Customer Reviews for

A Fine Romance

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Slow

    Slow moving, but good storyline over 600 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Charming

    What an absolute surprise to get swept into this story and be delighted it was charming and sweet. Definitely recommend it with good characters, good plot and terrific writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    If you are looking for a good romance and great characters this

    If you are looking for a good romance and great characters this one is for you. The first book introduce the characters and they all showed back up in this one. Although I would have liked to smack Sam upside the head a few times. I loved Ivy from the start. I highly recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    A Fine Romance by Christi Barth is her second book in her Aisle

    A Fine Romance by Christi Barth is her second book in her Aisle Bound series. Having read the first book in this series, I was looking forward to read this book. Christi Barth does not disappoint, as A Fine Romance was another fun romance read, with a wedding planning background. Though this book isn’t really about planning weddings, it has all the characters from the first book play secondary roles, including Ivy, our heroine of Planning for Love. If you have not read the first book, you can still read this one, as Barth does an excellent job bringing people up to date. However, I suggest you read Planning for Love first, as these are fun characters you want know and follow.

    Mira is our heroine, and she comes to Chicago to help Ivy open a new store that she has dreamed about. Mira will set up and manage “A Fine Romance” store that deals with all things related to preparing for the perfect date..wine, food, picnic baskets, gifts, etc. Mira arrives in Chicago and immediately starts off badly, being stood up at the airport and by the time she arrives at her new home, she is drenched, and muddied. Why was she stood up?

    We now meet Sam, our hero, who is part of the Aisle Bound friendship group, who shows up at Daphne’s place, where Mira will now live. Sam was supposed to pick up Mira at the airport, and didn’t even try to find someone else to pick her up. Why you ask? He had to take care of his mother. So needless to say Mira did not greet Sam too kindly, and he either didn’t care or thought nothing of it. You knew these two would never hit it off. Especially as the days pass, and Sam continues to muddle things. Sam is a hunk, totally hot, and a baker. I would never think of a baker being a hunk, but Sam was and he will later prove was a wiz he is, especially when handling chocolate. But that is later. Sam besides splitting all things in the bakery with his mom, handles the decorative cakes for the weddings at Aisle Bound. As good a baker he is, he is clueless how to handle women, especially Mira, who was totally turned off of Sam and his inconsiderate ways; though she found him to be very attractive.


    I wasn’t too crazy about Sam, as the things he did nonchalantly required a few slaps, but this was an issue for him when it came to his mom. Mira too had her own issues about getting into a serious relationship, as she was somewhat estranged from her parents. With all the negatives in the beginning, the relationship between Mira and Sam did begin to build, and their chemistry was great. Barth did a great job bringing this along slowly, early on. This turned out to be such a fun romance, with each having their obstacles to get past. But the time we spent with Mira and Sam was fun, sexy and enjoyable. I loved them together. As for the chocolate, I think you need to read this book to see what Sam does with all his different homemade flavors of chocolate. You may never look at chocolate the same way.

    I love this series by Christi Barth. It is fun, with great couples, great secondary characters, and just the right blend of romance and sex, not to mention a wonderful love story. If you want a light, fast, fun, sexy and enjoyable read..look no further then A Fine Romance. But again I suggest you start with Planning for Love to meet the other wonderful characters. I thoroughly enjoy reading Christi’s fun romance stories, and can’t wait for the next book in the Aisle Bound series, Friends to Lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Published By: Carina Press Age Recommended: Adult Reviewed By: A

    Published By: Carina Press
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Aisle Bound #2
    Review:

    "A Fine Romance" by Christi Barth was a good contemporary romance read was the second in this series... Aisle Bound. You may need to read the first book, Planning For Love to get the full understand of the characters. We find that Mira has moved into a new town with a new job. Sam and Mira will have an explosive first meeting due to their first meeting however, it seems like there may be a 'undeniable attraction' to each other. What will come of this because each will have issues to get past and this is where I will stay you must pick up this good romance to see where this author will take the reader. If you are looking for a sweet romance you have come to the right novel...for "A Fine Romance" would be recommended to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the C


    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog
    “I absolutely loved the way the book was written.” ~Under the Covers

    Mira is trying to make it on her own. She does not want to be involved with her parents and their fortune. She is tired of living with their rules. So she jumped at the chance to manage her friend’s new store in Chicago. She never thought that she would find her new home and love. She never thought that her move would find her a new family and someone who she wants to be with forever.

    Sam is owner and baker of his family’s bakery. He takes care of his mother because of a promise to his father before he passed away. But he has not done anything this own life because of his guilt towards his father. That is until he met the new manager next door. He fell for her hard. He just has to decide what he wants more, his guilt or the woman of his dreams.

    Mira and Sam met through friends and they hated each other from the beginning. They wanted nothing to do with each other. But they were thrown together because Mira was new in town and Sam could show her around.

    I absolutely loved the way the book was written. It made me laugh and smile while reading it. It had all the elements of a great book. It had drama and romance and even some comedy.

    I recommend this book to the readers who like drama with their romance. It is defiantly a page turner from the beginning to the end. I cannot wait to read more books written by this author.

