Customer Reviews for

A Fatal Fleece (Seaside Knitters Mystery Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    MAIN CAMP

    V

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The endearing characters keep you coming back for more.

    The town of Sea Harbor is the type of town everyone longs to experience.

    Ideal character development makes the story flow effortlessly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Recommend it!

    I have read all of the books in this series and enjoy them each time!The story lines are interesting and I love the setting and characters!! Keep bringing them Sally! You are one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    ¿A Wonderful Tight-Knit Cozy¿

    I had not read any of this Author's previous work, so I was unfamiliar with the close-knit “Almost Family” residing in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts. It didn’t take me long to get acquainted with Nell and Ben Endicott, their Niece and her Husband, Izzy and Sam Perry, Jane and Ham Brewster, Willow Adams, Cass Halloran and her younger Brother Pete, and Cass’ “wanna-be boyfriend”; Danny Brandley and wealthy widow; Birdie Favazza plus many others and to feel like I was part of the group. A longtime, watchful resident of the community, Francis Finnegan’s land was a developer’s dream. The more people complained about its run-down appearance, the more “Finn” left it unkempt, complete with tall grass, weeds and rusty metal. Almost no-one could understand the crusty old seaman with the exceptions of Lobsterwoman Cass Halloran, her Mother; Mary, and Finn’s good friend, “The Old Man of the Sea”; Angus McPherran. All three knew the land held precious memories of his beloved late wife, Moira and despite reaping a small fortune if it was sold, Finn wouldn’t part with the parcel and instead “Fenced out the world”. This only caused more fury, especially from pushy Councilwoman; Beatrice Scaglia and burly construction company co-owner; Davey Delaney, who both wanted the land so badly, they would do almost anything to get it. Finn protected his property like one would a precious jewel and fought off trespassers and vagrants who hoped to find goods of value within the run-down dwelling he called home. Meanwhile, Birdie receives unexpected company and a surprise. Her Brother-in-Law Nick Marietti and Birdie’s ten-year old talented and precocious Granddaughter; Gabby—the Daughter of Birdie’s late third Husband, Joseph Marietti’s “love child” Christopher, both of whom she never knew existed. Birdie was now “Nonna”! Although they were only going to stay a few days on their way to Maine, Gabby quickly endeared herself to all she met including curmudgeon Finn and was warmly pulled into the knitter’s group who were astonished with her crocheting skills. Finn watched over her like a china doll and taught her many things, like one would a daughter. Gabby was a fast learner and game for anything and they became cherished friends. Nick Marietti is a puzzlement in himself and arrived at Sea Harbor with his own batch of secrets, melded with lies. But why?? When Cass finds Finn’s lifeless and bloody body lying in the mud outside his house, she is figured as a person of interest in the crime and the Seaside Knitters, plus their male counterparts, spring into action, looking for clues to prove their beloved friend’s innocence. Who is in the unmarked grave found on Finn’s property? Did Finn kill someone and his death was one of revenge? To further complicate matters, Finn’s estranged Daughter; Beverly Walden, shows up on the scene counting the days and inheritance money she will be receiving as Finn’s next of kin---or will she?? Did she have a hand in the crime? Will she use her feminine wiles to achieve her goals? Perhaps having to share it with someone as unscrupulous as she? Or was it the work of Davey Delaney, hoping to prove his worth to his Father? Perhaps it was an act of cunning by Beatrice Scaglia, hoping to acquire the property and win over the voters in her bid for re-election. Maybe it was the secretive Nick Marietti? The Author has also included the directions for the knitted purple cardigan that Nell makes for Gabby. Check out Gabby's beanie too! Nancy Narma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I found her books last year and read each one fast. I was patiently awaiting her newest and as soon as it was out I bought it. It was a good as I expected. Her characters are wonderful and so easy to picture. If you enjoy a good mystery, read this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Sometimes a book captures your heart and soul and A Fatal Fleece

    Sometimes a book captures your heart and soul and A Fatal Fleece is one of them. What an amazing journey the Seaside Knitters take with the arrival of a new beginning and the sorrow of a life lost too soon. The ladies work their way through all the clues to return a sense of calmness back to the town where a young visitor’s carefree and gentleness touches everyone that crosses her path. The author does a great job at keeping me guessing throughout most of this light-hearted and character-driven mystery. With an ensemble cast of wonderful and lovable characters and a great setting, this is the best book yet in this brilliantly-crafted and charmingly delightful series and I look forward to my next visits with the Seaside Knitters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There's someone new in Sea Harbor!! Gabby is a granddaughter Bir

    There's someone new in Sea Harbor!! Gabby is a granddaughter Birdie didn't know she had. Joe Marietti found out about his son shortly before he died but knew nothing about Gabby. Her great-uncle Nick has brought her to Sea Harbor for a visit. She is a very intuitive little lady and quickly makes friends with almost the entire town. She even starts a new trend.

    Gabby makes friends with Finnegan, an old fisherman that has become quite a recluse since his wife passed away. Before Gabby he was only close to lobsterwoman Cass Halloran and her mom. Cass tried to brighten up his life and wardrobe by making him a bright yellow fleece vest. He loved it. The property he owns has become quite the scene of disrepair and many people are trying to get him to sell it. He has refused all offers.

    The whole town is in shock when Cass finds the old man dead. She immediately becomes the prime suspect in his murder. Her friends know Cass would never hurt a soul. Now they just have to prove it. It may not be easy because they have a ten year old who wants to help and they all need to keep her safe.

    Dollycas's Thoughts

    The friendships that bind the people of Sea Harbor together are what makes reading this story and the rest of this series pure pleasure. They stick together in good times and bad, have each others back, and get together each and every week for dinner, discussion, and dissection of the current crime that needs to be solved.

    Finnegan was not part of the core group of characters that got together for the weekly feast, (yes they are feasts, these people cook up some scrumptious food,) but I quickly felt for him as he was grieving all that he had lost. Gabby reaching out to him was so perfect. It is amazing how kids can do things adults just can't do.

    Part of the charm of the Seaside Knitters Mysteries is the setting of Sea Harbor, Massachusetts and the way Sally describes it perfectly. The pictures are so clear in your mind that you feel like you are walking down the streets, pulling weeds in the garden, sitting in Izzy's yarn studio knitting or crocheting your latest project, or enjoying a glass of wine with some friends.

    You do not need to be a knitter or even the least bit crafty to enjoy these mysteries. The plots are riveting, the characters are real and the setting is rich. I enjoy each trip to Sea Harbor and know you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    My friends and I are always thrilled to go on a new adventure w

    My friends and I are always thrilled to go on a new adventure with our old friends from Sea Harbor. It is especially fun to get a new book for the summer since we are all teachers.. We often suggest books to each other and the Seaside Knitters has not disappointed anyone yet. Can't wait to see what Izzie, Aunt Nell, and all of the girls have been up to since the wedding. Thanks to Sally Goldenbaum for continuing to share her stories with us. In addition to a great read we love the covers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Very good 'ladies' reading. The knitting tips are great as are the numerous food references and recipes. The author brings the cast of characters to life and makes me want to travel to the small seaport and spend some time with the citizens. I am looking into knitting lessons now because I never learned in my youth. I started reading these books thinking they would be a good 'beach' read, light, simple, no thinking involved - but they are so much better than that. Please pick up one and see for yourself! Travel to a new place, feel the sea air on your skin, smell the foods and enjoy the company.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1