Customer Reviews for

A Drowned Maiden's Hair: A Melodrama

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Most original heroine since Anne of Green Gables

    Maud, like all the characters, is a fully realized human, full of contradictions and imperfections--and all the more loveable for it. I disagree with calling this a 'melodrama': there is no mustache-twirling villain, and, instead, the action in this unique, highly imaginative and original story is entirely character-driven. What happens (and it's highly entertaining and emotionally gripping) feels inevitable because of who these characters are. I found it completely absorbing (and stayed up way, way later than I should have!) and believed and lived in every word.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Wow

    I havent read the book, but people say its really good. Should I get it or not? BTW what is a melodrama anyway???? Is it a drama with melodies in it or what????? LOLZ!!!!!!!!!!!
    .........yeah, that sounded lame. Please tell me if this book is worth it! (and wat.... i mean what...... a melodrama is)THANX!!!!!!
    -Korra and Avatar fan

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Yes!

    Maud seeks to be loved, only to have her heart broken by the one she cares about most ( who, by the way, is an old lady, not a guy). I like how Maud pretends to be sweet and perfect at first, but slowly goes back to being herself. Has lots of good characters.< by good I dont mean that they were all honest and fair and stuff, but that they had something to add to the plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All that the little girl ever wanted was to be loved!

    What a beautiful, heart-wrenching tale! Maud, an orphan, is adopted by three sisters who set her up to believe that they care for her, only to heartlessly prove to Maud how disposable she really was. I shed a few tears with this book, no doubt it will stay with me for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love Love LOVED it!

    This book was enchanting, thrilling, and suspenseful! I loved reading every second of it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Best book ever!

    Im reading it right now and it is getting really good and i love mysteries!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Compelling!

    Beautifully written. Love the concept behind the story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    READ IT!!!

    The title might mot sound good but you can't judge a book by it's cover!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    If you have stumbled upon this book and can't decide to read or

    If you have stumbled upon this book and can't decide to read or not, opt for absolutely! The plot is fresh, the writing classic and the settings and characters sublime. Each is brought to life with a masterful pen, infusing a unique personality into one and all. Twists and turns along the way, lessons to be learned, growing to be done, and endings that will not be revealed by this critic. Lyn Frankel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    it is a melodrama

    Who said that in a melodrama there has to be a man with a curly mustache that is a biased opinion. I totally adore this book. I give it five stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    One of my favorites!

    One great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    "Heart-warming, beautiful book filled with PERFECTION."

    &quot;Heart-warming, beautiful book filled with PERFECTION.&quot;

    This book is wonderfully great. It's full of mystery, sadness, and betrayal, but it becomes all resolved in the end.

    I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    This is a realy good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    drowned maidens hair

    touching story sad and descriptive.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2