Customer Reviews for

A Fistful of Collars (Chet and Bernie Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait for the next adventure

Spencer Quinn, in my opinion, does a great job of thinking like a dog. Chet's adventures are nerve tingling and keeps one reading into the wee hours of the morning. Page turner. Enjoyed it so much!

posted by tealbear on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

¿A ¿Tail¿ of Movie-Making, Money and Murder¿

This is the first of the “Bernie and Chet Mysteries” I have read. It took me awhile to get used to the majority of the story being told by a suave, sleuthing, handsome, quick as a flash, member of the “Nation Within”-- a Scottie sidekick named Chet, who, with Bernie Lit...
This is the first of the “Bernie and Chet Mysteries” I have read. It took me awhile to get used to the majority of the story being told by a suave, sleuthing, handsome, quick as a flash, member of the “Nation Within”-- a Scottie sidekick named Chet, who, with Bernie Little, makes up the unbeatable force behind the Little Detective Agency. Bernie’s life had had its share of bad luck lately. They had to try to locate a “new-to-them” vehicle as their last Porsche had been the victim of dynamite. It seems their luck trying to keep cars in one piece is legendary. They’re down on their money as well, thanks to a stock tip that went awry and Bernie’s big investment in a “Sure Fashion Hit”—Hawaiian Print leisure wear! Add to the stew that ex-wife; Leda, was continually giving him fits while he was trying to have quality time with son Charlie, and his current girlfriend; Suzie, decides, since their romance is at a stand-still with no diamond in sight, that she will take a position on the “Washington Post”. All combined, very upsetting and depressing, when, as they are down to almost their last dime, Bernie and Chet are asked to come to the Mayor’s office. It seems that Mayor Trimble has decided that the Valley needs an economic and public relations boost, so, with a lot of finagling, he had secured a motion picture co, to come and film in the Valley/Canyon area. But not just any old film— one starring Hollywood’s “Bad Boy”; Thad Perry! The Mayor, with a recommendation from under-handed, slime ball; Cal Luxton, hires Bernie and Chet as “Babysitters”. The pay offered is substantial and much needed to get them out of the red--$3000.00 a day plus expenses plus a $5000.00 bonus if Thad stays out of trouble until location shooting is finished—hopefully, in twenty-one days. It doesn’t sound all that bad at first, but could this assignment be too good to be true? It seems that there is a lot more going on than just what the camera catches! Word gets around that Thad had a long ago connection to the Valley—one that Bernie and Chet are only getting bits and pieces about…and when they do get close to what looks like a solid lead, someone is found dead! The dynamic duo learns that Jiggs is not only Thad Perry’s bodyguard/confidante, but also his Cousin. Would he commit murder to cover any secrets of Perry’s past? Bernie suspects that Jiggs has already obtained drugs for Thad from a shifty, backstreet source named Manny. Who mumbles the name of “Ramon” on his deathbed. Why does Suzie’s former co-worker try to help unravel the mystery? Is she connected to Thad’s past? The past he tries to forget with alcohol and drugs? Will Thad finish filming without incident? It does take a little while for the story to get rolling, but watch out when it does-- it’s like a runaway train! So, hang on for the ride and hopefully, chuckle more than a little and enjoy their escapades ( Iggy and the ukulele comes to mind..) Cozy lovers, you better put this one down on your TBR list. Nancy Narma

posted by 52chickadees on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Can't wait for the next adventure

    Spencer Quinn, in my opinion, does a great job of thinking like a dog. Chet's adventures are nerve tingling and keeps one reading into the wee hours of the morning. Page turner. Enjoyed it so much!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Fun mystery

    I received this book in an ARC giveaway from Shelf Awareness. I thought it sounded interesting and I like mysteries. The book was entertaining and the mystery was good, but my favorite part is that the narrator is a dog. If you could hear a dog's thoughts, I think this is exactly what it would sound like. This was my first Chet and Bernie mystery, although this is the fifth in the series. I will be checking out more because I love Chet and now I want a dog. If you like private detective mysteries with humor, check this out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    ¿A ¿Tail¿ of Movie-Making, Money and Murder¿

