Customer Reviews for

A Face in the Crowd

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome as usual

Half way thru the story now and completely absorbed. No one can make a character come to life like Mr. King can in less than one full page. Recommended highly.

posted by 15439054 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

While the story was entertaining, and in classic King style, it would have been nice to know before I purchased it that the actual ebook was just 32 pages with the remaining pages being previews of two books I have already read. I love Stephen King's work, but in this c...
While the story was entertaining, and in classic King style, it would have been nice to know before I purchased it that the actual ebook was just 32 pages with the remaining pages being previews of two books I have already read. I love Stephen King's work, but in this case, I feel cheated. Even at $2, 32 pages is just not enough reading.

posted by 10796618 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Well written, as always with Mr. King.

    This is a short story about an old man watching baseball on the T.V. Sounds boring....hardly. I really enjoyed this little story. I was hooked after the first few paragraphs. If you are a King fan, I believe you will enjoy it. Only Stephen King can make watching baseball on television creepy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Twilight Zone type slice of fiction with a melancholy end

    I'll admit it. As much as I'm a huge fan of Stephen King AND the game baseball, I have never read his first collaboration with Stewart O'Nan, Faithful . . . and likely never will. It looks like an interesting read, but the Blue Jays fan inside me just will not allow me to indulge nearly 500 pages of Red Sox rhetoric. :)

    Fortunately, with A Face in the Crowd they have turned their attention away from the Sox, and away from the realm of fan-based non-fiction. Instead, they've written a short little Twilight Zone type slice of fiction about an elderly widower, banished by retirement (and his dearly departed wife) to the land of the Tampa Bay Rays.

    The concept here is pretty simple. Basically, each night, as he sits down to watch the game on TV, Dean Evers spots somebody from his past sitting in the same premium seat behind home plate. The problem is, each of them is well and truly dead, passed on before his time. The prospect of watching another game begins to fill him with dread, as each face brings back painful memories, but his efforts at mental distraction do nothing more than delay his viewing by a few innings. Where the story really begins to get interesting is when his phone rings . . . and the woman behind the plate motions for him to pick it up.

    It's a fun story, written with the baseball fan in mind, full of names and stats that definitely anchor it in the current season. Dean Evers is your typical King character, a nice guy with flaws, who is haunted by regrets and past indiscretions, but you do feel for him. There are 2 nice twists to the story - the phone call, plus one other - and an ending that's definitely a bit melancholy, but fitting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Nice quick read for the King fan!

    Enjoyed the very short story. Somewhat predictable, but is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Austin

    "I'll be in bed, Beth!" He ran upstairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    Creepy story.

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes Stephen King. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Very good

    This is a very interesting story. Short but interesting. Not the usual gory stuff he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Good Book

    This one will make you think. Think about how death arrives....does it happen quickly, or merely silently take place...... a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    great story

    well written page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Classic King

    You never know where you are going until you get there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great!

    His baseball stories are always interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Classic Stephen King

    I loved this little story. It was just too short!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2