Customer Reviews for

A Dream of Death

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A near-perfect mystery that takes place in Canada. Lincoln Munro

A near-perfect mystery that takes place in Canada. Lincoln Munroe is a married detective looking for a serial killer in this police procedural. Its an emotional romp with mostly good red herrings and a dash of romance, upsetting the protag and other characters. However ...
A near-perfect mystery that takes place in Canada. Lincoln Munroe is a married detective looking for a serial killer in this police procedural. Its an emotional romp with mostly good red herrings and a dash of romance, upsetting the protag and other characters. However (the reason for not giving 5 stars), I had a hard time believing in the manner of finding "clues" related to some of the cases. Made the story sound almost like a paranormal. Still a great read! I'm looking forward to Drake's sequel after reading the included excerpt.

posted by ChooseyOne on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Abrupt ending

I enjoyed this book right upp to the end, where it kinda left me hanging. If I wanted to use my imagination to finish the story I would just write my own story. I really hate that.

posted by Nonnietoo on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Abrupt ending

    I enjoyed this book right upp to the end, where it kinda left me hanging. If I wanted to use my imagination to finish the story I would just write my own story. I really hate that.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    good story

    Good story wish the ending had a bit more

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Left Me Hanging

    Overall good book, a little slow in some parts. Didn't quite understand the dynamic between Lincoln and his wife (didn't really care for her). It definitely ended in a way that makes you want to get the second book to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Fast-paced and Fun, if Annoying at Times

    A Dream of Death is a fast-paced and fun crime novel. The plot was pretty interesting and had a degree of realism. Lincoln Monroe, the protagonist, experiences a strong mixture of emotions throughout that the reader gets to watch his character grow and develop in the story. Unfortunately, he is also a self-righteous, agnostic prick through most of it. I say 'agnostic' solely due to the annoying and out of place religious discussions and arguments that sometimes occur, which leads to his arrogant attitude. A minor amount might be realistic, but it seemed a bit overdone for this type of story. I mostly hold contention with the writing style that seemed to be forcing the character's (the author's?) view on the reader, despite the negative flaws of the detective and his logic. Other than that, the story was enjoyable and I liked the struggle Lincoln faced tracking down the serial killer while plagued with dreams of the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Cut Out the Filler

    A decent read but too much filler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Good drama and mystery book

    Kept you guessing. Good suspense plot. It did have harsh language at times. Makes you want to read the other books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Nice plot twists

    One thing leads to another, in a good way. A fun read on vacation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    very good

    keeps your interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good

    With 427 pages This story was a good one. The problem i had was that this story was in London and why does every one drives american cars? They talked about Canada and then Lincoln was an American. The story was really good, but I just wondered who oked this book or tranlated for american readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Not bad

    This was ok reading didn't hate it didn't love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Good, easy read.

    Some typos in the book. A bit unrealistic with the dreams but still a good crime novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Ok read

    This book had an ok plot. Definitely a good read from a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Ok

    The book was not appeling to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Not too good

    It was just ok for me. Plot was pretty good but after while I got really tired of detective crying over everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Good

    Good story, ending leaves you wanting more. Don't want to pay 5 bucks for the next book though. The author paints many word pictures so sometimes it gets a little slow but the story is intriging enough to keep you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Not Good, Not Bad

    Very average book, but good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Is an ok read

    Not a bad read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    It was ok

    This book has more than just crime in it- adultry, family problems, and personal issues fills the book, it starts a little slow, but it's worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Recommend

    Enjoyable reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    !!!

    I live this book. Its really well written and he describes things like u wouldnt belive.. recommended (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3