    *Review copy provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    LOVE!

    Just as romantic and dramatic as the first book! Can't wait to see what is in store for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's good.

    A Fine Romance is the second book in the Aisle Bound Series from Christi Barth. The book can be read without reading the first book, Planning For Love. However, you might not get the full extent of character relationships without reading the first book.

    Mira Parrish is one of Ivy Rhodes’ best friends. Ivy is the heroine in Planning for Love and the owner of Aisle Bound, a wedding consulting company. Ivy is a hopeless romantic. She came up with the idea of a romance store (a place where you can get picnic baskets, little romantic meals, etc.) Since the wedding business is so hectic, Ivy doesn’t have the time to devote to A Fine Romance like she wants. Ivy convinces Mira to move to Chicago to put the store together for her and also to be it’s manager.

    Mira is from a wealthy family that made it’s money in concrete. She grew up in a life of privilege, where she was only expected to marry well and carry on the family name. She’s an only child who seems to have been pretty much only brought around for show. For Mira, that wasn’t a life she wanted to lead so she turned her back on the money. For the last few years, Mira has been living on her own. Which pretty much means living paycheck to paycheck. Of course she wants more, but she also wants to be able to say that she got her money by working for it. She has a huge chip on her shoulder and is very quick-tempered.

    Sam Lyons is the co-owner of Lyons Bakery. The bakery is well known for it’s pastries and fabulous wedding cakes. Lyons Bakery was first ran by Sam’s mother and father and then primarily Sam, after his father’s death. Since his father passed away, Sam hasn’t lived his own life. His life has been all about working in the bakery, trying to make sure the bills got paid, and taking care of his mother. His wants and needs have been put on the back burner, hoping his sister will decide to join the family business.

    A Fine Romance has tons of laughable moments. It also has a serious romance between a couple who is real and sometimes irritating. Mira and Sam both have family issues they need to deal with but refuse to face. They each have hopes, dreams, and fears that they only feel comfortable sharing with one another. The secondary characters are all people you would want to know and love, well maybe not Mira’s parents.

    If you’re looking for a romance book where the action between the couple heats up to a boiling point immediately, this isn’t the book for you. A Fine Romance builds on the relationship that Sam and Mira are trying to establish, before they get to the good stuff. And oh, the wait is worth it. I mean a special blend of chocolate with extra vanilla and a kick of cinnamon worth it.

    While I didn’t love this book as much as I did the first, looking at it independently it’s good. A Fine Romance is about friendship and knowing that your friends are going to be there for you, no matter what happens. It’s a story of people learning that if they just speak up for themselves and what they want, they just might get it.

    While I’m not sure who the next book is going to feature, I am looking forward to it.

    Source: Author
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Lots of fun

    Lots of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    recommend

    Very Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great story

    Good storyline. I would read another book from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book

    A Fine Romance is the second book in Christi Barth's series and it was just as enjoyable as the first. I love that I was able to connect to the characters and it is enjoyable that this series keeps you connected to past characters (not just glimpses). Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to like this book; I really, really did. I had enjoyed

    I wanted to like this book; I really, really did. I had enjoyed the banter in the first book, and really liked Ivy's--and Ben's, eventually--group of quirky friends. Sam, the news-junkie baker sounded like such a great guy.




    The characters in this one--the aforementioned Sam and Ivy's graduate school friend Mira--just didn't do it for me this time, though. I spent more of the book aggravated with them than enjoying their story. Sam's insistence that he had to silently follow his dead father's wishes--not telling a single soul about them or what he's doing--and at the same time not give his mother or his sister a 'heads-up, I could really use some help here so I can attempt to do something I want to with my life' was just ridiculous. Talk about a contrived conflict; it drove me bonkers. 




    Mira's "poor rich girl" hangups didn't get her any sympathy from me either. I pretty much lost all respect that I had had for her when she disparaged Sam to her brand new cook--in front of Sam, though she didn't know it at first. She essentially said he had an unsophisticated palate and was "just" a baker of cookies and doughnuts. I get her reasons for why she responded in that way (though they were totally silly; come on, a grown woman can't handle watching a hot guy sample food without throwing herself at him? Really?)--she didn't know he was there, and was trying to keep their relationship during the day on a professional level, but when he was understandably hurt by her words she didn't understand what she'd said to make him so upset. Really??? That wasn't the only example of her being completely oblivious to her tendency to be unfeelingly snobbish, but that's the one that did it for me. (And really. I don't care how long it's been since you've had chocolate sauce. NO ONE who has ever had some in their lifetime needs to ask "What is that?" when tasting chocolate sauce again, no one!)




    There's just too much conflict of the "I'm going to completely internalize everything and not tell those nearest and dearest to me a thing, because this is all my problem and not theirs" variety. It made the characters seem more like contrived caricatures and less like real people. Mira's parents were a perfect example of this--they were cookie-cutter examples of snobby rich people who have no time for their kid(s), with nothing at all humanizing about them. I kept pushing through just for the sake of finishing, not because I really felt invested in them by the end. Still, I have hopes for book three--Gib and Daphne, maybe? I hope they--or whomever the protagonists are--can bring back some of the magic from book one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1