and unforgettable!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Adventure!

    "A Door in the Woods" was the first book written be James Dashner and was also the first installment in the "Jimmy Fincher" Saga. Packed with excitement from the first page to the last, this book will pull you in and have you wondering many things until the end and then some. This novel has a unique storyline and Jimmy Fincher---the hero in the story---will have you captivated by his simple humor and lightheartedness. "A Door in the Woods" was a stepping stone, a jumping-off-from point that introduced James Dashner to the world of an author. It also introduced the world of readers to a wonderful author, James Dashner, who has continued to bring great works of literature to the world of books! All in all, this was a great adventure that will leave you with a smile on your face!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Better Than Harry Potter!

    Jimmy Fincher, the schoolboy from Georgia who can't be destroyed, in 'A Door in the Woods', rocks the imagination in ordeal after scary ordeal. Young readers will be held captive until the last inky sentence falls into place. This is a novel that twists and turns until you wonder how things can possibly get any worse. Jimmy beats evil in dynamic Harry Potter style-without the witchcraft!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    James Dashner wrote this book, along with The Maze Runner Series

    James Dashner wrote this book, along with The Maze Runner Series and the 13th Reality Series.  Most people haven't heard about this series, the Jimmy Fincher series, because it isn't very well known. (It took a little while for even me to find.)  In any case, I liked the book. 
    The cover:
    I really liked this cover because of all the little details that are on it.  I don't want to ruin any surprises, so¿ I won't mention them. But, I would suggest finding them after you read the PERSONAL description of the door.  I know that doesn't make any sense right now, but it will!
    My description:
    Jimmy Fincher is just an ordinary, extremely southern kid from Georgia who likes to do ordinary things like climb trees.  That is, until he sees a woman get killed and then gets kidnapped.  Jimmy learns that the world's not what it seems.  Then he gets advice from people that he thought he knew well and from people who are a bit on the crazy side on what to do about the bad guys (characters such as Monster and Raspy).  The only thing that anyone agrees on is that the door in the woods is important, very important.
    Now, my review.  I really liked it.  The whole book had this feel about it; I'm not sure what to call it, but it sounded funny and at the same time sort of intense.  Whatever you call it, it sounded good.  It was written really, really southernly, though.  It was so southern that, being mildly southern, I would have been slightly offended if James Dashner wasn't actually from Georgia.  The only bad thing about it? Jimmy cried a lot in the beginning. I know that's probably what we would all do in that situation, but it was still a bit annoying.
    I would definitely recomend reading it.  It was definitely interesting.

    I wrote the above review a few years back, but I still vividly remember this series.  I LOVE everything James Dashner writes, and this series is both very hard to find a copy of and also very underestimated.  To be fair, it is not as good as the Maze Runner, Mortality Doctorine, or even 13th Reality series.  However, it is still an amazing book that deserves praise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Loved it

    It was awesome book i loved everyone should read it . I am on the second book and so far its awesome! I also think that you should also read the thrid then the fourth. I wonder if their going to make a fifth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Trickle to all

    This is my friend, Tick. She is a snake. She studies prophecies and medicines. Sh lives in my den. My den is tenth result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Lupa

    Kk gtg guys may starclan b with u!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    We are moving again

    Everyone please go to books and scrolls.
    -Fleetfoot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Wolves

    Shadow~ Ok.

    River~ Hello. She said.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Frost

    A white she wolf with silver tipped fur pads in. "Can i join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Thunder

    She looked nervously at shadow then went to result 6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Shade

    Shade smiled and shook out her fur before sitting. "Good, good." She flicked her ears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Hey someplace better

    At books and scrolls there is way more room there sorry last move promise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    James <3

    I love James Dashner books. They are so descriptive and so easy to picture what he is imagining.
    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Best Author/Book I have read in a long time.

    My fourth grade teacher read the first book 'A Door In The Woods' to us, and I went to the library and got hooked on this author and book. I recommend this book to people almost twice a week. I loved it. It shows how authors can come from places other than England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1