    This is the first of the “Bernie and Chet Mysteries” I have read. It took me awhile to get used to the majority of the story being told by a suave, sleuthing, handsome, quick as a flash, member of the “Nation Within”-- a Scottie sidekick named Chet, who, with Bernie Little, makes up the unbeatable force behind the Little Detective Agency. Bernie’s life had had its share of bad luck lately. They had to try to locate a “new-to-them” vehicle as their last Porsche had been the victim of dynamite. It seems their luck trying to keep cars in one piece is legendary. They’re down on their money as well, thanks to a stock tip that went awry and Bernie’s big investment in a “Sure Fashion Hit”—Hawaiian Print leisure wear! Add to the stew that ex-wife; Leda, was continually giving him fits while he was trying to have quality time with son Charlie, and his current girlfriend; Suzie, decides, since their romance is at a stand-still with no diamond in sight, that she will take a position on the “Washington Post”. All combined, very upsetting and depressing, when, as they are down to almost their last dime, Bernie and Chet are asked to come to the Mayor’s office. It seems that Mayor Trimble has decided that the Valley needs an economic and public relations boost, so, with a lot of finagling, he had secured a motion picture co, to come and film in the Valley/Canyon area. But not just any old film— one starring Hollywood’s “Bad Boy”; Thad Perry! The Mayor, with a recommendation from under-handed, slime ball; Cal Luxton, hires Bernie and Chet as “Babysitters”. The pay offered is substantial and much needed to get them out of the red--$3000.00 a day plus expenses plus a $5000.00 bonus if Thad stays out of trouble until location shooting is finished—hopefully, in twenty-one days. It doesn’t sound all that bad at first, but could this assignment be too good to be true? It seems that there is a lot more going on than just what the camera catches! Word gets around that Thad had a long ago connection to the Valley—one that Bernie and Chet are only getting bits and pieces about…and when they do get close to what looks like a solid lead, someone is found dead! The dynamic duo learns that Jiggs is not only Thad Perry’s bodyguard/confidante, but also his Cousin. Would he commit murder to cover any secrets of Perry’s past? Bernie suspects that Jiggs has already obtained drugs for Thad from a shifty, backstreet source named Manny. Who mumbles the name of “Ramon” on his deathbed. Why does Suzie’s former co-worker try to help unravel the mystery? Is she connected to Thad’s past? The past he tries to forget with alcohol and drugs? Will Thad finish filming without incident? It does take a little while for the story to get rolling, but watch out when it does-- it’s like a runaway train! So, hang on for the ride and hopefully, chuckle more than a little and enjoy their escapades ( Iggy and the ukulele comes to mind..) Cozy lovers, you better put this one down on your TBR list. Nancy Narma

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Loved it! One of the most entertaining detective series ever!

    Fans just need to know....Chet the Jet is back! Readers new to this series are in for a treat. A film crew rolls into town to make a blockbuster action movie. Bernie and Chet are hired to protect it's troubled star,but protect him from whom? When a reporter friend of Bernie's girlfriend is murdered researching an all but forgotten link to the past ,things get personal! Can Bernie and Chet bring down the perp before anyone else is killed? Everybody seems to have secrets to hide and only the Little Detective Agency can dig out the truth. Narrated with a humorous and unique viewpoint by Bernie's dog/partner Chet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Books featuring animals, particularly dogs and cats, are very p


    Books featuring animals, particularly dogs and cats, are very popular with many readers. Especially in the mystery field, they appear as major characters, talking among themselves and sometimes to their favorite humans and frequently they sleuth with vim and vigor. Do readers find this entertaining? A lot of us do but there are also many who wouldn’t read one of these books under any circumstances. Usually, it’s because they don’t like the aspect of the animals acting like humans.

    And then there’s Chet.

    Chet and Bernie make an unusual pair of detectives and, yes, Chet does contribute to their investigations but not through supernatural or Beatrix Potterish means. Chet is a K-9 school flunkee so he “knows” a bit about detective work but he is, in fact, a dog and his sleuthing generally involves him pursuing normal dog routines, such as following scents. What makes Chet different in the mystery novel arena is (1) his close bond with Bernie and (2) his narration of the story.

    Seeing and hearing the story through Chet’s eyes and voice is fun, especially when he ruminates on the strange ways of Bernie and other humans and offers his observations on life during the investigations, not to Bernie but to the reader. The enticing things that distract him at any given moment, squirrels and burgers and so forth, add to the charm and his devotion to Bernie (and Bernie’s devotion to Chet) is completely natural.

