Customer Reviews for

A Fate of Dragons (Book #3 in the Sorcerer's Ring)

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

the Sorcerer's Ring series

The 1st 3 books in this series are so entertaining! I didn't want to put them down! The 4th book is supposed to be out in mid March. I can hardly wait!

posted by 17295008 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Derivative, juvenile, sloppy.

If you've ever read a fantasy novel, you can skip this. There is nothing new here, except a lot of typos. If the writing wasn't sloppy and barely proofread, I'd say it could be an ok introduction to the genre for kids. However, when an author uses "there" instead of "th...
If you've ever read a fantasy novel, you can skip this. There is nothing new here, except a lot of typos. If the writing wasn't sloppy and barely proofread, I'd say it could be an ok introduction to the genre for kids. However, when an author uses "there" instead of "their" it becomes difficult to recommend it to any audience still in an English class, and anyone older will know what's coming hundreds of pages in advance.
One review compared this to Tolkien. Inevitable though this is for any fantasy book ever written, this time he's surely spinning in his grave. Or as Morgan Rice might write it, " he's Shirley spinning in her grave."
Do not buy this book.

posted by 7486016 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Derivative, juvenile, sloppy.

    If you've ever read a fantasy novel, you can skip this. There is nothing new here, except a lot of typos. If the writing wasn't sloppy and barely proofread, I'd say it could be an ok introduction to the genre for kids. However, when an author uses "there" instead of "their" it becomes difficult to recommend it to any audience still in an English class, and anyone older will know what's coming hundreds of pages in advance.
    One review compared this to Tolkien. Inevitable though this is for any fantasy book ever written, this time he's surely spinning in his grave. Or as Morgan Rice might write it, " he's Shirley spinning in her grave."
    Do not buy this book.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Drivel

    It is very obvious that no one editted this story. It rambles on in a stream of conciousness manner. The story is inconsistent as if the author could not remember what he wrote in the last chapter. The author reuses the same, unimaginitive phrases over and over. I had hopes the writing would improve over the course of the series, but it only got worse. Avoid this series like the plague. If the author reads this please get an editor.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    The story line is decent however the character development and l

    The story line is decent however the character development and leaps the writer takes you is thin.  The main character goes from peasant to part of the kings inner family in two sentences.  Ask and you shall receive with zero mode of transport to get there.  I've struggled with all three of them because of the writing but Rice has something, I'm holding out hope that it improves!!  I also have a terrible time starting a series and not finishing it, even if it is sub-par.  

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    the Sorcerer's Ring series

    The 1st 3 books in this series are so entertaining! I didn't want to put them down! The 4th book is supposed to be out in mid March. I can hardly wait!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    The great Saga continues

    I completely enjoyed this read. While the "Hundred" seemed to go by in a flury, the dedication to character development and progression of story line were not lacking. Morgan Rice is a fantastic author who writes with such purpose that the reader can't help but be drawn into the epic journey and is left always wanting more. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys Knights, magic, dragons and the tease of an ending. Every chapter will leave you on a cliff and pushing the pages until you can find the answers only to discover that those answers lead to more questions and the need to pursue more conquests....I'm counting down the days until the next book in this fantastic journey is released!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    I enjoyed Book 3: A Feast of Dragons so much that I read it thro

    I enjoyed Book 3: A Feast of Dragons so much that I read it through without stopping! Book 3 was every bit as good as the first two books in the Sorcerer’s Ring series. Book 3 was an easy read, and a perfect escape from real life. Ms. Rice has written a story that is action-packed and filled with compelling characters. I admit that I am rooting for Thor and the good MacGils! Book 3 unfolds with each chapter advancing the storyline from the point of view of different characters. For example, Thor and the other boys training for the legion embark on The Hundred, Gareth commences his rule as the new King, Erec searches for his bride, Gwen and Godfrey investigate the murder of their father King MacGil, and characters and places from outside the Ring are introduced. This was such a fun read, that now I am anxiously waiting for Book 4 to arrive! Thank you, Morgan, please keep them coming!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is awesome.If u want 2 become my friend just send me a request.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved the book!

    Loved the book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    All I can say is Love It!!!!  Can not wait until next book.  Way

    All I can say is Love It!!!!  Can not wait until next book.  Way to go Morgan Rice!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Awesome

    Great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Very interesting books, I hope Thor gets a pet dragon to.

    Very interesting books, I hope Thor gets a pet dragon to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Really...

    To every win in this book you get, you get a nice kick in the face. I won't recommend this book to anyone intill i read the next. Which I'm sure will be a few more before I might. The first book 4 stars, second book three and a half. This one 1 star. The only triumph was the dragon, I needed a little more than that. To many irons in the fire. I'll read the next , but I think I'll get $2.99ed to death before the end. Disappointed.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Keep em coming Morgan Rice

    Once again, this third book has left me wanting for more. Shorter than some of my other reads, but just as entertaining. Get this series people, you will not regret it. Cannot wait for the 4th book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Good read

    Well done it has a good story and well placed imagery. I picked this up because it was on sale. best sale i found in a while!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I really enjoy this series it is a fun and distracting read. The

    I really enjoy this series it is a fun and distracting read. The characters are east to know and the story is one of the classic hero tales
    Some people like to criticize every little detail as if each book is supposed to be award winner. This one is 
    a book that you can just pick up and read while on the train or at home or anywhere and have a good time with it.
    the world is described well and not in to much detail so that you can use your own imagination.
    Try it out and you will get addicted as I did. Thank you Morgan Rice for a book that I can read and enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Sucked

    It said that this book was like JK rowling and JRR toilken. Those r the best writers ever and shouldnt be compared to this crap. PPL!! DONT WASTE UR MONEY

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Dont buu

    1st book amazing next 2 crap. Absolutely regret buying next 2

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    I made the mistake of buying all three books in this series, and they are so badly written that they are almost laughable. As far as I can tell, no one proofread the books before publishing, the wrong spelling of several words appears (worse than to, too and two!) and the hero's leopard has a tendency to show very doglike behavior. I almost NEVER give up on reading a book, but had to in this case, just couldn't take it any longer.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down! A great addition to the series!

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down! A great addition to the series! It just keeps getting better and better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Horrible

    I usually have a difficult time quitting a series, but after finishing book three (only because all three were in the set I purchased) I cannot convince myself to buy the fourth, even for $3.99.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6