    Is this a gripping, intellectual thriller? No, not at all, but the puzzle and the resultant inquiries are engaging. Add in the pleasures of Chet’s and Bernie’s partnership and the reader will enjoy a few hours of pure entertainment with more than the occasional smile. I’ve had fun with every Chet and Bernie Mystery so far and A Fistful of Collars is another good one.

    Oh, and you don’t want to miss Brando the cat.

    (Psst. Check out Quinn‘s new short story, A Cat Was Involved, to finally learn how Chet failed K-9 school.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Chet the jet scores again!

    Spencer Quinn has once again made me smile! I thoroughly enjoy this series and recommend it to any dog lover. The plots certainly hold my interest and are well written. The fact that they are told from the dogs point of view is quite entertaining. Fun read...engaging dog...great characters...good plots...'nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Recommend

    Very enjoyable read. I love this series and this one didn't let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Another great "tail" from Chet the Jet and Bernie. H

    Another great "tail" from Chet the Jet and Bernie. Have read all the books in this series and can't wait until the next one is available. Love the way Spencer Quinn makes Chet almost human in his thinking. Being a dog owner it makes me wonder what my little guy is thinking and why he acts like he does at times. Keep them coming Spencer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    New to this series.

    This is the second book I've read of this series (not in order) that I've read and thoroughly enjoy the two books. First time I've read a story from a dog's perspective, and greatly enjoy how intelligently the dog's view is intertwined with the human viewpoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Another fun story with Chet at the wheel

    I LOVE "Chet and Bernie" mysteries. The relationship between dog and man is so loving and comical. I'd love to see this made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    More Chet; All Good

    I get such a kick out of Quinn's idea of the Nation within a Nation dogs-eye view of the world. This book seems to have even more of it (I'll have to reread #1 and see). Ya gotta love Chet! I do wish Bernie would provide for him a bit better but Chet has no complaints. And I am happier when Chet doesn't get into so much trouble, or get hurt. I've pre-ordered #6. I'm addicted! (And don't miss the 99 cent short stories either; lots of info in them.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Spencer Quinn is the voice of the nation within nation!

    I tell all my dog lovers friends: start with "Dog on it", and you will not be able to stop! I read them all, and just pre-ordered the 6th book. The best dog stories ever told! My sincere gratitude to Mr. Spencer Quinn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Love the Chet & Bernie Series!

    Book number 5 continues in the fine tradition of the series. The author does a masterful Job of using Chet the dog as the narrator. The books will suck you in making them a quick read. I've gotten my sister into the series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the fifth book in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series, our fav

    In the fifth book in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series, our favorite four-legged private investigator, Chet the Dog, and Bernie Little, his partner in the Little Detective Agency, are back on the job - - albeit not the usual missing persons case, or even the less-desired divorce work. He has been hired, on very generous financial terms, at the recommendation of the mayor’s office to make sure the young star in a new movie being filmed in their town stays out of trouble during the film shoot. The Valley, a town in the southwest desert, is hopeful of becoming a mecca for movie-making if all goes smoothly. [A big “if,” in this instance, and definitely easier said than done.]

    Things are currently not going that smoothly in Bernie’s personal life, with his ex-wife continuing to be an annoyance [on good days] and his girlfriend, reporter Suzie Sanchez, having been offered a job with the Washington Post.

    This delightful series brings the reader a mystery, a dead body or two [or three], and somehow makes Chet [who narrates the tale] a completely believable sidekick. He is the devoted companion to Bernie, an ex-cop and wounded war vet, but brings his own special talents to the job, and is completely irresistible. Well-plotted, this charming novel is the perfect thing when one wants to hunker down on a cold winter’s night – or any other night, for that matter.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Just love the Chet & Bernie books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Very entertaining!

    Delightful characters and story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    GRRRREAT RRRRREAD WOOF WOOF !!!!!

    Get a whole box of Slimjims ,cuddle up with your best friend and nibble through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Wonderful fun

    This is a wonderfully entertaining and uplifting book that is part of a great series. I look forward to each and every new book from Spencer Quinn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great book!

    Like all the other Chet and Bernie Mysteries, this one is delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Chet the Jet

    As fun to read as the previous books. Chet does his usual save Bernie in the climax. Chet is an amazing dog. However, we learn nothing of his prodigy, except what Bernie kept denying. Sometimes, I feel as though Chet's thought narrative gets redundant. But that's just my take.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3